Old 07-04-2019, 08:32 AM   #1
ribbon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Default 100% CPU with only one track

Hey altogether,

after years of flawless use on different machines here comes one (to me) new reaper phenomenon: On a rather new Mac Book Pro (2,3GHz i5, 8GB RAM) the fan starts turning intensely a few minutes after opening a session in reaper.

I am running macOS 10.14.2 and Reaper c5.979/64 and get a CPU usage of around 100% as soon as I set up a very first audio track, no plugins enabled, no audio files in the session. An empty session with no audio tracks set up uses near zero CPU.

I have never seen before anything above a few percent CPU in a pure recording session.

Any ideas?

Best,
ribbon
ribbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 09:51 PM   #2
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,571
Default

Someone else recently had a similar thing happen, and it turned out the grid setting was 1/1024 for some reason. Changing it to a normal setting (anything in the drop-down menu) stopped that from happening. Since Reaper uses CPU for all the graphics (except for plugins which might use the GPU directly), if it is trying to draw "too much" it can load your CPU a lot.

It could be other things too, of course. You might want to attach a project file. If this happens when you create a blank project and add a single track (with no audio), attaching the RPP here would allow others to see if they can find anything wrong with the settings.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 01:25 AM   #3
ribbon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks a lot!

Will definitely try this the next time I work on that machine and will get back.
ribbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 01:31 AM   #4
ribbon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Default

Am at the machine now and found the grid to be set to 1/4. Time base is SMTP anyway for the default project.

Any more ideas on this phenomenon?
ribbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 08:31 AM   #5
gorelik11
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Default Simillar Issue

Hello! Here I compared the performance of Reaper versions 5.965 and 5.981 on El Capitan
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Early 2013) 2,4 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
The jump on CPU on last versions was very big. Here are screenshots.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/1b4n1j0n1q...40.26.png?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4h3uj7b6qi...38.03.png?dl=0
gorelik11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 10:05 AM   #6
ribbon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Default

Thank you!

Your links are dead, but updating might help anyway. 🙂
ribbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.