Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2021, 10:24 AM   #1
Hoof Hearted
Human being with feelings
 
Hoof Hearted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 388
Default Need New Help Setting Up Old Friend- Focusrite Saffire 6

Hey all. It's been a while since I've broken out any recoding equipment but have that bug once again.

My Last windows 7 laptop died a few years ago and now have a windows 10. I was able to get the Saffire 6 up and running with my old W7, even though it told me back then it was no longer supported, I was able to find a driver that worked.

Now after having forgotten everything I used to know, I am having trouble getting started. Here are my current issues/circumstances.

1. I just downloaded Reaper 3.78 onto my laptop and have yet to find where to download user guide for that version. I know don't laugh, but it was my comfort zone back then and hoping it will be again soon.

Any help getting me that download would be terrific.

2. I plugged in my Saffire 6 usb and my pc says:

One moment while we are setting up your device...then...
Your device is now set up and ready to go.

Me: Great, but I'm wondering if it's that easy...


3. When I open Reaper, a box pops up saying:

You have not yet selected and audio device.
Would you like to select your audio device driver now (recommended)? [yes] [no]

When I select yes, I'm hoping to see something which would ensure interaction between the Saffire 6 and Reaper but see nothing of the like and am unsure what exactly I'm supposed to be selecting.

4. I tried putting in the CD which originally came with the Saffire 6, hoping to download the proper driver that way, but not sure my laptop even is able to read the CD (iow, my try may just be a dvd player for all I know,,.not sure atm)


5. Reaper seems to be interacting with the Saffire 6.
When I insert New Track and select Arm, I can see the meter is piccking up signals from my microphone.
When I record, it seems to properly record all the correct peaks and valleys, however when I play back I am not hearing anything coming through to my speakers or headphones.

I think I'm close to doing some basic recording, but still not sure what exactly is happening or how to hear playback.


Thanks for listening and also if you're able to nudge me in the right direction!
__________________
Mongo broke compooters again D;
Vista, and Windows 7
Hoof Hearted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 11:17 AM   #2
Hoof Hearted
Human being with feelings
 
Hoof Hearted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 388
Default Saffire 6 is killing sound all across board on my pc

So just figuring out that when the Saffire 6 is plugged in via USB it kills all of the sound on my laptop- including videos and commercials from other sites, etc.

Any thoughts on what is happening here? If I could just not get it to kill my pc's sound then I'm thinking it will work...
__________________
Mongo broke compooters again D;
Vista, and Windows 7
Hoof Hearted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 12:18 PM   #3
Hoof Hearted
Human being with feelings
 
Hoof Hearted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 388
Default Fixed

Ok so I figured out why the Saffire 6 usb 2.0 was knocking out/over-riding the sound on my laptop (I'm a genius! )

It turns out I needed to download a driver after all, and I found one available here after some searching

https://customer.focusrite.com/en/su...nload_type=all

[Pick Your Brand] > Focusrite
[Pick Your Product By Range] > Saffire 6 USB 2.0

Make sure to down load Windows: USB Driver 4.65.5 then install.

After some more thought I may have already had it because the real problem I believe was in my PC's "Open Sound Settings". Either way here's what happens.

(access Open Sound Settings by right clicking on speaker in taskbar or click gear icon)

When the Saffire 6 gets plugged in via usb two things happen in the laptop's Open Sound Settings:

1.the speaker/output gets automatically switched to the Saffire 6 rather than the Laptop speakers. I presume this is great if one is monitoring through the Saffire which I am not- hence no sound comes from the laptop.

2. the microphone also switches from the pc's internal mic to whatever mic is connected to the Saffire.

To switch these in Open Sound Settings > Output> Choose your output device >
choose Realtek(r) Audio for laptop speaker
Or Fucusrite USB Audio for the Saffire

Also likewise in Open Sound Settings > Input > Choose your input device >
choose Realtek(r) Audio for laptop's poopy mic
Or Fucusrite USB Audio for the mic(s) connected to the Saffire





If anyone still had a way to download the User Guide for 3.78 that'd still be a big help- Thanks again!
__________________
Mongo broke compooters again D;
Vista, and Windows 7
Hoof Hearted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 02:14 AM   #4
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 21,587
Default

Hi, mate! Wondered where you had got to.... welcome back.
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.