Old 07-08-2017, 01:22 PM   #1
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default Video With Multiple Audio Tracks

Is there a way to "explode" a video with multiple-audio tracks to multiple tracks in Reaper? Thanks.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 01:47 AM   #2
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 496
Default

have you tried ?

multitrack audio can be exploded
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 04:36 AM   #3
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
have you tried ?

multitrack audio can be exploded
I haven't seen that option. Could you tell me where it is?

I just re-read what you put, from what I understand the explode action splits channels not tracks but I'll try it again and see if I did something wrong.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/

Last edited by reddiesel41264; 07-09-2017 at 11:29 AM.
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 11:33 AM   #4
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
have you tried ?

multitrack audio can be exploded
I just tried this and it only splits multi-channel audio, like stereo, into mono tracks. I need to extract multiple (2) audio tracks from my video into individual stereo tracks - or even if I could just select which audio track the video uses it would be a start.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 01:27 PM   #5
Fran Guidry
Human being with feelings
 
Fran Guidry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
I just tried this and it only splits multi-channel audio, like stereo, into mono tracks. I need to extract multiple (2) audio tracks from my video into individual stereo tracks - or even if I could just select which audio track the video uses it would be a start.
Help us understand the difference between channels and tracks, please.

Fran
Fran Guidry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 01:35 PM   #6
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fran Guidry View Post
Help us understand the difference between channels and tracks, please.

Fran
Well channels are mono, stereo, 5.1 etc. Tracks are.. well tracks, like you might have a track in English, or German, or just a music track, and then a track with vocals. In my case I have some screen captured video with a narration track from a microphone and then an audio track from the software being screen captured.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 01:45 PM   #7
Fran Guidry
Human being with feelings
 
Fran Guidry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 767
Default

I downloaded a 5.1 Surround Test File from here: https://archive.org/details/5.1Surro...ACAC3MP4DTSWAV

Loaded it into REAPER and ran the Explode action. My result was 6 mono audio tracks in a folder structure under the original video track.

If I wanted to choose two of them to convert to a single stereo track it would be very easy to do.

Fran
Fran Guidry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 01:48 PM   #8
Fran Guidry
Human being with feelings
 
Fran Guidry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
Well channels are mono, stereo, 5.1 etc. Tracks are.. well tracks, like you might have a track in English, or German, or just a music track, and then a track with vocals. In my case I have some screen captured video with a narration track from a microphone and then an audio track from the software being screen captured.
Are these "tracks" already mixed into a single track? If they have been mixed there's no unmixing, right?

What does mediainfo https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download say about your clip?

Fran
Fran Guidry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 02:04 PM   #9
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fran Guidry View Post
Are these "tracks" already mixed into a single track? If they have been mixed there's no unmixing, right?

What does mediainfo https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download say about your clip?

Fran
The tracks are separate. I discovered I can open the video in Audacity and export each audio track as a separate wav, so this kind of solves my problem but I wonder why I can't do this as easily in Reaper.

This is the output from mediainfo https://stash.reaper.fm/31108/Capture.PNG
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 02:43 PM   #10
Fran Guidry
Human being with feelings
 
Fran Guidry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 767
Default

What was the result when you tried the Explode action in REAPER?

Fran
Fran Guidry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 02:53 PM   #11
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fran Guidry View Post
What was the result when you tried the Explode action in REAPER?

Fran
It just explodes the first audio track to two mono tracks, it ignores the second track entirely.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:13 PM   #12
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
It just explodes the first audio track to two mono tracks, it ignores the second track entirely.
David, when you look at the video track, what do you see? If the video has 2 stereo tracks, you see 4 separate channels?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:23 PM   #13
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
David, when you look at the video track, what do you see? If the video has 2 stereo tracks, you see 4 separate channels?
It just shows 1 stereo track
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:39 PM   #14
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
It just shows 1 stereo track
Aah, okay, that's good to know. I think for the most part it's very unusual for a video to have more than 2 channels, except a video with surround, and I've never had or worked with one of those, so I wouldn't know what to look for.

Good luck with it and hope you get it taken care of.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:43 PM   #15
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Aah, okay, that's good to know. I think for the most part it's very unusual for a video to have more than 2 channels, except a video with surround, and I've never had or worked with one of those, so I wouldn't know what to look for.

Good luck with it and hope you get it taken care of.
Not so unusual with screen captured software tutorials or multi-language videos
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 02:23 AM   #16
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,007
Default

Ah, multiple audio streams in one video file. Now we're talking.

Yeah, it's possible. In Reaper you can deal only with the first audio stream.

In my example I'll use TEncoder (free video/audio conversion software based on FFMPEG and MEncoder).

Be aware that you can do all this with the commandline version of FFMPEG as well. You simply need to know how, and there are likely places that can show you that. In fact, that'll be faster if you deal with a lot of this.

Toss your video file in to TENcoder. Click on the entry in the TENcoder window.

You'll get an audio track dropdown menu with whatever is inside the video file. Pick one. You can only pick one per entry in the file list, but you can add the same file multiple times.

To export just the audio, choose "None" in the Video Codec dropdown in the bottom left of the window. Then choose "Flac" or perhaos WAV. You need to test what works better for you.

Click on the "VIdeo and Audio options" button to set the sample rate and channel count of the resulting file. "Same as source" is the safe option.

That's it.

This is not the only program of course. Perhaps some folks can recommend others.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 02:32 AM   #17
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,007
Default

One more thing.

You can demux your audio tracks in to separate files as well, and then decode those to WAV with anything that can play them.

YAMB, a frontend for MP4box is a free frontend that lets you do this for MP4 files. The result would be MP4 files that are just audio, and thus AAC audio.

You can use those in the timeline of Reaper, or decode them to WAV,Flac or Wavpack with something like Foobar2000.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 03:18 AM   #18
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Ah, multiple audio streams in one video file. Now we're talking.

Yeah, it's possible. In Reaper you can deal only with the first audio stream.

In my example I'll use TEncoder (free video/audio conversion software based on FFMPEG and MEncoder).

Be aware that you can do all this with the commandline version of FFMPEG as well. You simply need to know how, and there are likely places that can show you that. In fact, that'll be faster if you deal with a lot of this.

Toss your video file in to TENcoder. Click on the entry in the TENcoder window.

You'll get an audio track dropdown menu with whatever is inside the video file. Pick one. You can only pick one per entry in the file list, but you can add the same file multiple times.

To export just the audio, choose "None" in the Video Codec dropdown in the bottom left of the window. Then choose "Flac" or perhaos WAV. You need to test what works better for you.

Click on the "VIdeo and Audio options" button to set the sample rate and channel count of the resulting file. "Same as source" is the safe option.

That's it.

This is not the only program of course. Perhaps some folks can recommend others.
Thanks I'll check out TEncoder!
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 04:51 AM   #19
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Yeah, it's possible. In Reaper you can deal only with the first audio stream.
not quite right
i suppose it depends on the codec
loading this
https://archive.org/download/5.1Surr...AAC%20Test.mp4
into reaper will show all 65 audiotracks
and it can be exploded to 6 separate mono audiotracks in reaper

win64
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 05:59 AM   #20
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
not quite right
i suppose it depends on the codec
loading this
https://archive.org/download/5.1Surr...AAC%20Test.mp4
into reaper will show all 65 audiotracks
and it can be exploded to 6 separate mono audiotracks in reaper

win64
I hope that's a typo and you mean 6 audio tracks

Anyway those aren't tracks those are channels. Like I explained earlier channels are, for example, mono, stereo, 5.1. You could have 5 stereo tracks in a video + 5 mono tracks + 5 5.1 tracks. You would then select the audio stream you want to hear in your video player when you play it back. The most common experience people have with this is when choosing a different mix - so if you've only got stereo speakers you'd have the stereo track, if you have surround speakers you'd choose the 5.1 track, or when selecting a different language track, when you get a DVD you can usually select to play back in a number of languages, each one is a separate track (in the case of a DVD it's a bit different to having all of the tracks embedded in an MP4 file but the effect is the same, each track is separate and can have a different number of channels).

Another way of thinking about it is tracks in Reaper. Your Reaper project can have multiple tracks of audio, each one can have a different channel configuration, well the same is true of some video files.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 09:58 AM   #21
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 496
Default

ok then. i'm happy with my 65 tracks

never read channel in thread title or first post ..
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 10:11 AM   #22
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
never read channel in thread title or first post ..
That's because this thread has nothing to do with channels, I'm interested in tracks
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 02:20 PM   #23
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 12,299
Default

This is nutty that VLC can see it fine, but reaper using the vlc codec can't. Yamb doesnt seem to split the files right either, gonna try tencoder
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.