Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Music/Collaboration Discussion

Old 04-28-2022, 07:07 PM   #1
Steve R
Human being with feelings

Default "I Walk The Streets" please comment on this!

Hi all,

I'm hoping to get a comment or two instead of the usual 350 views and no comments

Please let me know what you would do differently. Thank you!

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AlSgXjpl0pdrpmLV...LZz5Q?e=Vd7DcM
Steve R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2022, 01:26 PM   #2
rustyStrings

This is a good song. I would suggest either changing or dropping the intro. On my second listen I think I get what you're doing - the chiming of an open car door and then walking but I can't help but think it would be better to get to the guts of the song. The intro seems somehow disconnected. The bulk of the song has much better vocal than the intro but the intro is also introducing your voice and should sound just as good as the rest of the song. I'm a beginner when it comes to mixing so I can't really comment other than it sounds good to me. Nice work!
rustyStrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2022, 01:39 PM   #3
karbomusic

Same here, I liked the song, I like the idea of the intro but it's way too long if you want most people to listen to it. The average person isn't going to wait that long.

In "the good ole days" before streaming, the intro would be it's own song but seamlessly going to the main song as it ends without a gap. That way you get the best of both worlds but that's kind of gone in the streaming world where everything is a "single".
Old 04-29-2022, 05:48 PM   #4
Steve R

Thanks, rustyStrings!
Old 04-30-2022, 12:26 PM   #5
msundh

My first reaction when 'the song' began was the voice processing.
The intro sounded really nice vocal wise.
It's a nice 60's touch of the lead vocal, but I wonder how it would sound less processed.
By the way, it's a really nice song.
Old 04-30-2022, 01:09 PM   #6
Steve R

Quote:
Originally Posted by msundh View Post