Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 06-26-2014, 12:49 PM   #1
StuartJ
Human being with feelings

Default Best initial set up and 88.2KHz

Hi There!

I'm new to Reaper and want to know the best way to configure it for a Mac. I'm having to import a bunch of tracks recorded in another DAW. They were recorded at 88.2KHz. Will Reaper handle 88.2KHz?

Is there anything else I should know about the initial set up to help make things run smoothly?

Thanks for all your help.

StuartJ
StuartJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 04:45 PM   #2
serr

88.2k runs every bit as well as 96k in Reaper. I've just started doing everything in 96k as that has become the standard release format but I've mixed a number of large-ish 200+ track sessions in 88.2k and even for 5.1 surround.

Reaper comes out of the box ready to go for live sound mixing (or so it appeared to me). Which of course is impressive! Editing features are just under the surface. Check out the Action menu.

As for settings...
Set your disc buffer low to achieve 11ms or less latency for running live sound or live performance. Or to overdub if for some reason your interface doesn't have a cuemix/monitor feature.
Set it to 1024 and forget it for post work (where there are no latency considerations).

That's all SOP for any DAW.

Here's one:
In Preferences/Audio/Buffering set audio reading/processing threads to 1. It is 'auto' by default and may set itself to the number of cpu cores you have otherwise. This is 1 by default for recording/live sound mode but defaults to auto for playback until you change it. Which can lead to clicks and pops if you start working the system even at low cpu use.

That's about it.
Reaper is so stable in OSX that you can run live sound with it while recording all the inputs to multitrack. Studio post work seems trivial to Reaper no matter what you dial up.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:39 AM   #3
StuartJ