Old 11-07-2012, 03:17 PM   #1
Alsklaftsk123
Human being with feelings

Default Guitar picking up mac noise?

Hi guys. I currently have a hp pavilon dv6 pc. A big problem is that i am a guitarist and record guitar music in reaper. The pc is giving extremely much electromagnetic noise, so i need to set my noise gate pedal very high compared to gain, and i have humbucker pickups in all my guitars. When i turn off the noise gate i get very much electronic hiss that increases when i move closer to the laptop. One of my guitars have a coil split function, and when i use that the hiss is as loud as the actual notes when the gate is on. When i turn of the pc, the guitar is almost sillent. I have bern thinking about getting a telecaster, but its almost impossible with my setup.

I have been thinking about getting a mac in the future. Does they send out alot of electronic noise, because alot of guitarists have a mac. Can you play a telecaster whitout a noisegate in front of a mac? Btw, does reaper work as well on osx as windows 7?
Old 11-07-2012, 05:10 PM   #2
Boray

I have a HP Pavilion desktop and the hiss does not get louder when I move the guitar closer to it, so maybe you should just get a desktop computer.
Old 11-08-2012, 02:40 AM   #3
BobM

What are you plugging the Guitar into, an audio interface?
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:08 AM   #4
Alsklaftsk123

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobM View Post
What are you plugging the Guitar into, an audio interface?
Amp, but it happens in i plug into an audio interface too. My question was if macs does send out this sort of electronic noise.
Old 11-08-2012, 07:46 AM   #5
Stretto