Old 11-02-2016, 05:59 AM   #1
spec24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Default MIDI clock from Reaper to external synths

Alright, so this is a new issue that I never used to have. All my external hardware is set to external midi clock, as they have always been. Problem is, now, that whatever Reaper is sending for clock data seems to be multitudes faster than what it should be. Even if I set the Tempo of the track down to 60bpm, when my external synths play arps they sound somewhere in the realm of 200bpm or so (or higher). Like I said, this is a new issue. Never had the problem before. Anyone else experiencing this or know what might be causing it? All midi devices in Reaper are set to receive clock data.
spec24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 08:19 AM   #2
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

the MIDI Clock from REAPER is absolute 100% accurate!

Maybe your Playback-rate is not at 1.0 ?
Four or whatever times faster/slower?
So at the end your BPM vs the Playback Rate/MIDI Clock itself would of course not match/reflect the BPM at transport


little Example:
you set the BPM to 60 but has a Playback rate of 4.0 instead of 1.0
This would of course result in a MIDI Clock and Playback-rate of 240
but at REAPERs transport you would see only 60 BPM as the Tempo

EDIT:
for a better understanding
One little example Lice

__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 11-02-2016 at 08:37 AM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 02:10 PM   #3
spec24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks ELP, you gave me some hope there for a second, but alas, playback rate is 1.0.
spec24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 03:02 PM   #4
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

Maybe something like merged Clock events from different Sources is involved?

As I said the Clock events from REAPER itself can´t really be the problem.
These are/the timing is 100% ok. Also if I let measure the received clock pulse/rate from REAPER via external clock device. Absolute stable and correct
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 02:11 AM   #5
steki
Human being with feelings
 
steki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 75
Default

Clock is 100% accurate??? NO not in loop mode.
And of course, a problem since years here in different threads.
__________________
Audiolabor Label
Mastering
steki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 12:51 PM   #6
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP View Post
Maybe something like merged Clock events from different Sources is involved?

As I said the Clock events from REAPER itself can´t really be the problem.
These are/the timing is 100% ok. Also if I let measure the received clock pulse/rate from REAPER via external clock device. Absolute stable and correct
Hi

This is what I'm betting it is...2 midi clocks...or something receiving then thru putting back. Its the dbl rate that gives it away. I could be wrong.:-)

Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to all!
LugNut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 10:28 AM   #7
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

@LugNut yes I think this is/was his problem
--

yes believe me @steki REAPERs MIDI event time position & jitter -since this last great optimizings- is more than only accurate. No matter if it is in loop or not.

REAPER has the most accurate MIDI Event & Jitter free MIDI timing you can get from a DAW!
Simplified meaning you can´t buy other Daws, on planet earth,
which give you better event time position/jitter free results.

And this refers to the real MIDI out world and of course also over/for the plugin bus.

REAPER beats them all!!

stable Clock event position/jitter 16 up to 39!! times better....
MIDI events/playback position/jitter 2 up 8 times better than others XYZ DAWs vs REAPERs output

The output from others compared to REAPERs output looks,
in simple words, more than an unwanted builtin humanize.
Of course measured within a +- time/jitter event to next event to next event .... from reference in a microticks|microseconds range.

By the way this is not something that I simply times so claim,
this is already easy for everyone with the simplest Resources/way demonstrable.

If I were the programmer, I would let me have these last MIDI output code optimizations patented.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 12:21 PM   #8
steki
Human being with feelings
 
steki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 75
Default

I referring to this current thread ELP.
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...ght=Midi+clock
Feel free to check that too.
__________________
Audiolabor Label
Mastering

Last edited by steki; 12-18-2016 at 12:31 PM.
steki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:11 PM   #9
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

Are you speaking about Midi Clock events
(24 Clock events (0xf8) per quarter Note- from which the receiver can calculate the current Tempo) together with Start/Stop/Cont. (All events are single byte realtime which can interrupt other event messages)
and maybe also including (S)ong (P)ositions (P)ointers?

or

are you speaking about (M)idi(T)ime(C)ode "SysEx" events?,
which do not include tempo..
MTC "de facto a set of different SysEx events" is time-base;
MIDI clock is in fact tempo base

Both are two complete different pair of MIDI shows
(MIDI Clock + his extensions vs MTC)
Both should normally not mixed together over one port.. Especially prevent mixing MTC together with Song Position Pointers.

--
There is really nothing to speak about REAPERs raw event Time Positions&Jitter to output. Hardware & Plugin bus
within this category REAPER is clearly the No 1
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 12-18-2016 at 01:25 PM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:21 PM   #10
steki
Human being with feelings
 
steki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 75
Default

pls, take a look into the thread, we talk about the pure clock going to hardware, when a loop is set during playback
__________________
Audiolabor Label
Mastering
steki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:30 PM   #11
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

I had a look into that thread that´s why I ask if Clock or MTC is meaning....

"from this thread... a few words.
...Midi Clock from Reaper...... other words: and the transport set to loop, when i first hit play it sends a mtc sync play command to my midi devices ....."
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 02:15 PM   #12
steki
Human being with feelings
 
steki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 75
Default

You mean external timecode sync, where you can set to MTC or SPP?
its off.
__________________
Audiolabor Label
Mastering
steki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:26 AM   #13
moonand6
Human being with feelings
 
moonand6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
Default Same problem

I am having the same problem @spec24 described at the beginning of this thread. The problem didn't seem to be resolved by the discussion that followed.

Everything was working perfectly until I hooked up a Roland JP8080. After I enable MIDI in and out for the JP8080, REAPER sends very fast bpm data to my other external synths (for arpeggiators, LFOs, etc). Even if the JP8080 is not connected, and I start a new project, the problem persists.

I tried replicating the problem with a portable install. The portable install worked perfectly (sent correct bpm to my external synths), until I enabled the input and output for the port connected to the JP8080. Again, after starting new projects in the portable install, the problem persists (even when the JP8080 is disconnected).

Does anybody have any ideas on what's been messed up here, or how to fix it?
moonand6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:29 AM   #14
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,476
Default

In Properties, go to Audio->MIDI Devices, and uncheck sending clock from MIDI outs you don't want to send clock to.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:41 AM   #15
moonand6
Human being with feelings
 
moonand6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
Default

The problem isn't sending clock info... it's sending the wrong clock info.

I want to sync the arpeggiators on my MicroKORG and Virus (so I am sending Clock to them), but as soon as I engage the transport in REAPER they go completely out of sync (like really, really fast).

This problem only started after connecting the JP8080. I thought disconnecting it would fix the problem, but it didn't. I've restarted my entire set up, and the problem persists.

Again, this doesn't happen with a fresh portable install, so I'm sure the problem is in REAPER somewhere!
moonand6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 03:48 PM   #16
moonand6
Human being with feelings
 
moonand6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
Default A few more details...

MIDI notes are being sent out in time. If I speed up (or slow down) the tempo the note data follows along accordingly. But the clock data is always way too fast - arpeggiators and LFOs are NOT in time at all with the tempo.

Also, I tried a portable install again and everything works as expected. However, this time I imported my configuration file from the 'problem' version rather than hooking up my suspect synth. Now the portable install now has the same MIDI clock problem. I did this in stages, and the problem shows up after importing the 'Configuration' (the first option in the left hand column) option. I imported all other data from the config file, and the problem didn't show up.

I would really like to know if anyone else has experienced this problem, and what they have done to fix it. Thanks!
moonand6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 08:17 AM   #17
DOMLIP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Default

I am having a similar issue but only with my Emagic MT4. My M-audio unit doesn't have the issue. The clock being sent to my synths ( tried more than one) is far quicker than the tempo. I have tried different settings to no avail. I am about to buy a newer midi interface and then see this. The M-audio is only 1x1.

It is strange since it also seems to waver as well. Like speeds up and slows down.

More observations: the beat indicator light flickers on the Fantom with the MT4 but not the M-audio. On the M-audio the light follows the beat.

I am using a Mac Pro.
DOMLIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 10:19 AM   #18
Phfraiengngchkxzcs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Default

Same here. Virus B getting a clock that seems about 4x's faster than tempo.
Phfraiengngchkxzcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.