Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER OS X Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2018, 05:45 PM   #1
jeffandtaxes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default Switching from Air to MacBook Pro, don't want to lose plug ins

No clue to to avoid losing my plug ins. I know what I'm doing in music, but not on computers. I know I can b/u before I switch to the new MacBook Pro, but then what?

Thanks!
-J
jeffandtaxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 06:56 PM   #2
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,298
Default

Any 3rd party plugins are installed like apps.

The easiest way to approach copying your installs and data is probably just to use the OSX migration tool. Start with a clean install on the Macbook Pro. When you get to the "would you like to transfer your stuff from an old Mac" option on the 2nd or 3rd screen in, select that. Plug the Air in in target disk mode (Power on and immediately hold down the 'T' key until it starts up. Then treat it like an external hard drive.) It should hold your hand through it.

You may need to authorize one or two paid plugins again depending on the copy protection.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 05:28 AM   #3
jeffandtaxes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Any 3rd party plugins are installed like apps.

The easiest way to approach copying your installs and data is probably just to use the OSX migration tool. Start with a clean install on the Macbook Pro. When you get to the "would you like to transfer your stuff from an old Mac" option on the 2nd or 3rd screen in, select that. Plug the Air in in target disk mode (Power on and immediately hold down the 'T' key until it starts up. Then treat it like an external hard drive.) It should hold your hand through it.

You may need to authorize one or two paid plugins again depending on the copy protection.
Thanks, that's a good answer.
jeffandtaxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 02:11 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Plug the Air in in target disk mode (Power on and immediately hold down the 'T' key until it starts up. Then treat it like an external hard drive.)
serr: do you know if target disk mode only works with a firewire connection between 2 macs or is it nowadays also possible with an usb connection ?
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 06:04 AM   #5
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
serr: do you know if target disk mode only works with a firewire connection between 2 macs or is it nowadays also possible with an usb connection ?
It works with both firewire and thunderbolt. USB is not supported for this.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 06:06 AM   #6
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,559
Default

Aha, thank you for the useful info !
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 06:39 AM   #7
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,298
Default

PS. I haven't tried this but I'm told that a thunderbolt->firewire adapter will let you connect a thunderbolt Mac to a firewire only (pre thunderbolt) Mac in target disk mode.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 07:58 AM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,559
Default

Nice One !
Thank you serr, your Apple knowledge is immense.
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 08:13 AM   #9
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Nice One !
Thank you serr, your Apple knowledge is immense.
Ya know how people say "knows enough to be dangerous"? It's more like that.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 08:46 PM   #10
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,003
Default

You can do the same with "Migration assistant", if you'd like to do it post-install.
__________________
“Political correctness is fascism pretending to be manners.” George Carlin
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.