Old 06-09-2014, 03:38 AM   #1
AndyA
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Default SF2 samples and sampler

Hi, all

Iím something of a newbie, in spite of advancing age, and am a recent convert to Reaper, which I like. Iíve also bought some DSK SF2 samples, which look exciting. I was recommended to download the DSK SF2 sampler (http://www.dskmusic.com/dsk-sf2-v2/) but then I hit a brick wall. I dropped its DLL into my Reaper plugins folder, but canít find it Ė or the samples Ė in there when I look through the ďlensĒ of the Reaper program. Iím obviously doing something wrong, but, in spite of a lot time searching (and maybe Iím not doing smart enough searches), Iím not getting anywhere. Is there a step-by-step guide to installing such a sampler and then using it within Reaper? Iíd be eternally grateful if anyone can point me in the right direction.

Andy
West Wales
AndyA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:03 AM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyA View Post
Iím something of a newbie, in spite of advancing age, and am a recent convert to Reaper, which I like. Iíve also bought some DSK SF2 samples, which look exciting. I was recommended to download the DSK SF2 sampler (http://www.dskmusic.com/dsk-sf2-v2/) but then I hit a brick wall. I dropped its DLL into my Reaper plugins folder, but canít find it Ė or the samples Ė in there when I look through the ďlensĒ of the Reaper program. Iím obviously doing something wrong, but, in spite of a lot time searching (and maybe Iím not doing smart enough searches), Iím not getting anywhere. Is there a step-by-step guide to installing such a sampler and then using it within Reaper? Iíd be eternally grateful if anyone can point me in the right direction.
Hi Andy, and welcome to the forums.

I have no experiences with the DSK SF2 sampler. However, if you put the dll for the DSK SF2 in your regular VST folder, you should definitely be able to find it.

When you try to load it are you Right Clicking on an empty space in the TCP (upper Track Control Panel) and selecting Insert virtual instrument on new track? You should be able to see the DSK SF2 in the list that pops up.

If not then try saving your current project if it is a project you want to continue with, close Reaper and restart it. That will cause Reaper to re-scan the plugins. Then try the same procedure I mention above.

Also just in case you are unaware, it is good practice to put the samples (as well as your projects) on a separate Hard Disk then your OS disk.

If that doesn't work then perhaps someone with some experience with the DSK SF2 will jump in.

Good luck.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 11:27 AM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,103
Default

just tested here and it is found normally and loads fine...

it is an x86 dll and I set it to run Embed Bridged, which it does on my 64 bit reaper...

and works with most sf2 files... however

when loading the large sf2 file: "Evanessence.sf2"
it totally crashes reaper, see below:
[IMG]http://imagizer.**************/v2/xq90/843/lmzl.png[/IMG]

PS same thing happens with the updated sf2 which is called Musying.sf2
...this is also a large sf2 file...

so it seems there is a problem somewhere... but don't know if it is a reaper problem or a plugin problem
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 06-09-2014 at 12:37 PM.
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 01:20 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,103
Default

OK well this BS got me looking around again:

get this for a player: "Soundfont Enhancer" ... best ever!

http://gregjazz.com/downloads/

and besides the great new Midi Filter fixed for us by Eareckon [go to their site to get it... just google it]

you might also find this one fast and handy as can be:

KX MIDI FILTER [scroll down to see the download link]

http://kx77free.free.fr/English-contents.html

and then for a good GM sf2 file try this:
musyng.sf2

http://www.toplike.us/play.php?i=xyKX1-ephO0


there are other GM sf2 files... google away
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 11:12 PM   #5
jiff 41
Human being with feelings
 
jiff 41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: WALES, UK
Posts: 756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyA View Post
Hi, all

I’m something of a newbie, in spite of advancing age, and am a recent convert to Reaper, which I like. I’ve also bought some DSK SF2 samples, which look exciting. I was recommended to download the DSK SF2 sampler (http://www.dskmusic.com/dsk-sf2-v2/) but then I hit a brick wall. I dropped its DLL into my Reaper plugins folder, but can’t find it – or the samples – in there when I look through the “lens” of the Reaper program. I’m obviously doing something wrong, but, in spite of a lot time searching (and maybe I’m not doing smart enough searches), I’m not getting anywhere. Is there a step-by-step guide to installing such a sampler and then using it within Reaper? I’d be eternally grateful if anyone can point me in the right direction.

Andy
West Wales
Hi Andy & welcome
Fellow west walian here (Carmarthen), first thing is like Tod says you need a dedicated VST folder(make one!) to put this sort of stuff in (not the REAPER plugins folder) if you name it steinberg VST most plugins will find it automatically.

The DSK sampler is a VSTi which is in a different section in the search box!

If you look at the GUI of DSK (in HOPI's pic above) you'll see a little question mark bottom right of the name plate, click on it & it takes you to the page with all the samples you can download. (again make a folder!)

You could do a lot worse than clicking on the link in HOPI's signature he's got a guide on how to use this very sort of thing, it is VERY helpfull, it's helped loads of us!.

If you need more help ask away! enjoy
__________________
"I started out with nothing & i still have most of it left"(seasick steve)
jiff 41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 02:03 AM   #6
AndyA
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Default SF2 samples and sampler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Hi Andy, and welcome to the forums.

I have no experiences with the DSK SF2 sampler. However, if you put the dll for the DSK SF2 in your regular VST folder, you should definitely be able to find it.

When you try to load it are you Right Clicking on an empty space in the TCP (upper Track Control Panel) and selecting Insert virtual instrument on new track? You should be able to see the DSK SF2 in the list that pops up.

If not then try saving your current project if it is a project you want to continue with, close Reaper and restart it. That will cause Reaper to re-scan the plugins. Then try the same procedure I mention above.

Also just in case you are unaware, it is good practice to put the samples (as well as your projects) on a separate Hard Disk then your OS disk.

If that doesn't work then perhaps someone with some experience with the DSK SF2 will jump in.

Good luck.
Many thanks, Tod, for your prompt and helpful response. Yes, I do right-click, and opt for an instrument on a new track. Seems to be the best and quickest way to get there. I'm now, for some reason, able to see the SF2 sampler, which I load, and then, from it (using it as a "lens" into the SF2 samples) I can load any of what's there. This all happened since I posted the query.

It's not a very good visual interface: lots of grey text on a black background (ugh!), and, for some reason, I have to click in two places to load any given sample/instrument; but I'm at least able to play instruments/samples of my choice now.

If you have any more tips, they're more than welcome. As I say, I'm getting on a bit, but am fairly new to MIDI (about four/five years), and have used Ableton Live Intro till now, but, of course, you're limited to the number of tracks (audio or MIDI) that you can stack, whereas with Reaper (cheaper than Intro) you can stack as many as you want.

Anyway, thanks again.

Andy
AndyA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 10:55 AM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,103
Default

Andy ... do yourself a big favor... look at my post about 3-4 posts above this..

go get those items I have given you the links....

IMO that DKS is not very good for the reasons both you and I have stated...

the ones I posted links for are MUCH better!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 06:41 AM   #8
AndyA
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Default SF2 samples and sampler

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Andy ... do yourself a big favor... look at my post about 3-4 posts above this..

go get those items I have given you the links....

IMO that DKS is not very good for the reasons both you and I have stated...

the ones I posted links for are MUCH better!
Will do, Hopi. Thanks for the links. I look forward to further experimentation. (Glad I joined this forum!). And thanks to others who've responded so quickly to my queries.
AndyA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:48 AM   #9
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,103
Default

good... please do come back and tell me how much better you like that other sf2 player. At the very least you can see the GUI, eh?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.