Old 07-21-2019, 02:18 PM   #1
cutnpaste
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 388
Default mixer question

is it possible to remove the mixer in a theme.
cutnpaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 02:22 PM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,343
Default

ctrl + M ?
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 01:44 AM   #3
cutnpaste
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 388
Default

Not exactly what I mean, what I mean is it possible to create a theme that has no mixer at all, just the track view. Is there a reason that is not a good idea.
cutnpaste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 03:19 AM   #4
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,413
Default

You can just hide it. No need to have to ever see it.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 04:32 AM   #5
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutnpaste View Post
Is there a reason that is not a good idea.
I am struggling to see any reason why it would be a good idea. What would making a new theme achieve that hiding the mixer wouldn't? Seems like a lot of work for no particular benefit.
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 12:20 PM   #6
kirk1701
Human being with feelings
 
kirk1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutnpaste View Post
Not exactly what I mean, what I mean is it possible to create a theme that has no mixer at all, just the track view. Is there a reason that is not a good idea.
I've been instructed to use the mixer panel for subgroup busses. All your individual tracks flow into the submix/subgroup busses. Also all your reverb/delay sends will appear here. The legendary Tod was good enough to show me the benefits of such a mix approach.

The workflow then: individual tracks >> SUB-INSTRUMENTS/SUB-DRUMS/SUB-VOX/REVERB >> SUB-MASTER FX (this is where your master limiter/comp/eq goes) >> SUB-MASTER >> MASTER >> REAPER Master buss.

The reason for the two extra sub-masters is to offset clipping. You will never clip your master buss with these redundancies in place. You can also clip individual tracks and even the odd subgroup without worry.

This sounds odd, but it's actually much closer to an analogue console workflow than you might imagine. I found my mixes ended up much tidier once I adopted this method.
__________________
"I've never trusted Klingons and I never will. I can never forgive them for the death of my boy."
kirk1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.