Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > JSFX and ReaScript Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2018, 09:36 AM   #1
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Xalapa, Mexico
Posts: 717
Default REQ: go to (put edit cursor at) last split on selected track

I searched the action list (including ReaPack) for an action that does this and couldn't find it.

It would come in really handy for editing podcasts in ripple mode.

Maybe it does exist and I was just not using the right search terms.

In case not, does anyone want to have a go at it?
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:43 AM   #2
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 255
Default

So, you would want it to go to the previous item's start start point on that track?
__________________
Cheers,

Andrew K
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:53 AM   #3
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Xalapa, Mexico
Posts: 717
Default

Here is a gif which should explain it better:



I hope you understand what I mean. When I delete the item in the middle, I want the cursor to go to that same cut that I just did.
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:54 AM   #4
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,158
Default

To identify actual splits vs. items that are touching, the script would have to check a) do item A and B have the same source file, and b) is B's source position the same as the source position at the end of A.

Doable. If I have some time later I might give it a go assuming nobody else gets there first.
__________________
Currently working away from home; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:57 AM   #5
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Xalapa, Mexico
Posts: 717
Default

^^ In this case, I think I am rather talking about cuts than splits (see the attached gif from post #3).
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:59 AM   #6
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,158
Default

What about Item navigation: Move cursor left to nearest item edge?
__________________
Currently working away from home; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:02 AM   #7
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 255
Default

I use this ALL THE TIME:

Item navigation: Select and move to previous item

It's is "track aware". The only thing that is does that you may no want is it also selects the item... but 99% of the time I want that.


I hope this helps.
__________________
Cheers,

Andrew K
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:06 AM   #8
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 255
Default

So... to expand on this, you could create a Macro that adds Item navigation: Select and move to previous item after your Delete command... that way it's just 1 key command.
__________________
Cheers,

Andrew K
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:11 AM   #9
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 847
Default

Yep, same here, have it assigned to Shift+B, Thonex might know why
There's also:
Item navigation: Select and move to next item assigned to Shift+N
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:24 AM   #10
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Thonex might know why
I have a vague idea LOL
__________________
Cheers,

Andrew K
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:50 AM   #11
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,406
Default

OP makes 2 Splits before making the Cut.

Maybe he and/or other people also like the idea to just make a Time Selection around the Item area that has to be cut out. (with Snap turned off ofcourse for dialogue editing).

For this workflow, i made a Custom Action:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xxvrbkdkd5...perKeyMap?dl=0

The Edit Cursor is placed at the beginning of the cut, when the cut is done; just as OP wished for.

Beware: The Custom Action uses a Script from Xraym, so you need ReaPack installed for it to work.
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 11:58 AM   #12
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,158
Default

He has ripple editing on, so does he actually need anything more than Item: Remove selected area of items?
__________________
Currently working away from home; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 12:15 PM   #13
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,406
Default

Excuse Moi,

- Wasn't aware that OP had Ripple ON.
- But in that case, Action "remove selected area of items" will stil not move Edit Cursor to start of the made cut.


I would say, use this Custom Action then (when first making Time Selection around to be cut area):

Item: Remove selected area of items
Go to start of time selection
Time selection: Remove time selection
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 12:28 PM   #14
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Xalapa, Mexico
Posts: 717
Default

Thank you so much guys for all the input!

I made the following custom action:



This works perfectly for me since it is track aware.

Let's me do this with only one keystroke:



obviously with ripple ON
timothys_monster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 12:30 PM   #15
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,406
Default

Great stuff !
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 01:16 PM   #16
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Thank you so much guys for all the input!

I made the following custom action:



This works perfectly for me since it is track aware.

Let's me do this with only one keystroke:



obviously with ripple ON
Nice one!! Perfect!
__________________
Cheers,

Andrew K
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.