Old 05-28-2020, 04:34 AM   #1
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,119
Default Envelope vertical scaling across DAWs

I've just used AATranslator to bring a project over from Studio One to Reaper, and I was comparing volume automation envelopes. It's not something you usually get a chance to do, to compare exact values from DAW to DAW. At least I've never thought about it before until now.

But checkout this hihat automation. It ranges from -38dB to around -20dB.

Here it is in Studio One:


Here is the same data in Reaper:


Now I'm much more able to see the relatively differences between levels and get a good idea of what is going on inside Studio One. Because the vertical scaling is more to my taste.

Reaper goes from -inf to +6dB, and there is a lot of range there that is difficult to access, even when the automation track is at full height.

Studio One goes from -inf to 0dB, and the scaling curve seems to be very different.

Is this something that is, or could ever be, customizable?

I'm sure all DAWs do this differently and everyone is gonna have their own preferences.
__________________
TACOMA NARROWS BRIDGE DISASTER
Full disclosure: I am part of the inMusic Brands BFD team. Views and postings are my own
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 04:40 AM   #2
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10,053
Default

Can't check right now, but I believe in preferences you can set your fader range to whatever you want, and then set volume envelope to fader scale.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 11:50 AM   #3
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
Can't check right now, but I believe in preferences you can set your fader range to whatever you want, and then set volume envelope to fader scale.
Changing from -inf to 0dB in the prefs helps a little. But it's still quite a huge difference in terms of visual display. All the information is crunched up at the bottom of the envelope.
__________________
TACOMA NARROWS BRIDGE DISASTER
Full disclosure: I am part of the inMusic Brands BFD team. Views and postings are my own
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 02:27 PM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,927
Default

Yes, in your pic it's amplitude scaled.
Below: top lane is fader scaled, bottom is amplitude scaled (the two points going from -38 to -20).
I don't know though if it's possible to 'afterwards' convert existing automation lanes from amplitude - to fader scaled.

nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 11:48 PM   #5
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 771
Default

Yes, Fader Scale is the answer that we had to wait for years...

You can change it afterwards by right-clicking on the envelope and select Envelope Default.
But you have to do it for each one.
jm duchenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.