Old 12-02-2019, 08:08 PM   #1
tater01
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 16
Default How to setup multiple inputs on Reastream?

Hello everyone!

I'm trying to setup multiple inputs to Reastream. I want to use Voxengo SPAN Plus to monitor audio on a separate computer. I can get audio to the 2nd pc using Reastream. That's not the problem.
The problem is getting 8 separate channels of audio. Span can accept 8 different inputs and show them on the meter as different colors. But I can't get it setup.
So, say I have 8 separate tracks on 1st PC. I load Reastream on each of the tracks. How do I tell track 1 to send audio on channel 1? How to I tell track 2 to send audio on channel 2? etc.
I see that Reastream has a box to change audio channel? It says Audio Channels 1-8. Is that which channel it will be sending audio on? Or the total number of channels sent?
Whats the deal with the plugin pin connector on Reastream? Do I have to change pin connections on Reastream to change which channel it is sending? Then on the 2nd pc change the plugin pin connector of Span to match?

I just want to be able to send 8 different instances of Reastream to one instance of Span on the 2nd pc. And be able to distinguish the inputs and have Span show them all as a different color.

I've tried lots of things and I'm lost.
tater01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 12:10 AM   #2
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,144
Default

Was just looking at it, you should be able to
Identifier > Track 1
Audio channels (0-8) 1

Identifier > Track 2
Audio channels (0-8) 2

SPAN has 4 stereo inputs

Someone more up on it might tune in.

__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 09:47 AM   #3
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,573
Default

i would say the easiest thing to do would be to set up a multi-channel bus track with one instance of Reastream set to send.
This bus would be fed by your eight tracks, each going to a separate channel.
You will need to open the plug-in pin connector of Reastream and press the + button 3 times so that it is set up to get these 8 separate tracks.
On the receiving computer, set up Reastream in a similar way, but set to receive.
Put Span after it and it should now be seeing all 8 channels.

edit - forgot to mention the (obvious?) crucial detail of setting the audio channels box to 8 in both instances.

Last edited by domzy; 12-03-2019 at 11:56 AM.
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.