Old 08-14-2019, 11:33 AM   #241
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Hi again solger!

I found another strange thing:

In my Project Templates tab the list shows each template twice.
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 12:04 PM   #242
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tompad View Post
However when I installed it on my main computer (W10, Reaper 5.981, 64 bit)
I cant get the preview - Lokasenna GUI is installed, js_ReaScriptAPI likewise (with ReaPack),and I have a "projectname".mp3 (not real name) in my project folder.

No error message in bottom of ReaLauncher window - it says AUDIO PREVIEW: "projectname".mp3.
....
What audio output is ReaLauncher using?
Hi,

it's using the audio device set up in Reaper.
What Audio system/driver do you have currently selected in Reaper's audio preferences?


Quote:
I found another strange thing:
In my Project Templates tab the list shows each template twice.
  • Does this happen on Linux or Windows? Or on both?
  • And how do the file paths of these files look like, exactly?
  • Are there perhaps any (duplicate) template files in subfolders?
  • Do you also have currently an additional custom project template folder set up in the ReaLauncher Options (in this case: what's the path used there)?


As a side note: I'm currently working on optimizing the folder/file reading code for the next update ...
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 08-14-2019 at 12:11 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:59 PM   #243
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Hi,

it's using the audio device set up in Reaper.
What Audio system/driver do you have currently selected in Reaper's audio preferences?
I use ASIO Hammerfall DSP.


Quote:
  • Does this happen on Linux or Windows? Or on both?
  • And how do the file paths of these files look like, exactly?
  • Are there perhaps any (duplicate) template files in subfolders?
  • Do you also have currently an additional custom project template folder set up in the ReaLauncher Options (in this case: what's the path used there)?
  • On Windows (dont have the same setup on Linux)
  • They are identical(C:\Users\myname\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\P rojectTemplates)
  • Nope - just rpp-bak files, but not for every template
  • Ahaaaaaaa - I had the path to Reapers ProjectTemplates there - removed it and now there are no more duplicates! Strange - I have the path to TrackTemplates in Options also, but that list dont have duplicates.

Quote:
As a side note: I'm currently working on optimizing the folder/file reading code for the next update ...
Ok, looking forward to next update :-)
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 01:36 AM   #244
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tompad View Post
I use ASIO Hammerfall DSP.
Strange. Works here with using the ASIO drivers of my audio interface, so not sure why it's not working (assuming the output routing in Reaper is working fine in general).

Just for testing purposes:
  • Does it work using a different Audio System like WASAPI?
  • Does it make any difference when temporarily switching to a different Audio System. And then back to ASIO (and re-selecting the Hammerfall)?

Quote:
...
Ahaaaaaaa - I had the path to Reapers ProjectTemplates there - removed it and now there are no more duplicates! Strange - I have the path to TrackTemplates in Options also, but that list dont have duplicates.
Thanks for the info.

It's probably related to the handling of the different file extensions for project and track templates (.RPP/.RPP-BAK vs .RTrackTemplate) in the ReaLauncher code.
But I'll have to test this and see if I can replicate this behavior in order to know more.


As a general side note:

The default Project and Track Template folder locations ('..\REAPER\ProjectTemplates' and '..\REAPER\TrackTemplates') are already used by default. So it's not necessary to add these folders in the ReaLauncher options, as well.
The template folder paths in the ReaLauncher options are intended for adding an additional template folder (if you have one in a different location than the default one).
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 08-15-2019 at 02:04 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 06:10 AM   #245
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Strange. Works here with using the ASIO drivers of my audio interface, so not sure why it's not working (assuming the output routing in Reaper is working fine in general).
Working fine in general. Is the sound going thru Master in Reaper?
Quote:
  • Does it work using a different Audio System like WASAPI?
Not with WASAPI, but with WAVEOUT (Microsoft Soundmapper) - no other (Directsound etc)

Quote:
  • Does it make any difference when temporarily switching to a different Audio System. And then back to ASIO (and re-selecting the Hammerfall)?
Nope.

Quote:
Thanks for the info.

It's probably related to the handling of the different file extensions for project and track templates (.RPP/.RPP-BAK vs .RTrackTemplate) in the ReaLauncher code.
But I'll have to test this and see if I can replicate this behavior in order to know more.
OK.

Quote:
As a general side note:

The default Project and Track Template folder locations ('..\REAPER\ProjectTemplates' and '..\REAPER\TrackTemplates') are already used by default. So it's not necessary to add these folders in the ReaLauncher options, as well.
The template folder paths in the ReaLauncher options are intended for adding an additional template folder (if you have one in a different location than the default one).
I am not 100% sure, but I think I filled the paths in Options because I didn't see lists in tabs.
I have now removed the paths for Project and Track Templates and the lists is showing all things right.
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 07:22 AM   #246
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Solger I found out what the problem is!!

ReaLauncher sends audio preview to ADAT 1/2, not to the output I use
for Master output (ADAT 7/8).

Is it possible to send audio preview to Master output and let the
user choose which ADAT out to use in Master?? It would be very,very
helpful because rearranging my cables and changing output selection
on Master in all the projects I have is... A BIT...timeconsuming. ;-)
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 01:40 PM   #247
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tompad View Post
Solger I found out what the problem is!!

ReaLauncher sends audio preview to ADAT 1/2, not to the output I use
for Master output (ADAT 7/8).

Is it possible to send audio preview to Master output and let the
user choose which ADAT out to use in Master?? It would be very,very
helpful because rearranging my cables and changing output selection
on Master in all the projects I have is... A BIT...timeconsuming. ;-)
Ah, OK. I didn't think about that since I'm usually using outputs 1/2 here

I had a quick look and it seems like that the first output pair of the output range in Reaper's audio preferences is used for the playback.
Since the core function for handling the audio preview playback is from the Js_ReaScriptAPI, I'm not exactly sure if there's something I can do on my end. But I'll investigate this further.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 07:30 AM   #248
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

A new version is out!
Quote:
version 1.6
+ [Project Templates]: Code update for using the new 'project template loading' API function prefix introduced with Reaper v5.983
+ Audio Preview: The volume knob now indicates if a preview file is available for the selected list entry by changing its color to silver
+ General: Improved code for reading files from folders - no more command window pop ups
+ General: Added first implementation for subfolder listing and selection
+ General: Automatic load and refresh of list entries is now only done for the focused tab (instead of loading the lists for all tabs simultaneously)
+ Key inputs: Adjustment for list scrolling behavior

Additional notes:
Quote:
[Project Templates]: Code update for using the new 'project template loading' API function prefix introduced with Reaper v5.983
Making use of the new project template loading function requires Reaper v5.983.
Running ReaLauncher on older Reaper versions (lower than 5.983) will have the old project template loading behavior (which shows the Save as dialog after loading a project template).
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 07:41 AM   #249
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
I had a quick look and it seems like that the first output pair of the output range in Reaper's audio preferences is used for the playback.
Since the core function for handling the audio preview playback is from the Js_ReaScriptAPI, I'm not exactly sure if there's something I can do on my end. But I'll investigate this further.
Quick update on this:

I contacted Xenakios about this and he was so kind to add the ability to change the hardware output index for the preview source.
Not sure how long it will take until Julian releases a new JS_ReaScriptAPI version which includes this update. But I hope it's soon.
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 08-31-2019 at 12:01 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 01:07 PM   #250
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Quick update on this:

I contacted Xenakios about this and he was so kind to add the ability to change the hardware output index for the preview source.
Not sure how long it will take until Julian releases a new JS_ReaScriptAPI version which includes this update. But I hope it's soon.
Great! Looking forward!

Nice work with the update - like the no-terminal loading.
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 02:49 PM   #251
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,103
Default

Quote:
+ Audio Preview: The volume knob now indicates if a preview file is available for the selected list entry by changing its color to silver
very useful!!!

everything is just awesome
thank you <3
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 09:58 PM   #252
Skorobagatko
Human being with feelings
 
Skorobagatko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 95
Default

Now it loads so fast, thanks for this! 👏
Skorobagatko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 09:06 AM   #253
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Quick update on this:

I contacted Xenakios about this and he was so kind to add the ability to change the hardware output index for the preview source.
Not sure how long it will take until Julian releases a new JS_ReaScriptAPI version which includes this update. But I hope it's soon.
Any news? I saw that the API was updated in ReaPack... :-)
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 10:16 AM   #254
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tompad View Post
Any news? I saw that the API was updated in ReaPack... :-)
Yeah, I just uploaded an update to ReaPack and it's currently in the Pull request stage. Should hopefully be available soon
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 10:43 AM   #255
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

... and it's available now
Quote:
version 1.6.1
+ Audio Preview: Output channel selection box added to [Options] tab (support was introduced with js_ReaScriptAPI 0.991)
+ General: Minor code update for the [Show in Explorer/Finder] and [Forum thread] button functions (using reaper.CF_ShellExecute of the SWS Extensions if those are installed)
+ General: Error message for missing Lokasenna GUI library adjusted to the one updated in Lokasenna GUI Library v2.16.8
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 10:58 AM   #256
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 357
Default

Just got this error when closing latest
Quote:
...eaTeam Scripts\Project Properties\solger_ReaLauncher.lua:3116: bad argument #3 to 'SetExtState' (string expected, got nil)
__________________
TJA MIDI JSFX | REAPER-OSC-panels | erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:01 AM   #257
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
Just got this error when closing latest
Thanks for the info.

If you haven't already, go to the Options Tab in ReaLauncher and try to (re-)select the preview channel at the top right.


EDIT: A bugfix should be up soon. For now, (re-) selecting the channel once in the Options should do the trick
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 09-10-2019 at 11:47 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:14 AM   #258
tompad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fjugesta, Sweden
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
... and it's available now
Holy cow! You are fast! ;-)
Its working well!
Thanks!
__________________
ToDoList Obliques MusicMath Donation Mark4celeste Frid i ditt hjärta Eve & the Fisherman on Spotify
tompad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 11:40 AM   #259
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tompad View Post
...
Its working well!
Thanks!
Great
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:14 AM   #260
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
...eaTeam Scripts\Project Properties\solger_ReaLauncher.lua:3116: bad argument #3 to 'SetExtState' (string expected, got nil)
Version 1.6.2 with a bugfix for this error is available.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 11:49 AM   #261
istominmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Default Change color

Hi! How change color of the menu? From green to (example) blue text? Its possible?) And make more size of text?
istominmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 01:08 AM   #262
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,103
Default

hey solger

Can you add option to preview audio for track templates (just like for projects) ?
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:12 AM   #263
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
hey solger

Can you add option to preview audio for track templates (just like for projects) ?
Hey,

the audio preview should already work for all tabs - if the audio file has the same name as the template or project file. Like, for instance: Synth.RTrackTemplate -> Synth.wav, Synth.mp3, ...

Or are you refering to something more specific in this case?
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 09-17-2019 at 08:49 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:17 AM   #264
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by istominmusic View Post
Hi! How change color of the menu? From green to (example) blue text? Its possible?) And make more size of text?
Not in the current version. But adding options to adjust the colors and text size is planned for one of the next ReaLauncher updates.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 10:59 AM   #265
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,103
Default

playing audio doesn't work for me lately

now I got an error:
'reaper.Xen_StartSourcePreview': expected 3 arguments maximum
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:18 AM   #266
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Hey,

the audio preview should already work for all tabs - if the audio file has the same name as the template or project file. Like, for instance: Synth.RTrackTemplate -> Synth.wav, Synth.mp3, ...

Or are you refering to something more specific in this case?

exactly what I did
Still nothing
just donloaded the latest version from reapack and still nothing (no silver) for track templates and nothing happens with double click.

and still when I'm trying to play preview for projects realauncher it gives an error.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 07:42 AM   #267
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
playing audio doesn't work for me lately

now I got an error:
'reaper.Xen_StartSourcePreview': expected 3 arguments maximum
First thing which comes into mind: is the latest js_ReaScriptAPI version 0.991 installed? Or does reinstalling it make any difference?
Because 'expected 3 arguments maximum' sounds to me as if perhaps an older js_ReaScriptAPI version is installed or used somehow - since the update in 0.991 added the fourth argument for the output channel to the reaper.Xen_StartSourcePreview function.


EDIT: I just did some testing and, as initially suspected, I can reproduce the same error here with an older js_ReaScriptAPI version (0.990) installed.


Quote:
... just donloaded the latest version from reapack and still nothing (no silver) for track templates and nothing happens with double click...
Can you please post an example or attach a screenshot which shows the following details:
  • What's the naming (file name + file extension) of a track template and audio file in this case?
  • And how does the entire folder path of these files look like?
And just in case: is the audio file placed at the same folder level as the track template file (to rule out that the audio file is perhaps placed in a sub-folder)?

Thank you!
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 09-19-2019 at 12:06 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 02:12 PM   #268
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
First thing which comes into mind: is the latest js_ReaScriptAPI version 0.991 installed? Or does reinstalling it make any difference?
Because 'expected 3 arguments maximum' sounds to me as if perhaps an older js_ReaScriptAPI version is installed or used somehow - since the update in 0.991 added the fourth argument for the output channel to the reaper.Xen_StartSourcePreview function.


EDIT: I just did some testing and, as initially suspected, I can reproduce the same error here with an older js_ReaScriptAPI version (0.990) installed.
that worked! thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Can you please post an example or attach a screenshot which shows the following details:
  • What's the naming (file name + file extension) of a track template and audio file in this case?
  • And how does the entire folder path of these files look like?
And just in case: is the audio file placed at the same folder level as the track template file (to rule out that the audio file is perhaps placed in a sub-folder)?

Thank you!
C:\Users\Reflected\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\TrackTem plates\Strings

Violin dreams.RTrackTemplate
Violin dreams.mp3

both in the strings folder


one more little thing
I notice that it takes a bit time to moves from tab to another tab, especially from project templates to projects, does that happen because I have lots of projects?
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:20 AM   #269
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
C:\Users\Reflected\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\TrackTem plates\Strings

Violin dreams.RTrackTemplate
Violin dreams.mp3

both in the strings folder
Thanks for the info. I'll see if I can replicate the behavior in order to narrow down possible problem sources.

Quote:
one more little thing
I notice that it takes a bit time to moves from tab to another tab, especially from project templates to projects, does that happen because I have lots of projects?
Yeah, in the current ReaLauncher version the list is automatically refreshed for the current tab (when launching ReaLauncher or when switching between tabs). So depending on the file count it might take a little bit longer to process the files.
I already have a couple of ideas for further optimizations on my list, but I haven't had time yet to test them.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.