Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2017, 09:34 AM   #121
helgoboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 218
Default

Released ReaLearn 1.1.0

Changes:
#41 Added experimental support for MIDI feedback (supported sources: CC value, note velocity, pitch wheel, channel after touch, program change, polyphonic after touch ... (N)RPN currently not; supported modes: absolute, toggle; supported targets: all, limited support for actions)
#56 Added possibility to enable/disable each mapping (control and feedback can be enabled/disabled separately - this feature makes it possible to correctly handle devices that expect different kinds of MIDI messages for feedback than they send when moving a control)
#68 Added possibility to go to target (e.g. scroll to track, open FX, ...) via 'Go there' button in mapping window
#53 Added target 'Track arm'
#57 Added source 'Polyphonic after touch'
#64 Added possibility to learn action target (so you don't have to choose the action in the long dropdown menu; just invoke the action while having 'Learn target' enabled and it will be selected)
#65 Added target visualisation for on/off actions
#58 Fixed bug that caused control surfaces to not be notified when volume and pan was changed through ReaLearn
#62 Fixed REAPER UI lags when using target value visualisation in mapping dialog
#63 Fixed serious audio and UI lags when having many targets under load
#60 Fixed audio crackling when opening ReaLearn UI
#66 Fixed non-working send volume target learning and visualisation
#59 Fixed some possible crashes (e.g. when loading ReaLearn in inactive project tab, when deleting tracks used in ReaLearn, when removing FX used in ReaLearn)

... yes, you read correctly. MIDI feedback It's still in an experimental state and might slow some things down if you use many feedback mappings at once and have lots of feedback to send, but I used it already live for visual on/off feedback of the pads on Novation Launchpad and Akai APC Key 25 and it worked quite well.
helgoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:51 AM   #122
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,246
Default

Any youtube videos for the feedback? Thanks for all your great tools.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 10:51 AM   #123
helgoboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 218
Default

Sorry, I'm mostly too lazy to create videos. I hope it's self-explanatory: Create some mappings as usual, choose a MIDI feedback device and there you go. Of course works only with devices that can be controlled via MIDI (e.g. visual feedback on controllers like the Novation Launchpad, controllers with motorized faders etc.).
helgoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 01:15 PM   #124
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,389
Default

Hey there, probably because I'm using a higher DPI, but window is a bit cut off:
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 01:41 PM   #125
DeBased
Human being with feelings
 
DeBased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
Superb, thanks for continuing to support this @helgoboss.

I don't think I have anything that supports feedback right now, but this will come in super-handy eventually. And the CPU usage reductions might solve some problems I had recently on a live gig, I'll update when I've had time to try it out properly.
__________________
setup(x64): Reaper 5.x, Win10 Pro, Focusrite Clarett 4Pre/2Pre TB (via TB3->TB2 adapters), Intel i7-7700HQ @ 3.7Ghz (turbo), 32GB RAM.
DeBased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 02:28 PM   #126
DynamicK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 178
Default

Looks interesting helgoboss. Is this something like Control Link in Studio One? I map my X-Touch Compact knobs etc, and then I can use Realearn to control my EQs , Comps, reverbs etc?
DynamicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 03:14 PM   #127
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,147
Default

Thank you so much for the update!

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
Released ReaLearn 1.1.0
#64 Added possibility to learn action target (so you don't have to choose the action in the long dropdown menu; just invoke the action while having 'Learn target' enabled and it will be selected)
This doesn't work for custom actions and scripts.. Is it possible to make it work with them too?
If not, then you could do it the SWS Cycle Actions way: "Insert selected action (in the Actions window)"
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 04:36 PM   #128
mindbeet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 17
Default

Brilliant! Thank you so much, this was the only thing missing in Reaper for me to make it the ultimate DAW. Midi feedback, finally, Hurray! :-D

One small thing, if I have a controller mapped to a knob in a VSTi it all works perfectly. However if I change preset the feedback doesn't update until I click the GUI I think there is current state sent here that could be captured to reflect the current positions.

Last edited by mindbeet; 01-26-2018 at 02:19 AM.
mindbeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 02:14 AM   #129
MCCY
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 287
Default

MIDIIIIFEEEEDBACk!!!! YEAH!!!!!! Controlling Synths with Lemur over Android Tablet right now... with value feedback!!! THIS IS AMAZING!!!!
MCCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 06:55 PM   #130
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,389
Default

Very useful plugin now that I see how it works. Went back to normal DPI just to be able to use this.

One question: Is it possible to use this in a track template without needing a track to be armed? I use sws toolbar arm button to notify me when any tracks are armed, so having a track that always needs to be armed breaks that functionality. It also means the assignments stop working whenever I turn on auto-arm for all tracks.

In the getting started guide, it says "Add a track, arm it for recording (or at least enable input monitoring)" but I can only get it to work with the track armed. Monitoring doesn't seem to affect anything.

Thanks!
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 01-29-2018 at 07:04 PM.
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 09:27 PM   #131
Cableaddict
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,849
Default

I'm intrigued, but I really don't understand what the advantages are.

I tried to read through this whole thread, but my brain exploded. Nasty mess, all over the floor. Took me all day to clean it up.

So:
-------------------------

Can this map two parameters to one external control?

Can it toggle through a VSTi's presets?


- thx.
Cableaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 10:55 PM   #132
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cableaddict View Post
Can this map two parameters to one external control?
Yes
Can it toggle through a VSTi's presets?
You can already with SWS actions

- thx.
Another advantage is being able to learn track parameters like volume and pan for specific tracks. You can even send completely different messages for different ranges of a single control. Also, ReaLearn is itself a plugin, so you can store different mappings as presets.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 01-29-2018 at 11:15 PM.
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 09:46 AM   #133
theFRXST
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 62
Default

This plugin should just become native functionality in Reaper
__________________
thefrxst.com // theFRXST Reaper Theme
theFRXST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:06 PM   #134
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 81
Default

Hey, this looks awesome....what is it? I have literally read through the whole thread, I read through the website...I still don't understand how one can use it effectively. I have a VS700 console that is currently mapped via Klinke MCU. I also have an Axiom 61 keyboard, I only use as a keyboard but has lots of other functions. i'm relatively new to midi in terms of programming etc. I'm used to just pressing the buttons, haha.

Can anyone please describe what they do with this in terms of workflow and utilization ideas?

sorry for the ignorance!
dave
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 12:28 PM   #135
okarowarrior
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Hi helgo. First, thank you for this amazing piece of plugin!

Is there any way currently to hold a midi switch so it continuous do an action every thick?
I explain:
I have a nanoKontrol2 and i want the rewind button to... rewind. So if i hold it (midi value 127) Realearn should tell reaper to "move cursor 1 pixel left" every thick. And then when i realease it (0 velocity) it stops.

Thanks in advance
okarowarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:15 AM   #136
lalo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Hi! ReaLearn is a truly useful thing! I wonder if it can implement some sort of custom interpolation for received MIDI messages.
best!
a.
__________________
alfonso "lalo" santimone
www.soundcloud.com/alfonsosantimone
www.elgallorojorecords.com
lalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 05:46 AM   #137
grandfougue
Human being with feelings
 
grandfougue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 30
Default HELLO

hello I like this application but it is only spit my session reaper. can you help me please
my plugin is on NAITVE proces but allways crash
grandfougue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:41 AM   #138
mindbeet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 17
Default Reflect Preset Changes

If I change presets on a mapped plugin the feedback doesn't update until I re select the feedback device, click the GUI or disable/enable the mapping output. Is there a way to have this update instantly?

Cheers
Peter
mindbeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 07:07 AM   #139
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,725
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
For the developers among you: I'm planning to release the source code of ReaLearn later this year.
Great !
I think I one day will want to do a Reaper extension, and this seems to be a great example.
Any plans where and when you will release the source code ?
Thanks,
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 08:09 AM   #140
dinoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Default Mappings File?

This plugin is really great
Duplicating mappings and editing them later really helps a lot.
Right now I need to map more than 70 parameters in one synth plugin to sliders in touchosc (android midi controller app) and it gets quite a huge task.
Does ReaLearn have a File for the configured mappings? If so I could do repetitive tasks and slight changes even faster.

Cheers
dinoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 12:03 PM   #141
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,657
Default Crash

Hi Helgoboss,

I found a reproductible crash in v1.1.0



If you have a track send ID as target, but you switch Track to Master (instead of Current) it will crash (as master don't have send track). Switching to master should reset the track send.

Thanks !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 03:21 AM   #142
Kaitain
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Default Sysex

Hello

One quick question: have you plans to add SysEx copatibility?

Take care!

Alvaro
Kaitain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 06:31 AM   #143
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 214
Default

This is amazing work helgoboss.
Donated.
Thank you for the continual development
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 08:29 AM   #144
amundsen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 70
Default

This is a very nice plug-in.

However there is a small issue: I am trying to trigger an action but the dropdown menu contains so many actions (more than 55000) that it seems impossible to find the one I am looking for.

So may I suggest to include a small filter such as the one from the Actions List window?
amundsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 08:32 AM   #145
amundsen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 70
Default

OK, I solved the issue using the learn function, Great!
amundsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 01:21 PM   #146
DynamicK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 178
Default

Can anyone confirm this setup?
In order to control the parameters of say Softube Tape and Drawmer S73 on a track, would I need to have an instance of ReaLearn for each of them ( 2 ReaLearn plugins) ?
DynamicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 10:04 PM   #147
LowlyOP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
Hey, I've taught myself some pretty neat tricks using this VST to get LED feedback (mostly) mappable. It's very useful as is, and has potential (I think) to open up an already highly-customizable DAW as Reaper.

Which leads me to ask - and I do understand you are likely most focused on Playtime, but - what is the current status and/or future dev for ReaLearn? Can we expect any updates in the relative short-term (few months maybe)?

Great work helgoboss, and thank you
LowlyOP
LowlyOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 04:07 AM   #148
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 46
Default

This is pretty great!

I was surprised however that in one respect I have less options than the native Reaper midi learn. That is to have the target be a plugin parameter on a selected track and not have to have focus.

(Correct me if I'm wrong please)

How I have things set up natively is each track has a custom channel strip of a few plugins. I select the track and use the LB FX Positioner to pop them all up neatly on my screen and then they are all mapped to my midi twister. They do not have to have focus since I can just have it work when the track is selected.

If this can happen with ReaLearn I would definitely dig into it more because there are some really cool features. I.e. the flexibility and midi feedback
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 10:38 PM   #149
LowlyOP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjewellstudios View Post
This is pretty great!

I was surprised however that in one respect I have less options than the native Reaper midi learn. That is to have the target be a plugin parameter on a selected track and not have to have focus.

(Correct me if I'm wrong please)
I'm not inside Reaper atm but iirc you can control your plugins the same way Reaper allows (without focus). I'll try this later on and post back. Fwiw my use is mostly in controlling hardware feedback, with input disabled. But the time's I used it for both i/o, I don't recall target vst's needing focus.
LowlyOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 08:29 PM   #150
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowlyOP View Post
I'm not inside Reaper atm but iirc you can control your plugins the same way Reaper allows (without focus). I'll try this later on and post back. Fwiw my use is mostly in controlling hardware feedback, with input disabled. But the time's I used it for both i/o, I don't recall target vst's needing focus.
I haven't reatried this (see what I did there? haha) but I do believe you are right. You don't have to have focus. The problem I have though is I don't think you can have it target the selected track. So if you have multiple instances of a plugin across multiple tracks (like me, using the same few plugins on most tracks to mix) then you kind of have to have focus with realearn. As far as I understand it anyways. Thanks for your reply. Hopefully you can point out something obvious I missed!
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 11:27 AM   #151
Audbol
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default

I might be missing something but how do I get ReaLearn to target the selected track and not just select specific tracks
Audbol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:51 PM   #152
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audbol View Post
I might be missing something but how do I get ReaLearn to target the selected track and not just select specific tracks
Use the built in Learn system for that. There are many actions to target selected track. Targeting specific tracks is something Reaper can't do natively (except by track number, which is subject to change), which is one reason this new system is a useful addition.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:30 PM   #153
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Use the built in Learn system for that. There are many actions to target selected track. Targeting specific tracks is something Reaper can't do natively (except by track number, which is subject to change), which is one reason this new system is a useful addition.
I agree. However the experimental midi feedback is absolutely incredible on my midi twister! So the "workaround" at this point is to put realearn as the first fx slot on every track in my template.

This works unbelievably well but there have been crashes that I haven't been able to pin down enough to say anything. I assume it would crash alot less if there were just one instance of realearn that housed all the mappings. Or even just a couple that i could activate/deactivate.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:50 PM   #154
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjewellstudios View Post
So the "workaround" at this point is to put realearn as the first fx slot on every track in my template.
I didn't know about the MIDI feedback feature, but I guess I'm already using OSC for that. As far as your workaround, are you sure you need more than one relearn plugin in a project? I only need to put one on a hidden track in my default template, but my use-case is limited to adjusting volume of tracks by name. It doesn't seem to care what track it's actually sitting on.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.