Old 09-27-2017, 05:56 PM   #1
Armycopter
Human being with feelings

Default New Guy and New to Recording

Hello, I am completely new at home recording with a DAW. I am using Reaper which I like so far. I’ve plugged my guitar into a Focusrite interface and everything works well.

I’ve found a few free VST plugins and messed around with them a bit but I would like to reduce the amount of time I mess with the technology and increase the amount of time I am playing and recording. So... I was hoping some smart people could point me in the right direction. I would like to have a couple of “go to” guitar tone setups. I’m looking for 1. A nice rock tone for my Les Paul. Some bands I like are 70’s/early 80’s Judas Priest, Great White, Foreigner, Dokken, GNR, Most any 70’s/80’s Rock. etc. and 2. A nice clean ambient tone for my Strat. Bands like The Fixx, The Outfield, The Police, Alan Parsons, etc.

I don’t mind doing the tweaking, just looking for some suggestions to get started. I think amp and cabinet are what I am looking for. Reaper seems to have all the other things (compression, reverb, delay, chorus, etc).

I would prefer free plugins but open to paid. Thank you.
Armycopter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 06:26 PM   #2
Swamp Ape

Well, Reaper has a few to try before DLing anything else:

1.The effect JS: Amp Simulator has a decent variety of styles, including a few Marshalls for that 70's tone.

2. You can use Reaverb to load cab impulses. Look here if you don't know what that means. There are tons of great free and paid impulses on the internet.

I like to use the TSE 808 v.2, a tube screamer emulator, in front of my amp to boost and color the signal, but this is a matter of taste probably.

I also recommend you check out the LePou line of amps and cabinets, a free set of extremely versatile plugins.

Another great Marshall-style alternative is the Roxolder JCM800 combined with the Mercuriall Cab.