Old 03-15-2019, 10:28 AM   #1
bapu
Human being with feelings
 
bapu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default Faderport 16 - works in Reaper?

Anyone actually using it?

No 'speculations' please, I would like to hear from actual owners letting me know it works in Reaper as well as the classic Faderport.

FYI: I am using a Faderport classic right now.
__________________
My Regards,
My grandsons call me Bapu. You can call me that or Ed.
I'm all about the Am bass note.
bapu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 02:27 PM   #2
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,411
Default

Using the FP16 in Mackie mode with the vanilla Reaper MCU driver.

I only use the faders for volume and the knob on pan.

Double press of select buttons clears track selection and selects that track. Single press of select buttons adds to track selection.

That‘s it. The automation buttons work.... iirc. I use other stuff to control that though. Play, Rec, Stop is fine too.

The CSI project will make this controller even more useful, but it‘s not locked down on basic syntax yet.

Good faders. Good buttons. Good calbration setup. Check the manual for details.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 03-17-2019 at 02:47 PM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 11:49 AM   #3
bapu
Human being with feelings
 
bapu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default

So far no go.

I'm the latest version of Reaper.

Of course I've chose the MCU setup in the FP16. There are 3, one for LOgic, Cubase and Sonar. I chose SONAR.

Nothing works in Reaper or Cakewalk by BandLab (aka SONAR).

It of course works in Harrison Mixbus and Studio One Pro 4.
__________________
My Regards,
My grandsons call me Bapu. You can call me that or Ed.
I'm all about the Am bass note.
bapu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 12:45 PM   #4
inertia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 601
Default

Faderport 16 works just fine for me using MCU controller and Logic setup. I have a few customisation actions setup for some buttons but mainly just use the volume controls, click and repeat buttons and pan pots.

You need to set up two controllers...FP16 for the in/out midi ports for controller 1 and MIDI2FP16 for the second controller. You might need to add an offset of 8 on the 2nd driver.

I actually have the FP8 and 16 set up at the same time using 24 faders in total.
__________________
inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 12:54 PM   #5
bapu
Human being with feelings
 
bapu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inertia View Post
Faderport 16 works just fine for me using MCU controller and Logic setup. I have a few customisation actions setup for some buttons but mainly just use the volume controls, click and repeat buttons and pan pots.

You need to set up two controllers...FP16 for the in/out midi ports for controller 1 and MIDI2FP16 for the second controller. You might need to add an offset of 8 on the 2nd driver.

I actually have the FP8 and 16 set up at the same time using 24 faders in total.
That did it. It works now. And I got it working in all my DAWs now (Reaper, Cakewalk by BandLab, StudioOne 4 and Mixbus 32C).

Just need to remember to switch modes when I switch DAWs.
__________________
My Regards,
My grandsons call me Bapu. You can call me that or Ed.
I'm all about the Am bass note.
bapu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 01:35 PM   #6
inertia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bapu View Post
That did it. It works now. And I got it working in all my DAWs now (Reaper, Cakewalk by BandLab, StudioOne 4 and Mixbus 32C).

Just need to remember to switch modes when I switch DAWs.
I am going to start working on an MCU specific Faderport 16 driver that will hopefully get some of the other buttons and scroll stuff working a bit better, as well as send track colours to each channel.
__________________
inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 09:30 AM   #7
kingriot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: London
Posts: 4
Exclamation Faderport 16 NOT working with latest reaper - Presonus transcript

Hi all,
unfortunately I can't get the Faderpot to respond as it should in Reaper (latest version updated May 12th 2019) - I have reached out to Presonus a number of times and even they have given up.

Here below the full transcript - Hopefully this will keep Reaper users from purchasing the unit for now..It's an unfortunate situation as we I can't really tell when and if Reaper/Presonus will allow for such integration and while I adore the faderport as a hardware unit I just can't experience the same workflow I have in Reaper in Studio One - Reaper is, to me, a much more well thought daw and it sort of feels like even though the Faderport is allegedly a MUI universal controller (aka no problem with Reaper on paper) customer will be forced to eventually transition to Studio One... Stuck between a Rock and a hard place!

p bonanno Thursday at 00:37
How do I set up my Faderport 16 with Reaper?

Avatar Technical Support Thursday at 16:27
Hello Bonanno,

To use your FaderPort within Reaper you'll first need to ensure the FP is set to MCU mode.
Power off the FaderPort
Hold the first and second "Select" buttons on the FP
Power the unit back on
Once the unit has powered up and displays "Select Control Mode" across the top of the scribble strips you can release the Select buttons
Select "MCU"
Press the eighth "Select" button ("EXIT" will be displayed on the scribble strip above this Select button)
You are now in MCU mode on your FaderPort and will remain in MCU mode even if you power the device off. To change to a different mode execute the steps listed above but select a different mode (such as HUI or Studio One mode).



Step 2 - Configure a Control Surface within Reapers Preferences
Open Reaper
Click the "Options" drop down menu and select "Preferences
Click on "Control Surfaces" within the Preferences menu
Click "Add"
Select "Mackie Control Universal" as Control Surface mode
Select "PreSonus FP" as your MIDI input and MIDI output

p bonanno Friday at 00:04
Hi, I just tried the above with my new Faderport 16 and it did not work
Also, "exit" was on my 7th select button, not the 8th

Technical Support Friday at 17:08
Hello p,

Please send me your computer's System Info file.

*NOTE: If you own PreSonus hardware, you will need to have your PreSonus hardware attached to the computer by USB or FireWire and powered on when you do this.


p bonanno Friday at 17:41
Hi Nick,
thanks for your prompt response, much appreciated.
FYI my equipment list is:
Reaper 5.977
Focusrite Clarett 8Prex
and the new Faderport 16 obviously

PC has Win 10 and it's a dell G5 i7

not sure whether you needed these info but just in case
Please find in attachment the file

Best Wishes

Pete

Cheers

Technical Support Friday at 20:22
Hello P,

Thank you for getting back with us.

The NFO file shows your Faderport shows as connected and installed.

Have you tried different USB ports?


Id also like you to test the unit within Studio One, its Native DAW.
This will determine any Hardware Failure.


Let me know if you have any questions.



Nick Maggio
PreSonus Technical Support Rep

p bonanno Friday at 20:28
Hi Nick,
i have just tried and it does indeed connect to studio one and responds as it should

i guess the unit is absolutely fine then... the problem is still with reaper then

what would you advice as next step?

Avatar Technical Support Today at 14:54
Hello P,

Thank you for getting back with us,

At this point we would recommend reaching out to the Manufacturer of the DAW in question.
Reaper support for the Faderport is conducted within their Forums.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=170036
There may be some more information within those forums.
Please let me know if you have any more technical issues?

Best,

Nick Maggio
PreSonus Technical Support Rep
kingriot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:34 AM   #8
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,411
Default

Here's what I did just a few days back. I've been using the Faderport16 for mixing for months now. I'm using Windows 7 x64.
  • Hold down BOTH the SELECT buttons of the two left-most channels while switching on the unit. This is just to check you have the proper mode selected, which is

  • Logic MCU mode. There are several variants of MCU mode, and that one worked for me.

    You select that by choosing MCU first, then a submenu appears and you pick Logic MCU. Then if necessary, select the Restart button.

  • Start up Reaper, bring up the preferences / Midi Devices

  • Two midi devices are presented by the Faderport16 in the input section.
    PreSonus FP16 and MIDIIN2 (PreSonus FP16)
    For both, make sure they are not configured for control and input. When you're using control surface plugins, you have to keep those two flags clear.

    The same applies to the two output devices in the output section on this page.
    PreSonus FP16 and MIDIOUT2 (PreSonus FP16)
  • Now go to the preference section Control/OSC/web.

  • Click the Add button

  • Select Mackie Control Universal from the dropdown menu

  • For MIDI input select the first device presented by the Faderport 16
    PreSonus FP16
  • For MIDI Output select the device with the same name.
    Keep the surface offset at 0, size tweak at 9. Those are the defaults. The three checkboxes can stay cleared.

    Click ok to close. That's the first.

  • Click the Add button again.
    This time select Mackie Control Extender.

  • The MIDI devices this time are
    MIDIIN2 (PreSonus FP 16) for MIDI input
    MIDIOUT2 (PreSonus FP 16)
    for MIDI output
  • The Surface offset (tracks) should be set to 8. Size tweak 9, checkboxes cleared.

  • Click ok and have fun.



Hope this helps.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 05-14-2019 at 03:39 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 11:26 AM   #9
kingriot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: London
Posts: 4
Exclamation Faderport 16 NOT working with latest reaper - Presonus transcript (Follow Up)

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Here's what I did just a few days back. I've been using the Faderport16 for mixing for months now. I'm using Windows 7 x64.
  • Hold down BOTH the SELECT buttons of the two left-most channels while switching on the unit. This is just to check you have the proper mode selected, which is

  • Logic MCU mode. There are several variants of MCU mode, and that one worked for me.

    You select that by choosing MCU first, then a submenu appears and you pick Logic MCU. Then if necessary, select the Restart button.

  • Start up Reaper, bring up the preferences / Midi Devices

  • Two midi devices are presented by the Faderport16 in the input section.
    PreSonus FP16 and MIDIIN2 (PreSonus FP16)
    For both, make sure they are not configured for control and input. When you're using control surface plugins, you have to keep those two flags clear.

    The same applies to the two output devices in the output section on this page.
    PreSonus FP16 and MIDIOUT2 (PreSonus FP16)
  • Now go to the preference section Control/OSC/web.

  • Click the Add button

  • Select Mackie Control Universal from the dropdown menu

  • For MIDI input select the first device presented by the Faderport 16
    PreSonus FP16
  • For MIDI Output select the device with the same name.
    Keep the surface offset at 0, size tweak at 9. Those are the defaults. The three checkboxes can stay cleared.

    Click ok to close. That's the first.

  • Click the Add button again.
    This time select Mackie Control Extender.

  • The MIDI devices this time are
    MIDIIN2 (PreSonus FP 16) for MIDI input
    MIDIOUT2 (PreSonus FP 16)
    for MIDI output
  • The Surface offset (tracks) should be set to 8. Size tweak 9, checkboxes cleared.

  • Click ok and have fun.



Hope this helps.
Hello mate,
thank you so much for the prompt response tremendously appreciated.
I shall be getting back in the studio tomorrow and will let you know how it goes.
Just to make sure i understood correctly...
by "Two midi devices are presented by the Faderport16 in the input section.
PreSonus FP16 and MIDIIN2 (PreSonus FP16)
For both, make sure they are not configured for control and input. When you're using control surface plugins, you have to keep those two flags clear.

The same applies to the two output devices in the output section on this page.
PreSonus FP16 and MIDIOUT2 (PreSonus FP16)"

do you mean leave those options disabled?

Thank you and have a nice evening

BEst Wishes

Pete
kingriot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 03:40 AM   #10
inertia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 601
Default

Unfortunately, the FP16 on Reaper in Logic MCU leaves much to be desired.

The FP8 with older firmware works much better when it just had a stock MCU mode and not MCU variants. I cannot see anyway to downgrade the FP16 to this firmware though.

The FP16 still works but there's many things that are incorrectly mapped.

We really need a proper "Studio One mode" driver to fully utilise the Faderport correctly. Harrison Mixbus works amazingly well with the Faderport in Native mode. Ardour has source code available for the Faderport 8 that might be a good starting point for a Reaper conversion.
__________________
inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 04:31 AM   #11
kingriot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: London
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inertia View Post
Unfortunately, the FP16 on Reaper in Logic MCU leaves much to be desired.

The FP8 with older firmware works much better when it just had a stock MCU mode and not MCU variants. I cannot see anyway to downgrade the FP16 to this firmware though.

The FP16 still works but there's many things that are incorrectly mapped.

We really need a proper "Studio One mode" driver to fully utilise the Faderport correctly. Harrison Mixbus works amazingly well with the Faderport in Native mode. Ardour has source code available for the Faderport 8 that might be a good starting point for a Reaper conversion.
Hello both, I just executed the procedure and whilst I got some things to work I'd have to agree with Inertia... only time will tell I guess! I still believe the faderport 16 has some of the best layouts out there for a daw controller - we need a brave programmer to sort us out!
kingriot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 12:15 PM   #12
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingriot View Post
Hello mate,
thank you so much for the prompt response tremendously appreciated.
I shall be getting back in the studio tomorrow and will let you know how it goes.
Just to make sure i understood correctly...
by "Two midi devices are presented by the Faderport16 in the input section.
PreSonus FP16 and MIDIIN2 (PreSonus FP16)
For both, make sure they are not configured for control and input. When you're using control surface plugins, you have to keep those two flags clear.

The same applies to the two output devices in the output section on this page.
PreSonus FP16 and MIDIOUT2 (PreSonus FP16)"

do you mean leave those options disabled?

That's right. If any of those two options are ON, you can't use it with a control surface plugin.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 02:49 PM   #13
fredmatthew25
Human being with feelings
 
fredmatthew25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 20
Default

For me, the Classic faderport - thank you Kenny Goia for the tip, is hit or miss.
fredmatthew25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.