Old 06-13-2014, 03:06 AM   #1
nhen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Default Reaper with RME Babyface - Very soft

Hey Guys,

I have just started to a get new set up happening; coming from a Pro Tools background but having only done live stuff for the last 4 years.
I now have an RME Babyface and want to use Reaper as my DAW. Also have a BAE DMP on the way with my new mic.

At present I am recording with my Sennheiser e965 for vox and a Line Audio CM3 for guitar.

I am finding that through both mics if I get the input levels right so they are not peaking and have a good amount of headroom (averaging around -18) that the playback is extremely quiet.
However if I use the Pan on each track to Pan either full right or left (doesn't matter which) the playback level rises to what seems to be much more normal. Still playing in both sides of head phones.

What rookie mistake am I missing here?

I've attached an image of the waveform when singing and speaking with the dB around -18.

I have checked my phones levels and they are OK, couple more turns until max.

Thanks for any help you can provide and let me know I need to be clearer on anything!

Cheers,

Nic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reaper-image.jpg (12.1 KB, 162 views)
nhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 08:47 AM   #2
zoso2
Human being with feelings
 
zoso2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 616
Default

you are probably experiencing what is known as the pan law. The level is attenuated in the centre to compensate for psychoacoustic effects when both speakers are playing audio. There is a perceived 6dB (approximate) level increase when we hear a sound equally in both ears compared to just one. Most analogue mixing consoles have a pan law built in. Neve uses -3dB in the centre and SSL uses a -4.5dB pan law I think. I'm a bit fuzzy on the exact numbers.

You can change the pan law to fix this to 0.0dB. I'm not able to check how to do this at the moment but a quick browse through the documentation should get you there right away.

Last edited by zoso2; 06-13-2014 at 09:24 AM.
zoso2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 11:37 AM   #3
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,415
Default

I'd guess you have phase cancellation going on in your monitoring chain.

check your routing! in REAPER, in the RME total mix... and check your cables.

worst case scenario, your headphone output is mis-wired.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.