Old 09-22-2019, 03:25 PM   #1
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 797
Default Bug: mouse modifier marquee bug (FIXED)

Hi gents,

This has been confirmed by multiple other friends on both Mac and PC.

When you open multiple items in the MIDI Editor and try to left-click/drag marquee notes outside of the focused item, the mouse will not allow it. No matter how you have the prefs set. Secondary items editable etc., all options tried. Please... before you say I don't have the mouse modifiers set correctly, this was verified by other as well... not just me.

This short video demonstrates it best. 100% reproducible:

Video Of Bug Here

Here are my MIDI Editor Prefs (no difference when I set "Selection is linked to editable" or not. :





Here is the mouse modifier for the Piano Roll (note that the MIDI Editor Mouse modifiers doesn't have left-click/drag ans an option):




I cannot see how this could be viewed "as designed".
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 03:30 PM   #2
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,036
Default

Yep, I was one of the guys who checked and can confirm this behavior. A fix would be great.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 11:08 AM   #3
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 797
Default

Bumperoonie
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v5.983+dev0922 - September 22 2019 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 03:47 PM   #4
BryanChi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 27
Default

I'm sorry to ask something irrelevant to this topic, but how did you get the midi cc's to display in points instead of bars?
BryanChi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 02:27 AM   #5
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanChi View Post
I'm sorry to ask something irrelevant to this topic, but how did you get the midi cc's to display in points instead of bars?
Assuming you're looking for the different midi note display modes (rectangles, triangles, diamonds):
  • MIDI editor menu: View > Piano roll notes
  • Action List > [MIDI Editor] section: Search for the "View: Show events as ..." Actions
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 12:06 PM   #6
BryanChi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks! But I'm not talking about Midi notes but midi CC's, you see in his demonstration video his midi CC's are displayed in points instead of bars
BryanChi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 12:09 PM   #7
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanChi View Post
Thanks! But I'm not talking about Midi notes but midi CC's, you see in his demonstration video his midi CC's are displayed in points instead of bars
Probably because he's using a pre-release version of REAPER, their adding/changing things in the ME.

Just some of MIDI editor lines from the pre-release change log, subject to change of course,..

+ MIDI editor: 14-bit registered parameter/non-registered parameter CC editing
+ MIDI editor: add action and menu item to remove all notation from selected notes
+ MIDI editor: add basic CC LFO dialog
+ MIDI editor: add CC lane mouse modifier to insert a single CC event
+ MIDI editor: add note-type buttons to default toolbar
+ MIDI editor: add option to display note length in velocity lane
+ MIDI editor: add option to move bank/program change events with notes
+ MIDI editor: add separate mouse modifiers to delete CC events or reset CC values
+ MIDI editor: always select the associated note when clicking on velocity stem, regardless of user preference to select CC event on single click
+ MIDI editor: combine note properties and event properties into one modeless dialog
+ MIDI editor: display CC events as square envelopes rather than bars
+ MIDI editor: draw CC/velocity as dots and lines rather than bars

+ MIDI editor: fix incorrect CC event drawing when coloring notes by velocity
+ MIDI editor: guarantee that notation events occur immediately after the note they are attached to
+ MIDI editor: improve hidpi/retina drawing
+ MIDI editor: in note velocity lane, mouse edits that would erase CCs will reset velocity to default
+ MIDI editor: make default CC event and CC lane mouse modifiers more like default envelope behaviors for new users
+ MIDI editor: repopulate raw MIDI display window when switching active media item
+ MIDI editor: respect CC drawing density preference
+ MIDI editor: set new default note velocity when editing in velocity lane
+ MIDI editor: support customized left-drag marquee when outside the active media item [t=225296]
+ MIDI: support editing file-based MIDI when multiple instances exist in the same project [t=227028]
+ MIDI: support linear and curve CC envelopes

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases

NOTE: If you find a bug in a pre-release version then report it in the Pre-Release forum!

Last edited by Edgemeal; 11-17-2019 at 12:29 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 11:32 AM   #8
BryanChi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks Edgemeal! Guess I'll try using the pre-release version sometime
BryanChi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:24 PM   #9
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanChi View Post
Thanks Edgemeal! Guess I'll try using the pre-release version sometime
If you do, I'd suggest selecting "Portable Install" in the installer and install it to its own folder for testing only.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.