Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > JSFX and ReaScript Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2018, 01:30 PM   #81
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,899
Default

awesome - thanks
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 01:31 AM   #82
shosty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
No just the faderbox. Is the track named exactly __LBX_SKCTL - (that's two underscores at the start - one in the middle)?
Yeah, I copied and pasted it from here, from both OP and a post you made above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjewellstudios View Post
I had a little trouble with this too. What I did was make a new JS plugin and just copied the code from the faderbox section on the stripper page.

My plugin ended up being called "new effect" but that's completely because I have a lack of knowledge on this sort of thing.
I'm not sure how to make a new JS plugin, is there some documentation somewhere?
shosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 11:19 AM   #83
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shosty View Post
Yeah, I copied and pasted it from here, from both OP and a post you made above.



I'm not sure how to make a new JS plugin, is there some documentation somewhere?
I can't find the image again now - but from memory - that's exactly what the faderbox should look like.

I'm more concerned that the Smart Knobs script isn't picking up the faderbox - you should get a load of boxes underneath the top details in the window.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 01:24 AM   #84
shosty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
I can't find the image again now - but from memory - that's exactly what the faderbox should look like.

I'm more concerned that the Smart Knobs script isn't picking up the faderbox - you should get a load of boxes underneath the top details in the window.
Ok well that's promising at least. I am hoping that someone else running linux can try this to see if there's a bug/problem somewhere. I've got a dual boot so I'll try to set this up on windows and see if it I can get it to work there.
shosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 02:07 AM   #85
shosty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 75
Default

So I managed to get it working in Windows. In linux the Smart Control recognises the effect, I see the name change at the top when a different effect is selected, but still nothing else is drawn.
shosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 10:18 AM   #86
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,120
Default

Occasionally I've seen this script access a member of FFX, but it is nil at that point. Line 942:
Code:
        FFX, ret = GetFocusedFX(true)
        if ret == 1 then
          track = GetTrack(FFX.trn)
        end
Seems GetFocusedFX() can return nil, 1, which causes this. Also I think there's a typo relating to 'local tr' in the GetTrack() function
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 12:19 PM   #87
shosty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 75
Default

I've tried this again and somehow it works this time. I have no idea what I did wrong before but it's working perfectly now.

Sorry to waste anyone's time but thank you for the help and for the wonderful script.
shosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 01:36 PM   #88
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Occasionally I've seen this script access a member of FFX, but it is nil at that point. Line 942:
Code:
        FFX, ret = GetFocusedFX(true)
        if ret == 1 then
          track = GetTrack(FFX.trn)
        end
Seems GetFocusedFX() can return nil, 1, which causes this. Also I think there's a typo relating to 'local tr' in the GetTrack() function
Thanks Justin ... A few bugs to fix... Will look into.

EDIT: Should be (partially) fixed now.


Funny that I've never triggered the crash though - would like to know the conditions that caused it - so I can double check my fix.

However - in trying to work out what caused the crash I thought it might be to do with moving the focused FX around in the track fx chain. This didn't seem to cause the crash but did cause some slightly weird behaviour - so I'll look into that.

EDIT2:

Script should now also cope ok when moving focused effect around the fxchain. The only time this hiccups is if you actually select the faderbox plugin on the control track. But there's no reason to really want to do this while using the script properly so I'm not going to worry too much
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal

Last edited by lb0; 06-11-2018 at 01:53 AM.
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 04:22 PM   #89
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shosty View Post
I've tried this again and somehow it works this time. I have no idea what I did wrong before but it's working perfectly now.

Sorry to waste anyone's time but thank you for the help and for the wonderful script.
No time wasted don't worry. Glad you got it working. Might have needed a script restart when the CTL track has been added or something like that.

Hope it comes in useful

I've a few little niggles to iron out - but should be fine generally.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:53 AM   #90
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

New update - a few bug fixes.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 10:23 AM   #91
Zerododo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tv, Italia
Posts: 71
Default

hi all,

i'm using this great tool and works fine!! thanx

the only thing i don't understand is how to send correct position feedback to faders when focusing another plugin.

i've setted send feedback yes to ch 1 cc 0-31 and activated midi send on LBX track, but faders don't move when changing focus.

got an ssl nucleus 1

thanx for help

Last edited by Zerododo; 06-13-2018 at 10:47 AM.
Zerododo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 05:33 PM   #92
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
hi all,

i'm using this great tool and works fine!! thanx

the only thing i don't understand is how to send correct position feedback to faders when focusing another plugin.

i've setted send feedback yes to ch 1 cc 0-31 and activated midi send on LBX track, but faders don't move when changing focus.

got an ssl nucleus 1

thanx for help
Well it should just be required that the __LBX_SKCTL channel should be set up to output midi to whatever hardware output feeds a signal back into the control surface, and the control surface encoders/faders should be set up to receive feedback values on the channel chosen in the Faderbox jsfx and using the appropriate CC numbers (0-31).

This isn't something I've been able to test easily as I don't have any useful control surfaces that require this myself. But to test the output of Faderbox - put a midi logger (there's a JSFX one) after it and check the output sent through the midi logger - when you switch the focused plugin - it should send the new values of the assigned mapped parameters.

assuming this midi data looks correct - it's either the routing back to the control surface that's incorrect - or the control surface encoders/faders might not be set to the correct CC numbers (or there may be something else in the controller setup not quite right that is preventing the controller from receiving the values).

As far as I can test here - all the midi feedback data is working fine. Make sure the F1-F16 Note-on monitor is set to No (This is for my Stripper script's use).
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 08:45 AM   #93
Zerododo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tv, Italia
Posts: 71
Default

ouch!
there should be something else, because i've tried all the solutions you mentioned but still no fader moves...

the sniffer detects midi messages correctly, and the cc semms to be correct.

i'm afraid Nucleus has some other setup to deal with, but i can't figure out what is...

any other ideas? some nucleus user listening?

thanx!!!
Zerododo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 09:02 AM   #94
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
ouch!
there should be something else, because i've tried all the solutions you mentioned but still no fader moves...

the sniffer detects midi messages correctly, and the cc semms to be correct.

i'm afraid Nucleus has some other setup to deal with, but i can't figure out what is...

any other ideas? some nucleus user listening?

thanx!!!
Hmmm. Well I've been glancing at the Nucleus manual and it uses the ipMidi driver. Can you post a pic of your Midi Devices setup in Reaper - showing the output ports and how they are configured? This might help me get an idea of how you're set up.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 10:10 AM   #95
Zerododo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tv, Italia
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Hmmm. Well I've been glancing at the Nucleus manual and it uses the ipMidi driver. Can you post a pic of your Midi Devices setup in Reaper - showing the output ports and how they are configured? This might help me get an idea of how you're set up.

here:

https://youtu.be/uU0sPNbAC6Q

thanx!!!
Zerododo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:00 AM   #96
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
Thanks - I cannot see anything wrong with the way you have set that up.

I had a play with my aging ProjectMix IO which has motorized faders - and using a similar setup was able to get the faders in MIDI mode to work no problem here.

What I would try next - is using a Midi JSFX like MIDI CC Mapper
- put it on a track
- set the track to output MIDI to the controller
- use a keyboard modwheel or even an encoder from your control surface as the input source
- and within the JSFX go through all CC's values
- try changing the MIDI output channel numbers for the track

See if you can get the fader to move with any settings - my thinking is that maybe the controller is not receiving via channel 1 and CC0 etc. Maybe even though the controller is outputting channel 1 CC0 - it may have a different input MIDI setting.

If you find any settings that work - let me know.

If no channel CC combination works - then there is possibly some other setting within the control surface that means it's not receiving the data via your FX Control midi output. Is there any way you can tell whether the control surface is receiving any midi data at all?
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 10:29 AM   #97
Zerododo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tv, Italia
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Thanks - I cannot see anything wrong with the way you have set that up.

I had a play with my aging ProjectMix IO which has motorized faders - and using a similar setup was able to get the faders in MIDI mode to work no problem here.

What I would try next - is using a Midi JSFX like MIDI CC Mapper
- put it on a track
- set the track to output MIDI to the controller
- use a keyboard modwheel or even an encoder from your control surface as the input source
- and within the JSFX go through all CC's values
- try changing the MIDI output channel numbers for the track

See if you can get the fader to move with any settings - my thinking is that maybe the controller is not receiving via channel 1 and CC0 etc. Maybe even though the controller is outputting channel 1 CC0 - it may have a different input MIDI setting.

If you find any settings that work - let me know.

If no channel CC combination works - then there is possibly some other setting within the control surface that means it's not receiving the data via your FX Control midi output. Is there any way you can tell whether the control surface is receiving any midi data at all?
unfortunately i've understand where the problem is... in "midi cc mode" Nucleus cannot accept midi return data... it can only send them (page 37 of the manual).

thanx for help, sorry if you have lost time for this...
Zerododo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 03:26 PM   #98
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
unfortunately i've understand where the problem is... in "midi cc mode" Nucleus cannot accept midi return data... it can only send them (page 37 of the manual).

thanx for help, sorry if you have lost time for this...
No worries - sorry the issue cannot seemingly be worked around for your controller.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 01:48 AM   #99
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
unfortunately i've understand where the problem is... in "midi cc mode" Nucleus cannot accept midi return data... it can only send them (page 37 of the manual).

thanx for help, sorry if you have lost time for this...
One last thought.

Does the Nucleus controller ever follow plugin GUI changes? - so if it's learned to a plugin and you change the values in the plugin - does it ever update when you change the values in the plugin - maybe by changing a preset or something?

I'm just wondering whether this only works in VST's or something - if so - you could try hosting the Faderbox JSFX in ReaJS - mapping your controller to ReaJS Faderbox - then see if it will monitor the VST's parameters... I know this is how I have to set up when using Novation Automap - but this is because the plugin is wrapped by automap and this wrapped version feeds the parameter values back to the controller - so it may not happen with the Nucleus unless it does something similar.

Just seems a bit of an oversight of an otherwise excellent controller if it cannot map values in both directions when using encoders.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.