Old 12-25-2012, 10:45 AM   #1
Europanaut
Human being with feelings
 
Europanaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 508
Default Indented child tracks?

Hey all,

One of the things that I really like about the default theme, is the way that child tracks are indented to the right (in the tcp), under their parent folder track.

I find this to be intuitive, and enables me to tell, at a glance, how my hierarchy is laid out.

As much as I'd like to use some of the beautiful new themes that are being presented, I just can't work as quickly when there are no indents for the child and nested folder tracks. (I never use the mixer, so my work method may be quite different than the theme designer anticipated.)

I'm wondering if I'm the only one who is finding this to be a challenge, and if it is "only me", I'd like to know how you guys, as end users, wrapped your heads around this design choice.

Thanks,
Europanaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:56 PM   #2
djjedidiah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 443
Default

It's not just you. I really wanted to like Imperial, but I'm still on the default for this very reason.
djjedidiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 01:06 PM   #3
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

Yup, not just you, and the reason I always revert back to the Apollo Theme where this works fine....
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 04:46 PM   #4
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,037
Default

Love indented tracks here, too.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:27 PM   #5
Caustic
Human being with feelings
 
Caustic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 316
Default

this is the only reason i dont use imperial to set up my mixing sessions, it would make all the difference here
Caustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:43 AM   #6
Europanaut
Human being with feelings
 
Europanaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 508
Default

Interesting. Is it possible to offer a layout that uses indented child tracks? Or would it be a huge can of worms for the rest of the graphics in the theme?
Europanaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:31 AM   #7
Europanaut
Human being with feelings
 
Europanaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Europanaut View Post
Interesting. Is it possible to offer a layout that uses indented child tracks? Or would it be a huge can of worms for the rest of the graphics in the theme?
bump

Really hoping that there's an answer for this. I'd love to dig into some of the nice new themes.
Europanaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:54 AM   #8
Elassi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 81
Default

As a workaround you could give the child tracks another layout. Imperial offers a few.
Elassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:09 AM   #9
MichaJo
Human being with feelings
 
MichaJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elassi View Post
As a workaround you could give the child tracks another layout. Imperial offers a few.
How? Haven't found an option in layouts.
And additional: The button for toggleing "track", "folder" or "last track in a folder" doesn't work in Imperial (in RADO it does).
MichaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:13 AM   #10
Elassi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 81
Default

Rightclick on track --> Set track layout --> track panel
Elassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:21 AM   #11
MichaJo
Human being with feelings
 
MichaJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elassi View Post
Rightclick on track --> Set track layout --> track panel
I misunderstood. I thought there was an explicit layout option for child tracks. (Color, shape, or similar).
MichaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.