Old 07-12-2007, 10:47 AM   #1
bachstudies
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default Normalization (FIXED)

After recording from a mic or inserting a media file, normalizing the clip almost always takes the levels above 0dB (sometimes as much as +3dB). Shouldn't Reaper find the highest peak and move it to no more than 0dB?

Of course I can re-adjust the normalization by dragging down on the clip but I think that this must be a bug. Anyone else find this?


FIXED (1.885)

Last edited by Dstruct; 08-15-2007 at 04:35 AM.
bachstudies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 05:01 AM   #2
bachstudies
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default

I've now tried normalization on several different computers annd reaper takes the max level over 0dB 90% of the time. I've also tried normalizing in Sonar, Soundforge, Audacity etc and none of them have this issue.

Come on - surely someone else is also experiencing this?!
bachstudies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 06:41 AM   #3
bachstudies
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 62
Default

Can anyone confirm this bug? I really want to support this software by buying a one of the licenses. I also want to recommend this product to my recording musician friends but I can't right now given the normalization errors. If it's not actually a bug just let me know!

Last edited by bachstudies; 07-14-2007 at 06:42 AM. Reason: typo
bachstudies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:22 PM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,954
Default

It seems that the track's volume fader position is also taken into account...Doesn't seem very logical to me... So if you have the track fader at less than 0db, the clip's volume will be normalized to over 0db...

-X
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:30 PM   #5
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
It seems that the track's volume fader position is also taken into account...Doesn't seem very logical to me... So if you have the track fader at less than 0db, the clip's volume will be normalized to over 0db...

-X
No, at least here it doesn't.

BTW it is also independent of the clip volume hanbdle, so if this is in the +dB range it will also give you overs.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:33 PM   #6
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,954
Default

Well, in any case, the results of normalization in Reaper seem a bit too inconsistent...

It should work the same every time, that is, look for the maximum peak in the clip (not the whole file, of course!) when it's processing and bring up the peak in the clip to 0db (or perhaps preferably, a user defined level)...Track faders or fx or things like that should not be taken into account, only the raw audio data in the audio file...

-X
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:26 PM   #7
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bachstudies View Post
Can anyone confirm this bug? I really want to support this software by buying a one of the licenses. I also want to recommend this product to my recording musician friends but I can't right now given the normalization errors. If it's not actually a bug just let me know!
No doesn't happen here. Works fine, never had any issues.
Are you sure all the faders are at 0dB, no FX?
Also what file type is it wave/mp3/ogg/wavepack?
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.