Old 10-15-2018, 07:56 AM   #81
Rangler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 489
Default

I had this and it didn't feel analog to me. I was spinning those dials forever to get any movement on some plugins.

I really hate how digital can't feel immediate like a guitar pedal or an analog mixing board. Technology really sucks in terms of intuitive, tactile, feel.
__________________
MacBook Pro; Late 2016, 16 GB
Rangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 09:31 AM   #82
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangler View Post
I had this and it didn't feel analog to me. I was spinning those dials forever to get any movement on some plugins.
The subject of encoder resolution and corresponding number in the software. The parameter should be user defined, but most programmers fix it. So for some it is "too slow", for other "too fast".

Quote:
I really hate how digital can't feel immediate like a guitar pedal or an analog mixing board. Technology really sucks in terms of intuitive, tactile, feel.
Digital technology in general does not sucks in tactile and feel.
Yes, it is rarely intuitive. In the analog world you have 100 knobs for 100 parameters, in the digital world you use 10 for 1000
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:05 AM   #83
Markdude
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Default

When using the encoders to adjust plugin parameters, is it possible to somehow scroll through parameter "banks" (i.e. just like fader banks, but for parameters for a given channel). For instance, if I select a specific channel and put the encoder assignment mode to PLUG-IN, can I map more than 8 total parameters to the knobs by cycling through banks?
Markdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:24 AM   #84
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,476
Default

This should be possible using CSI. See the "Control surface" subforum.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 11:24 AM   #85
Carlos_ring
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Whats the actual thing with coloured displays on the xtouch? any news ? And why is using midi so choppy on the faders of the xtouch instead of using usb ?
Carlos_ring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.