COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 04-09-2020, 02:30 AM   #1
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default need help to create private server

Hi
I want to use Ninjam with my students.
I have reaper so I go through the program.

I have used this video for guidance
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNc383Q2pUs

I have read The server setup guide and haven´t touched anything in the cclicense program or in the example.cfg file.

The terminal set up seems fine - I´m "in" but when I try to connect with my "own server" I cannot.

I have my IP + port written in the right way - I then try to connect anonymously
Don´t work
then I look into using a username/password - But i haven´t created a username/password..?

So I´m doing something wrong and being new to server set up I have the feeling that There is something I don´t understand...

Questions:

If I made up the server - why (and how) should i connect to my own server..?

If I want it to be private - and Only have invited participants (my students)
What do I need to do then (i guess it is in the example.cfg file)

All the best
Søren Bendixen/Audiotect
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:39 AM   #2
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
...<snip>
I have my IP + port written in the right way - I then try to connect anonymously
Don´t work
<snip>...

Hi audiotect,
first you have to be sure that you have really the right information.

What does the IP looks like?
Is it really public, external IP address assigned by your provider?
Isn't it your local machine's iP address?
If the IP is external/public, then there mey be need to setup port forwarding/NAT in your router (there it is really more technical then)
Also operating system's firewall can disallow such ports and traffic (so it needs to be allowed manually eventually).

Try to connect (anonymously) from different computer on your local network or even the same computer. Does it connect?

Last edited by akademie; 04-09-2020 at 02:41 AM. Reason: typos
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:58 AM   #3
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

HI
I took the IP from my systempreferences - network - its is a
xxx.xxx.x.xxx. code (if it makes sense..)
That must be a local network code i guess

When i try to connect I write
xxx.xxx.x.xxxcolonport
and I get into the license agreement - check the box and accept

I´m on a mac computer - If there was an issue with the firewall shouldn´t i get a message of some sort..? I don´t get any.
I can connect to other peoples server

I´m not sure I understand this line
Try to connect (anonymously) from different computer on your local network or even the same computer. Does it connect?

Should I
Have my server up and running (as i think i have) and then...what? :-)
I don´t have acces to another computer
i had the idea that my network would show up in the list of available networks, but no

Best
Søren/audiotect

Last edited by audiotect; 04-14-2020 at 08:18 AM.
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:46 AM   #4
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,158
Default

Use this site
https://www.whatismyip.com

There is at the top "My Public IPv4 is: x.x.x.x"

This is your public/external IP address that you will use for others to connect to you (your server).
But then again, as i already wrote, there may be need to configure the router for this to pass from external through into your local IP address.

There was a lot of similar threads in here in few previous days,weeks. Do search, please and read more info from other people configuring their private servers on MocOSX.

"pljones" and "mschnell" users have lot of info on NAT/port forwarding configuration of routers in those other threads, so maybe try to search by their usernames...
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:52 AM   #5
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks
I will check, read and test

Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 08:37 AM   #6
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 745
Default

I think the critical thing on the Mac was to run from Applications, rather than anywhere else, as otherwise your firewall hole will be ignored and nothing will be allowed in.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 08:39 AM   #7
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
I think the critical thing on the Mac was to run from Applications, rather than anywhere else, as otherwise your firewall hole will be ignored and nothing will be allowed in.
If I understand you correctly: to have the Ninjam server files in the app folder?
I did that, according to the video
Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 09:43 AM   #8
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

well still messing around with this
been reading threads but cannot see what I´m doing wrong

In terminal it says
server starting up
port: 2049
Error listening on port 2049!
Using defaults 120 BPM 8 BPI

I have no firewall engaged on my mac
the "Error listening.." I read that this should be ignored.

I´m using my local IP to (try to) connect (I checked what my public IP looked like)
I try to connect anonymously but I got the message invalid username/code

I can connet to other peoples servers, no problem.
I don´t have access to another computer, but If you say I need one I´ll try to find one.

Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 10:35 AM   #9
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Ok - WORKING!
internally at least.
What did I do right..?

Well i don´t really know.
Tried to figure out if my router could accept port2049 but couldn´t get into the router.
While doing all this I noticed that in terminal I was told to update my shell to log in (I really don´t know what I´m talking about - other than it has something to do with reading plugins...)
I changed it from bash to zsh

went for dinner - restarted the hole thing and
noticed when getting access via Terminal that the "Error listening on port 2049!" was no longer present.

Opened reaper - access!
On the way I did change from no to yes in config file regarding anonymosly access but save and restart of programfile didn´t matter

Okay: the next 10 dollar question:
what do my students need to get access and jam with me?
Reaper
my public IP address

Anything else?

Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 10:46 AM   #10
mkhlmkrv
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 3
Default

In the example.cfg that you copied in Applications folder on your Mac you can find something this:

#user/password/permissions sets
User administrator myadminpass * # allow all functions
User booga anotherpass CBTKRM # allow chat, bpm/bpi, topic changing, and kicking, a reserved slot, and multiple logins
User myuser mypass # allow default functions (chat, no topic)

This is default login/password to access your server
Now, in Reaper you can type this:

Connect to host - yourpublicIP : port
Login - booga
Password - anotherpass

Of course you can change this parameters
Sorry for my English
Hope that helps!



Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
Ok - WORKING!
internally at least.
What did I do right..?

Well i don´t really know.
Tried to figure out if my router could accept port2049 but couldn´t get into the router.
While doing all this I noticed that in terminal I was told to update my shell to log in (I really don´t know what I´m talking about - other than it has something to do with reading plugins...)
I changed it from bash to zsh

went for dinner - restarted the hole thing and
noticed when getting access via Terminal that the "Error listening on port 2049!" was no longer present.

Opened reaper - access!
On the way I did change from no to yes in config file regarding anonymosly access but save and restart of programfile didn´t matter

Okay: the next 10 dollar question:
what do my students need to get access and jam with me?
Reaper
my public IP address

Anything else?

Best
Søren
mkhlmkrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 10:51 AM   #11
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

hmm..doesn´t work
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 10:55 AM   #12
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Is it for checking if an outside user can access my session?

I have activated a buddy, asking him to get Reaper and try to access my server via my public IP
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 10:56 AM   #13
mkhlmkrv
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 3
Default

try a 127.0.0.1 instead of your public IP, maybe its wrong
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
hmm..doesn´t work
mkhlmkrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 10:59 AM   #14
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhlmkrv View Post
try a 127.0.0.1 instead of your public IP, maybe its wrong
this works

can you explain..?
Should I hand this IP to my buddy?
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 11:06 AM   #15
mkhlmkrv
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 3
Default

nope, 127.0.0.1 is a loopback local IP address for every computer. it works only for you on your machine

and you can access the server using 127.0.0.1 : port (2049 in your case), then login: administrator password: myadminpass (as default)

if its ok, you should give to your friend your public IP(explained earlier in this topic), port 2049
and use booga as login and anotherpass as password (default settings)

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
this works

can you explain..?
Should I hand this IP to my buddy?
mkhlmkrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 11:07 AM   #16
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkhlmkrv View Post
nope, 127.0.0.1 is a loopback local IP address for every computer. it works only for you on your machine

and you can access the server using 127.0.0.1 : port (2049 in your case), then login: administrator password: myadminpass (as default)

if its ok, you should give to your friend your public IP(explained earlier in this topic), port 2049
and use booga as login and anotherpass as password (default settings)
cool
I´ll try
Thanks
will report back

Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2020, 05:08 PM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,357
Default

We have some public servers which you can create private rooms on now, that might work for you?

They are near the bottom of the server list, connect to them, then in the chat window type "!join myprivateroomnamethatnobodywillguess"
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 01:27 AM   #18
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
We have some public servers which you can create private rooms on now, that might work for you?

They are near the bottom of the server list, connect to them, then in the chat window type "!join myprivateroomnamethatnobodywillguess"
Very cool
I will try that. Thanks. Will report back

Still I’m trying to work out my own though (never give up..)
And my private server
It’s running fine on my own computer
I borrowed my daugters computer, installed reaper
Ninjam in the fx slot
Use my public ip with colon2049 added
Tried both booga/anotherpass combi or anonymously
But can’t get in...?

Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 01:37 AM   #19
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
We have some public servers which you can create private rooms on now, that might work for you?

They are near the bottom of the server list, connect to them, then in the chat window type "!join myprivateroomnamethatnobodywillguess"
Hi justin
Okay - I´m in typed in !join myprivateroomnamethatnobodywillguess
how do I get in from my other computer.?

Best
Søren
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 01:52 AM   #20
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

aaahhh..working, I guess the password should be something i make up...
Note: I´m also reading your sticky post about it...but I´m on new ground here..
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 06:05 AM   #21
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
aaahhh..working, I guess the password should be something i make up...
Note: I´m also reading your sticky post about it...but I´m on new ground here..
HI again audiotect, I am not sure if I understood you, but anyway - with the server Justin wrote about, there you can create you "private" room by typing
!join roomname

where that roomname is something you define by yourself. It becomes then name of the room, no password needed.
Only keep in mind that the name should be exclussive enough to not be easy for anybody to type it too), you then give that name to your partners that you want to join in.

(example: if you choose the "testroom" as a name, then lot of people could join in unintentionally, because that room already exists, on another hand name "room4jam20m20ing" is not so common, right?

Sorry if you knew it already, it was not clear to me from your post.
Happy nin-jamming
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 06:24 AM   #22
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
HI again audiotect, I am not sure if I understood you, but anyway - with the server Justin wrote about, there you can create you "private" room by typing
!join roomname

where that roomname is something you define by yourself. It becomes then name of the room, no password needed.
Only keep in mind that the name should be exclussive enough to not be easy for anybody to type it too), you then give that name to your partners that you want to join in.

(example: if you choose the "testroom" as a name, then lot of people could join in unintentionally, because that room already exists, on another hand name "room4jam20m20ing" is not so common, right?

Sorry if you knew it already, it was not clear to me from your post.
Happy nin-jamming
Thanks!
I did a test and It´s working👍
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 06:25 AM   #23
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
Thanks!
I did a test and It´s working��
Fine
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 03:13 PM   #24
audiotect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Denmark
Posts: 83
Default

Just a note back
Made up m own password (won´t tell you!) and invited my Buddy in - and he appeared.
Had a midi drum loop in 120 bpm (session in 120 bpm too) - he had his guitar - and we were in sync.
That´s cool, very cool

next up is:
Gotta find a way to record what we´re doing, also emitting the metronone.
got to find a way to make it a videosession too (in sync). I have a webcam

I´ll do a search on both, but if you have the answer right away don´t hestitate..

This opens up a hole new world for teachers and students work, not only in these coronatimes but a diffferent way of teaching in the future.

Best
Søren/audiotect
audiotect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 03:54 PM   #25
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotect View Post
...
<snip>
Gotta find a way to record what we´re doing, also emitting the metronone.

<snip>
...
ReaNINJAM (and standalone NINJAM client too) does save multitrack recordings itself
Check Preferences in plugin's menu where the path for recordings is set to.

Then you can import/open the clipsort.log file in Reaper

Last edited by akademie; 04-15-2020 at 04:09 PM. Reason: typo, NINJAM standalone info addition
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2020, 11:24 PM   #26
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 745
Default

JamTaba does multitrack recording, too (same format as ReaNINJAM or its own).

JamTaba also does video - I don't know if it's sync'd (can't remember).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 03:27 AM   #27
jayendra
Human being with feelings
 
jayendra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gippsland, Aus
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
We have some public servers which you can create private rooms on now, that might work for you?

They are near the bottom of the server list, connect to them, then in the chat window type "!join myprivateroomnamethatnobodywillguess"
Thanks! had no idea legend!
__________________
.-. . .- .--. . .-. | .. ... | --. --- .-.. -..
jayendra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.