Old 07-13-2020, 03:49 PM   #1
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,758
Default v6.12+dev0713 - July 13 2020

v6.12+dev0713 - July 13 2020
  • + EEL: fix float to string rounding errors on macOS/linux [t=239488]
  • + Envelopes: internal simplifications when moving media items across tracks and "envelope points move with media items" enabled
  • + Media explorer: fix REAPER menu on macOS
  • + Media explorer: more efficient duplicate prevention with gigantic databases
  • + Region/marker manager: add take marker support
  • + Track panels: allow resizing division between FX parameters and embedded FX
  • # Area selection: fix some corner cases with hidden envelopes and automation items
  • # Media Explorer: sort improvements
  • # Media explorer: add action to insert media into active sample player instance
  • # Media explorer: disable customization of some context menus for now
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 04:38 PM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,039
Default

+ Region/marker manager: add take marker support

Thanks!

On pc at least. The take marker tick box text in the top right of the region manager is not using the same text colour as the markers and regions names do.

Also. The take markers are also at the bottom of the list when ordered by time. Maybe that's a bug or maybe by design as I could imagine maybe this getting tricky to work out
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 04:45 PM   #3
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,035
Default

Quote:
+ Region/marker manager: add take marker support
Ahh! Very cool, thank you for this.
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 04:49 PM   #4
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,035
Default

Surely this has got to be an easy fix. Can this please get some love? PLEEEEASE?

Horizontal guide line is several pixels too low:

__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 04:57 PM   #5
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,039
Default

Regarding take markers..

Please consider adding an action to turn cue markers on an item back into take markers.

This would be super useful and not covered yet by a script but even if it was, it's still handy to have as a core action for people who don't use reapack.

Also. converting/adding take markers via project markers or the other way around is possible via scripts but very useful to have for normal users too.

Thanks!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 04:59 PM   #6
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bludgeon, NY
Posts: 2,482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
[*]# Area selection: fix some corner cases with hidden envelopes and automation items
maybe some improvement here from what i saw yday - or at least different behavior
this behavior, however, remains: extra AI are seemingly created when AS selections are moved across tracks.

it's very possible that the above quoted changelog entry doesn't relate to this BR, in which case please carry on

mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 05:21 PM   #7
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,597
Default

+ Media explorer: more efficient duplicate prevention with gigantic databases
Thx you. It is a little laggy (2 seconds freeze) but it works.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 05:32 PM   #8
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v6.12+dev0713 - July 13 2020
  • # Media Explorer: sort improvements
Does it mean sorting in shortcut column or media column? I can't find any difference in either of them.
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 06:41 PM   #9
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v6.12+dev0713 - July 13 2020[*]# Media explorer: add action to insert media into active sample player instance
Would it pleease be possible to add this action also to the main action list (for selected media item)?
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 07:23 PM   #10
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,903
Default Crash

REAPER crashes when double clicking item in # column,

Win10_x64

EDIT: Double clicking in most of the other columns makes it crash also.

Last edited by Edgemeal; 07-13-2020 at 07:41 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 10:27 PM   #11
Archie
Human being with feelings
 
Archie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 261
Default

Please make the popup hint slightly higher, because when editing the envelope, it overlaps everything and you can't see what to edit.




Was




Must be
Attached Images
File Type: png b.png (5.8 KB, 622 views)
File Type: png 2.png (6.1 KB, 625 views)
__________________
=================================
ReaPack| Archie-ReaScript: Discussion | Donate | Donate2 | Donate3 |
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 11:01 PM   #12
Georgedayren
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
REAPER crashes when double clicking item in # column,

Win10_x64

EDIT: Double clicking in most of the other columns makes it crash also.
it's ok for me, no crashes
__________________
Donate
Fast Access Pack
Georgedayren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 12:57 AM   #13
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie View Post
Must be
Nope, that is too far.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:06 AM   #14
Archie
Human being with feelings
 
Archie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Nope, that is too far.
Is it better when it covers the envelope ?
For example, the first time I can't put the left point in a line because of this hint, I have to move it in several approaches.

Edit:
Or lower

Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot_1.png (6.1 KB, 550 views)
__________________
=================================
ReaPack| Archie-ReaScript: Discussion | Donate | Donate2 | Donate3 |

Last edited by Archie; 07-14-2020 at 01:17 AM.
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:09 AM   #15
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie View Post
Please make the popup hint slightly higher, because when editing the envelope, it overlaps everything and you can't see what to edit.




Was




Must be

I wish this envelope value was displayed in transport bar .. so that I could monitor and if I want double click to enter new value. Tool tip is a bit mehh IMO.
__________________
i had to come back !
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:29 AM   #16
Archie
Human being with feelings
 
Archie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 261
Default

Once the envelope is affected, it may be possible to edit the action or create a similar "Edit envelope point value", only that this action would work with all the selected points in this envelope.
__________________
=================================
ReaPack| Archie-ReaScript: Discussion | Donate | Donate2 | Donate3 |
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:41 AM   #17
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie View Post
Or lower

That's much better!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:42 AM   #18
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie View Post
Edit:
Or lower
And that popup should be stationary, not moving with the mouse but staying at the first position where it pops up.
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:53 AM   #19
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
I wish this envelope value was displayed in transport bar .. so that I could monitor and if I want double click to enter new value. Tool tip is a bit mehh IMO.
I wish all the values would be visible all the time like in Logic.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:05 AM   #20
Archie
Human being with feelings
 
Archie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
And that popup should be stationary, not moving with the mouse but staying at the first position where it pops up.
No, then you will need to display this hint above or below the envelope track, which will not be informative if the track is expanded, otherwise you will close the view of the envelope again in any case.
__________________
=================================
ReaPack| Archie-ReaScript: Discussion | Donate | Donate2 | Donate3 |

Last edited by Archie; 07-14-2020 at 02:13 AM.
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:28 AM   #21
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
I wish all the values would be visible all the time like in Logic.
Agree.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:32 AM   #22
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v6.12+dev0713 - July 13 2020[*]# Media explorer: add action to insert media into active sample player instance
Btw it does not work if the ReaSamploMatic5000 (Cockos) plugin is renamed in any way.

And it only works if the active sampler is a track insert Fx and not a take Fx.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:39 AM   #23
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
I wish all the values would be visible all the time like in Logic.
I wonder if this is something that VST even supports, or if it's an AU-specific feature. I didn't see this in any other VST host.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:47 AM   #24
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 244
Default Installer

Hi, Devs!

Windows 32 Bits
REAPER v6.12+dev0713

Problem with the installer?

I reinstalled version 6.12+dev0712 and started normally.

P.S. It seems that the problem is related to this file of this path: 'C:\Windows\system32\pt-BR\erofflps.txt'
This never happened

Best regards,
__________________
REAPER, em constante evolução!

Last edited by Edison; 07-14-2020 at 05:50 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:53 AM   #25
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 538
Default

Sorry for yet another comment but as we are talking about envelopes, zooming in fully doesn't work.

At full zoom the display jumps to the track that the envelope belongs to and you need to scroll down to edit it. Would be nice if envelope lanes were respected as zoom center so fine edits are possible.

Here a video that shows the unwanted behaviour:
https://vimeo.com/438138677
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 02:59 AM   #26
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
REAPER crashes when double clicking item in # column,

Win10_x64

EDIT: Double clicking in most of the other columns makes it crash also.
I get a crash if I enable 'Take Markers' and double click anywhere in the TM columns; but not otherwise.
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 03:20 AM   #27
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 199
Default

Since everyone seems to be talking about envelopes...

The envelope points REAPER has are tiny and really hard to tweak compared to envelopes on other DAWs.
Here are some comparisons:


Could we perhaps get an option to scale the envelope point size, and have them use the space better when the envelopes are zoomed in vertically?
BirdBird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 03:23 AM   #28
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 788
Default

Thanks for all the fab improvements
One request when showing FX inserts in TCP, when opening an effect from the button can we have it open in the center of the screen ? At the moment we have to move the floating window to gain access to the button on TCP to close the fx. thanks.
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 03:32 AM   #29
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 199
Default

For the tooltips, can this preference be split into two?


* Tooltips for items
* Tooltips for envelopes

For items we can usually see where we are putting stuff so for a lot of us that make music with REAPER seeing tooltips for items are not very useful and get in the way.
For envelopes it is still nice to see the actual values for the points, so seperate preferences for items/envelopes would be very useful.
BirdBird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:00 AM   #30
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Regarding take markers..

Please consider adding an action to turn cue markers on an item back into take markers.

This would be super useful and not covered yet by a script but even if it was, it's still handy to have as a core action for people who don't use reapack.

Also. converting/adding take markers via project markers or the other way around is possible via scripts but very useful to have for normal users too.

Thanks!
Hmm, takemarkers are already scriptable via API, so what exactly isn't possible now?
Converting projectmarkers to take-markers has probably the issue, that take-markers are associated with a certain take, so you would need to somehow recreate the association with the project-marker and its corresponding take before you could convert the project-marker to take-marker in the first place.

I hope, I got your post right...
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1200 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:06 AM   #31
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 826
Default

Devs, about area selection hidden envelopes, can we also have a mouse modifier in order to move/copy the hidden envelopes instead of turning the action move items with env points on?

It would feel more like it's built in AS functions and more natural/faster and without needing to turn on/off the action each time.

Last edited by Vagelis; 07-14-2020 at 04:22 AM.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:10 AM   #32
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Devs, about area selection hidden envelopes, can we also have a mouse modifier in order to copy the hidden envelopes instead of turning the action move items with env points on?
Yeah, it would be more logical.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:10 AM   #33
SNJUK2
Human being with feelings
 
SNJUK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 102
Default

# Media explorer: add action to insert media into active sample player instance

That is SUPER

next feature
drag&drop from media explorer to mixer insert (RS5k)
RS5k embedded UI
RS5k stop-preview-button

LIVE mode is coming
SNJUK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:18 AM   #34
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
I wish all the values would be visible all the time like in Logic.
That's definitely not all the values in that picture, but rather values at points where envelope changes direction or levels out. Makes sense too, you would have just a mess when showing all. And some values seem to be hiding under the envelope, no point for those (no pun intended).

Last edited by xpander; 07-14-2020 at 04:24 AM.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:49 AM   #35
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 538
Default

Agree also on the fact that envelopes are sometimes hard to tweak, probably because the dots are too small. At least it often happens to me that I accidentally add points instead of moving selected ones. (Btw some draggable control for changing the curve shape between two envelope points would also be appreciated as it frees up a mouse modifier which means less mistakes by accidentally holding the wrong one).

Also agree that tooltips for envelopes and items should be separate options.

And @xpander, in Logic when you zoom into the points you see values for all points and as you zoom out the values gradually disappear, showing only the more important ones. Works pretty well. However I agree that values shouldn't be hiding under the points. Logic should improve in that regard, Reaper could implement it correctly from the beginning.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 04:55 AM   #36
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v6.12+dev0713 - July 13 2020[*]# Media explorer: add action to insert media into active sample player instance
I'm really loving the updates lately! Can we maybe get an option to set this as the default double click behavior? Otherwise I'm definitely mapping this to the return key, even though that feels a bit unclean
FeedTheCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 05:41 AM   #37
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
I get a crash if I enable 'Take Markers' and double click anywhere in the TM columns; but not otherwise.
Here I can color and rename take markers fine in Region/Marker Manager. Double clicking on other take marker columns will crash Reaper.
Win x64.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
And @xpander, in Logic when you zoom into the points you see values for all points and as you zoom out the values gradually disappear, showing only the more important ones. Works pretty well.
Ah, that makes sense, thanks for the info.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 05:48 AM   #38
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
Windows 32 Bits
REAPER v6.12+dev0713

Problem with the installer?

Ah, sorry. If you have a langpack installed, +dev0713 may crash on opening. A temporary workaround is to edit REAPER.ini to remove the langpack= line. We'll fix this for a build today.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 06:02 AM   #39
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Ah, sorry. If you have a langpack installed, +dev0713 may crash on opening. A temporary workaround is to edit REAPER.ini to remove the langpack= line. We'll fix this for a build today.
Thanks a lot schwa!

Kind regards,
__________________
REAPER, em constante evolução!
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 06:06 AM   #40
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Also. The take markers are also at the bottom of the list when ordered by time. Maybe that's a bug or maybe by design as I could imagine maybe this getting tricky to work out
At the moment, the list is always grouped by marker type, so project markers and take markers will never get mixed together no matter what column you are sorting by.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.