Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2021, 05:44 PM   #1
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default Drum VST's - are there any good ones with presets?

As in preset drumkits and beats (although beats are not that important).

Coming from Addictive Drums, which does not work and the developers will not release .exe install files. It is compulsory to use the online installer, which does not work, properly, under WINE.

So something of that quality would be the go...And it does not have to be free, happy to pay for one if necessary.
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 06:05 PM   #2
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Just to move this along a bit I have just installed Hydrogen so I'll have a play with that...but please, any further suggestions welcome
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 07:00 PM   #3
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,648
Default

James, are the kits you setup not usable on Linux?
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 07:04 PM   #4
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,625
Default

Yes, they are. The kits are for DrumGizmo, which is available as Linux VST and Linux LV2. There are no "presets" though. The kits are ready to use, and sound good as-is, but they are best with more EQ etc. added.

Here's a link to the "big" kit I made:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=233402

And then the other 2 which are simpler (no overhead/room channels, made from different drum samples):

http://tchackpoum.fr/

(Scroll down a bit.)

Last edited by JamesPeters; 05-10-2021 at 08:21 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 09:26 PM   #5
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Thanks James, Drumgizmo? I think I ahve read or heard about that somewhere...
I'll have a look, cheers

Dennis

PS:re urigtone, aren't they more Metal sample sets?
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 09:59 PM   #6
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,625
Default

Ugritone can be used for pop, rock, etc. too. In EZDrummer, I'd even sometimes use the Nashville kit for metal. It's more a matter of whether the software will allow enough adjustments or not. This software does allow for that.

You would have to adjust most of the presets (since the mix is more suited to metal), and I expect you might not like some of the expansions available for KVLT II (and you might not care for Northern Artillery). But these plugins have multiple mic channels, various kit pieces to substitute, EQ, pitch, and one-shot slots, so it's not like a "pre-baked" sound per kit; what starts out even as a "death metal" kit preset can be transformed into something great for rock.

If you expect to play jazz with them though (or blues), then I'd agree that you probably shouldn't use them.

If you're just concerned about rock (or even blues) sounds, Riot should be good. It's just the one kit though.

You might also like the DrumGizmo kits I made.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pax-eterna View Post
Thanks James, Drumgizmo? I think I ahve read or heard about that somewhere...
It's in the repo of your distro (at least the LV2 version).

Also there are these:

https://x42-plugins.com/x42/x42-avldrums

They're probably in your distro's repo.

Last edited by JamesPeters; 05-09-2021 at 11:08 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 01:00 AM   #7
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 1,075
Default

Then there is the Room Blasting thing and MT PowerDrumKit

https://www.roomsound.com/products/blastingroom/

https://www.powerdrumkit.com/download76187.php
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 01:41 AM   #8
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 21,804
Default

A +1 for the stuff from Tchackpoum. I used his kits fort a long time till I got drawn into Toontrack`s beta testing... now I am just sad that I cant persuade them to consider putting out a Linux version...
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 03:49 AM   #9
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pax-eterna View Post
Just to move this along a bit I have just installed Hydrogen so I'll have a play with that...but please, any further suggestions welcome
If you load a kit in hydrogen, you can replace the samples one by one,
and then export the kit with a different name. Lots of synths have
segregated percussion preset sections to mine from, for example, you find 10 cool percussive sounds in a preset collection, record them in a track with a uniform gap beteen the sounds, load the track three times in audacity, and starting at the end of the first track, export each sound as .wav with a simple name, and delete it off the end of the track, repeating the steps for each remaining sound.

Do the same for the other 2 tracks, but first amplify each track louder or quieter,
and export using the same names appended with a 2 or 3, so drum sounds pulled from TAL Noisemaker synth could be
tal-tom
tal-tom2
tal-tom3
based on loudness etc

This way, a hydrogen pattern could have built-in velocity from instruments
in the kit placed in the pattern grid(s) with some randomness, or desired expression. When using qjackctl, make an audio track in Reaper, and connect the Hydrogen (or avlkits etc) output there, add something like Replika for effects, and let the good times roll, or badda-bing or...
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 10:15 AM   #10
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Thanks folks, much appreciated...

One thing is that I cannot seem to load Hydrogen into Reaper? Well at least I have not found where ladspa files are stored by Hydrogen and I am guessing I need to point Reaper to the location.

I read they are suppose to be in opt somewhere? but I couldn't find them?

In any case it may be moot if one of those other options mentioned above pans out
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 11:22 AM   #11
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,625
Default

I didn't think Hydrogen was a plugin.

Try DrMr:

https://kx.studio/Repositories:Plugins#drmr

It's supposed to load Hydrogen kits and it's a plugin.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 11:28 AM   #12
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Up North somewhere
Posts: 522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pax-eterna View Post
Thanks folks, much appreciated...

One thing is that I cannot seem to load Hydrogen into Reaper? Well at least I have not found where ladspa files are stored by Hydrogen and I am guessing I need to point Reaper to the location.

I read they are suppose to be in opt somewhere? but I couldn't find them?

In any case it may be moot if one of those other options mentioned above pans out
Can this be helpfull?
https://lsp-plug.in/?page=manuals&se...t_hydrogen_kit
__________________
OS: Manjaro, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and a bunch of native linux-vst plugins, LSP-Plugins, TpL-Plugins and LV2. Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 11:30 AM   #13
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Thanks James - yeah it is supposed to be a ladspa as well, but there us no ladspa folder in usr/lib - at least that's where research suggests it should be. And I read that Reaper can load ladspa files. I installed via Synaptic, so I am guessing it did the "right" thing??

I check out DrMr

Who said linux wasn't fun
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 11:33 AM   #14
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe View Post
Well, not really (and I did see that btw) doesn't help with the ladspa issue...I might have to re-check research on whether Hydrogen DOES provide a ladspa version.

I may have misread/understood - would NOT be the first time
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 11:39 AM   #15
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,625
Default

ladspa is the predecessor to LV2. Reaper supports LV2.

I imagine the LSP Plugins sampler is better than DrMr, based on how it looks. I haven't used either.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 11:40 AM   #16
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

hmmmm, I think I may have misread this...it can use ladspa plugins but the program itself is not.

Well i think I will now uninstall it.

Might try that drmr app ( as it loads H kits!)

quick edit - couldn't figure out how to get Hydro drums into this this thing quickly, so another job for a "thousand sweating clerks" best left for another time. I'll just stick with AVL drums for the mo, it loads up easy and has a couple of preset kits.

haha from one go-to drum app (which did everything I needed) in windows to needing to use several different things in linux to achieve the same....ah well

Last edited by pax-eterna; 05-10-2021 at 11:53 AM.
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 02:19 PM   #17
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,625
Default

You can also try that drumkits I made for DrumGizmo. I included Reaper track templates, so despite the fact it loads multiple tracks (for the various output channels), it's "ready to go" as soon as you load it.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 05:05 PM   #18
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 580
Default

Again, just route hydrogen output to a reaper audio track.
I promise, the plugin-police can't jail you for doing that!
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 05:15 PM   #19
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
You can also try that drumkits I made for DrumGizmo. I included Reaper track templates, so despite the fact it loads multiple tracks (for the various output channels), it's "ready to go" as soon as you load it.
Thanks James - when I revist this I will. I am just converting Sonar projects over so just running the AVL ones just to make sure tracks are coming over ok at this stage..a couple of notes are mismatched (ie midi note numbers) but for the most part it's working ok.

When I start to get into the projects as Reaper ones I'll dig a bit deeper then

Cheers m8

D
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 05:16 PM   #20
pax-eterna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
Again, just route hydrogen output to a reaper audio track.
I promise, the plugin-police can't jail you for doing that!
Cheers
Yes that is a solution, just a bit messier - for ME only, not saying it's messy for anyone else
pax-eterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 08:38 PM   #21
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 580
Default

For me, it's cleaner to have hydro's gui and mixer on it's own desktop screen, big and full-featured as it is, and reaper on another, where plugin guis must already vye for screen real-estate. But sometimes you just want some great drums quick, like the avl's, and that's also on the ever growing menu.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.