Old 07-21-2019, 09:28 AM   #1
rickmmmmm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Indy
Posts: 5
Question Loop until triggered quirkiness

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Reaper. Not a sound engineer, just doing this for my band. I'm trying to setup click tracks, backing vocals, pads and other things.

I'm setting up a pattern to use for all songs that includes a click, a spoken song name and a vocal cue for in ears and then repeats a single measure of click until the drummer triggers the start of the song. That's where I run into trouble.

I've tried the actions (native and SWS):
- Go to Specific Region
- Go to Previous Region

But the only one I've had some success with is "Regions: Go to next region after current...(smooth seek)". However, I've found that I have to offset the marker well past the start of the measure to make it work (see screenshot). I'm afraid this will cause frustration for the drummer if he misses the window and has to hit again.

I may be missing some fundamental thing since I am a newby (I apologize if that's the case). Hopefully, that is the case.

This forum has been extremely helpful. It's nice to see such an active community.

Thanks for any help,
rickmmmmm
Attached Images
File Type: png loop issue.PNG (10.3 KB, 18 views)
rickmmmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 04:46 PM   #2
rickmmmmm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Indy
Posts: 5
Default con't

I've been working on this all day, trying different options. What I've found is very confusing. I can't get Marker Actions to work at all.

I am able to get actions to work based on MIDI input and using the keyboard shortcuts but none of the automation associated with markers seems to fire.

Is there a setting somewhere that disables using markers this way? I must be missing something simple.
rickmmmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 10:11 PM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,456
Default

wild shot:

Do you use the correct type of markers ?

-Michael (no experience in that behalf)
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 04:44 AM   #4
rickmmmmm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Indy
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the reply Michael. I do not know. Are there different ways to insert markers? That would be great to hear.
rickmmmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 06:46 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,456
Default

You might want to consult the Reaper guide.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 08:06 PM   #6
rickmmmmm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Indy
Posts: 5
Default Solved

Thanks to a reddit user I now know what it was.

Extensions->SWS Options->Enable Marker Options

I didn't expect that.

All good now, nothing to see, please move along.
rickmmmmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 10:03 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,456
Default

Great you got it working, and that you posted the solution here to allow for others to benefit from this.

Thanks,
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.