Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Old 07-18-2010, 08:48 AM   #1
Vendurain
Human being with feelings

Default Stop playback - a little slow responsive? (SOLVED)

Hi.. I am new to reaper and very pumped up about it... telling every friend I have and everyone else to switch to reaper...

I've already found a few things I thought I'd give my suggestions about..

I guess I'll post the suggestions in another forum but her is something, I don't know if it is a bug...

When I switched off the smooth fade out when you hit stop... (in preferences --> audio).. It seems that there still are a little tale of audio that gets played after I hit stop... so I was starting to wonder if it was like this before also... I suspected maybe this was a bug that came with the smooth start/stop fades... so if you disable that feature its still going to play the length of the fade but without a fade if you know what I mean.... I have no idea if this is the reason ofcourse but anyway... the stop instruction is a little slow responsive is what Im trying to say... not much to talk about but like 20 ms or so... Maybe its just here.. Is it anything I can do in the preferences?

Any suggestions? Is it a bug?
Vendurain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 09:11 AM   #2
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)

Welcome to Reaper!

That's due to the "Anticipative FX" pre-renderning feature (set to 200ms by default). You can reduce that time in Options->Preferences->Audio->Buffering to e.g. 50ms at the expense of a little less CPU efficiency. It also affects tweaking knobs on FX and things like that.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 09:13 AM   #3
musicbynumbers

I would say it could also be due to media buffering being to high. Try 400 ms and 25 percent.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 03:39 PM   #4
Vendurain