Old 12-02-2017, 01:47 AM   #1
geoslake
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 372
Default Key toggle monitoring fx

Hi guys, I have my F key assigned to "show monitoring fx". It's fine, but to get rid of this window I have to focus it if I clicked on something else in the meantime, then press esc.
I'd like my F key to always toggle mfx on/off (except when I'm typing a name or something of course), is that possible?
I would have created the action but I would need a "close mfx action" I guess, and there's no such thing afaik.

Thanks
geoslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 05:54 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,681
Default

+1, especially as there is already a "Toggle Bypass for Monitoring FX".
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:08 AM   #3
fundorin
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
+1, especially as there is already a "Toggle Bypass for Monitoring FX".
In fact, the very same behavior happens with all windows, like media browser or midi editor. Hotkey can't toggle windows. Only open them.
fundorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:26 AM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Quote:
In fact, the very same behavior happens with all windows, like media browser or midi editor. Hotkey can't toggle windows. Only open them.

Actually you can, but the focus needs to be the arrangement, which is counter productive. Only ESC works in that case.
So +1 from me as well.
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:54 AM   #5
Bri1
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,432
Default

High-- Try-- 41884 and set that to a midi key note-- something like_ midi chnl16 Note#60
Focus does not matter. =)
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 10:16 AM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,596
Default

Code:
// toggle monitor fx window.eel

mt = GetMastertrack(0);
TrackFX_GetRecChainVisible(mt) == (-1) ? (
  Main_OnCommand(41882, 0); // show
):(
  TrackFX_Show(mt, 0x1000000, 0); // hide
);

function noundo() (abs(0));
defer("noundo()");
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 10:53 AM   #7
geoslake
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 372
Default

Thank you very very much for trying EpicSound !!
But your script doesnt close the mfx chain when its focused
Anyway to close it whatever is focused ?
(otherwise its annoying to me as the key i have to press to close the chain varies...)
geoslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 02:36 PM   #8
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Shortcuts that contain ALT or CONTROL will pass through the FX windows, if they are not already being used for something else there, like CONTROL+S for example. So ALT+F would work, but not unmodified F. At least that's how it works here on Windows 7 x64.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 10:25 PM   #9
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

True, modifier keys pass thru. I would welcome it, if we had the possibility to decide, if a shortcut is a global shortcut.
I use the transport controls very often, while having the FX window open, however, I cannot use it, because the keys aren't passed thru.
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 03:37 PM   #10
cymbals
Human being with feelings
 
cymbals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
Shortcuts that contain ALT or CONTROL will pass through the FX windows, if they are not already being used for something else there, like CONTROL+S for example. So ALT+F would work, but not unmodified F. At least that's how it works here on Windows 7 x64.
Cool, I can use Alt-Home for transport purposes when plugins are open. Thanks!!
cymbals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 04:32 PM   #11
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

You're welcome. Maybe not the ultimate solution, but good to know. Applies to MIDI Editor and Media Explorer, maybe some other windows too.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.