Old 02-05-2017, 03:05 AM   #1
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default Multichannel JS modification

Hi,

I'd like to modify some JS plugins to be multiple channels. I know, this sounds crazy, but I'd like to have a 64 channel version of JS Apple 12-Pole Filter.

I'd probably be willing to pay for it if the price were right and notes are provided in the JS so I can see how to do it elsewhere.

Any takers?
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:40 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,687
Default

No real problem. You can just copy the code and replace the occurrences of splxx accordingly.

Of course there should be optimizations, but those will be different for any JSFX.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 12:14 PM   #3
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 876
Default

That's a pretty crazy request. Would the same settings apply to all channels, or would you want to pick different settings for each channel? Keeping in mind that there are only 128 channels, you would need to either restrict the number of options per channel or break them up into separate instances, e.g 8 or 16 channels per plugin.
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 12:16 PM   #4
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 876
Default

[EDIT] For a true Butterworth response you can keep the same Fc at each biquad, but different Q values will be needed. For other types of filters different coefficient values are needed at each biquad. Depends what you want. If you want resonance and don't care about the maximally flat response, then nvm I guess.

...Then again, this isn't RBJ. Nevermind.

[EDIT 6] OMG THIS IS THE MOST BORING

Last edited by SaulT; 02-05-2017 at 02:59 PM.
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 01:39 AM   #5
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
No real problem. You can just copy the code and replace the occurrences of splxx accordingly.

Of course there should be optimizations, but those will be different for any JSFX.

-Michael
I'm not even sure what that means..... sorry.... still learning this. My JS editing is very rudimentary. I've really only been able to redefine ranges and really simple stuff like that.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 07:10 AM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,687
Default

In fact, "just" was a wild exaggeration. To do multiple channels from a single (or dual) channel code, you will need to rename variables that are used to hold certain information between calls to block or sample, set arrays to a new base and things like this.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 03:34 PM   #7
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 876
Default

I got all the way through it, was super proud of myself, then realized that I had coded it all as RBJ biquads....
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 07:11 AM   #8
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default

I should probably just start with a simple filter and work my way up..... still confused but that's part of learning it, right?
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 08:46 AM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,687
Default

Please come back with any specific questions...

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 10:57 PM   #10
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 876
Default

So it probably doesn't help the learning process for me to say that I finished it, right? Do you want the code? I have both an RBJ version and the "Apple" filter version.
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 05:02 AM   #11
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default YES!

Hi SaulT,

Yes, I'd love to have the code! That would be fantastic!
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 03:28 PM   #12
junh1024
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 240
Default

It seems like you want a multichannel EQ.

Try http://www.matthiaskronlachner.com/?p=1910

It works for 64ch.
junh1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 04:13 AM   #13
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default That's exactly what I needed

Well, that was easy. Thank you for that!

The multichannelIR could be a ton for fun...... I'll have to look into the readme files to see how I can make them 64 channel.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 12:47 AM   #14
junh1024
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 240
Default

It's a painful job getting real 64ch IRs & loading them into convo.

If you're working in 5oA, use 3oA/2oA instead (or even conventional surround). Apply reverb to the lower order chans.

http://www.virsyn.de/en/E_Products/E...e_reflect.html 12ch reverb (load IRs too)

https://acondigital.com/products/verberate-surround/ 8ch reverb
junh1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2017, 12:07 AM   #15
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 876
Default

I haven't tested with a full 64 channel setup, but it seems to work fine with the first two. I tested my RBJ implementation and was not very pleased with it, the resonances were out of hand and had too much filter loss. Anyways, here you go.

There is probably a way to set the EQ controls for each channel but it would mean a lot more complexity and a lot more processing power. Would probably take a GUI to do it correctly.


https://stash.reaper.fm/v/29859/sault...lter-apple.txt
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:36 PM   #16
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default thank you! SaulT

Thank you! I'm going to try it now.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:38 PM   #17
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default 64 verb

junh1024, I tried the 64 filter and verb. I made a 64 IR file, seems to work like a charm. The filter however overloads sometimes during automation. Like resonate feeding back at the sub frequencies.

I'll write them about it but it nice to have a 64 channel eq option.

Last edited by blumpy; 02-20-2017 at 07:53 AM. Reason: poor english
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 01:39 AM   #18
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 876
Default

I did not specifically code it for automation. When I have the chance I'll see what happens when it's automated, but adding code that smoothly modulates parameters shouldn't be too difficult.
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.