Old 10-13-2017, 02:36 AM   #1
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default METRIC - Theme for Retina | HiDPI display monitor



is now available for download.

ARRANGE


TRACK CONTROL PANEL
Metric


Analog



MIXER CONTROL PANEL
Metric


Analog


TRANSPORT
Metric


Analog


More details and download please head over to my website.


H E R E


__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C

Last edited by jrengmusic; 02-28-2018 at 02:29 PM.
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 02:55 AM   #2
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

It looks very good !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 06:00 AM   #3
gappie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 16
Default

really impressive!!! looking forward to this..
gappie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 07:02 AM   #4
BlackScreen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 40
Default

Wow. Great theme! Keep it up!
BlackScreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 08:27 AM   #5
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
Utilising Sir White Tie's innovative imageshift macro from Imperial v5 snapshot build, mixer fader could have different state conditionally following the track's record arm state.
(wipes tear from eye) At last, thank you. Magnificent.

Post a WIP. Screenshots and mockups are for kiddies and tyre-kickers
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 08:31 AM   #6
BobF
Human being with feelings
 
BobF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 648
Default

Yes, please do. I'm itching to see this on my 43" 4K ...
__________________
--
Reaper 5 x64/Studio One 4P, Win10 Pro x64, UMC1820, FaderPort
i7-6700@3.8G/32G
BobF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 09:15 AM   #7
earforce
Human being with feelings
 
earforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 112
Default

Great ideas, but unfortunately not eye friendly. i think you should works on contrast.
earforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 09:46 AM   #8
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earforce View Post
unfortunately not eye friendly.
You can't judge that from some resized screenshots. Let the man work.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 11:23 AM   #9
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,495
Default

It's pretty clear that a lot of work has gone into this. Looks very nice so far.
I agree with Mr. White Tie about posting a WIP too.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 02:30 AM   #10
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
(wipes tear from eye) At last, thank you. Magnificent.
Thank you. I really fancy your works. Kudos to you Sir!

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Post a WIP.
Done.
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C

Last edited by jrengmusic; 10-19-2017 at 03:01 AM.
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 08:39 AM   #11
Doc Brown
Human being with feelings
 
Doc Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,642
Default

So what size monitors are ideal for this theme? My 27" monitors are apparently too small so what's the ideal size and resolution?

Looks fantastic by the way.
Doc Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 09:32 AM   #12
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Brown View Post
So what size monitors are ideal for this theme? My 27" monitors are apparently too small so what's the ideal size and resolution?

Looks fantastic by the way.
I designed this on my 15" Retina MacBook Pro. Tested on my 27" 5K Retina iMac also look fine. So the monitor size should not be a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Windows display scaling setting: 200%
hDPI in Reaper: Aware
Scale UI elements: 2.0 NOT this. Untick it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
Build specifically @2x scale with WALTER currently experimental functionality for HiDPI and Retina monitors.
High resolution monitor with HiDPI (with 200%) scaling on Win or Retina monitor on OSX is mandatory.
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 07:35 AM   #13
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default



tcp analog love
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 08:14 AM   #14
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 560
Default

Impressive design ideas in this theme. Although I can't use it in the near future due to the lack of a high dpi screen IMHO it's good that this ground gets covered with some choice. Thanks for all your efforts!
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 08:33 AM   #15
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default



TCP layout Metric vs Analog
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C

Last edited by jrengmusic; 11-12-2017 at 08:39 AM.
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 08:46 AM   #16
JayJSE2
Human being with feelings
 
JayJSE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post


tcp analog love
Nice! For some reason having real buttons and faders make it look more intuitive to use, even though the 2d version looks cooler.
JayJSE2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:11 AM   #17
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayJSE2 View Post
Nice! For some reason having real buttons and faders make it look more intuitive to use, even though the 2d version looks cooler.
and you have both options
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 09:02 AM   #18
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post


is now available for download.

ARRANGE


TRACK CONTROL PANEL
Metric


Analog



MIXER CONTROL PANEL
Metric


Analog


TRANSPORT
Metric


Analog


More details and download please head over to my website.


H E R E


The most beautiful and coolest theme of all time (so far). Looks stunning on my 4k. You are very talented with a great eye.

Just one thing I noticed, no Folder button on the track?
talustalus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:48 AM   #19
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talustalus View Post
The most beautiful and coolest theme of all time (so far). Looks stunning on my 4k. You are very talented with a great eye.

Just one thing I noticed, no Folder button on the track?
You can drag child track to its target parent.

I personally never use folder button on track. I wrote a custom script to folderize selected tracks.
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:57 AM   #20
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 911
Default

I have 200% windows scaling (4k native resolution), idk what is the issue ;(

Also I get this artifacts when rolling the mouse's cursor over stuff in the mpc (no issues in the tcp):

__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.

Last edited by sightlessness; 12-27-2018 at 12:05 PM.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 12:08 PM   #21
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 911
Default

Notice how the last (to the right) I dragged the VU meter all the way up, trying to make it look like your screenshots, yet it leaves an empty space below where Track FX and other things should go.
The first track I left it that way so you see how it shows up to me
by default. 3 zones but no VU meter (Track FX, SEnd, FX parameters)

__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 12:10 PM   #22
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 911
Default

I know you're busy I don't expect an solution right away, I hope in the long
run (mabye next year :P, no sarcasm) I can get it fixed because I love this theme I hope I can keep on using Reaper with this theme. Cheers.

EDIT:

TL;DR Track FX insert zone and Sends zone
are above VU meters, instead of below... weird...

TL;DR 2 In other words now theme works perfect, no artifacts or anything weird, BUT I can't insert FX or drag sends from one track to another using MPC, because
they are hidden above the VU meters. TCP works perefect.

Ok, I noticed after messing around with it a little bit more, and I think I am doing everything right:

For some reason, the cursor THAT/WHEN changes to a handle appears in the middle of nowhere (MPC track), very down below the track, and
I have to squint to see where it is, then drag it all the way up so the VU meters with the word GAIN above it appears as your screentshots,
leaving a space where the 3 zones (I think it's 2 in your theme moestly: Track FX inserts and Track Sends) should go.
And when I do that (Gain word at the top, VU meters at the top) I get no artifcats, so all good now.

The ONLY issue, weird I know, is that the FX inserts zone and the Send one are missing (hidden) now, because they were all the time above the VU meters,
but since I dragged (moved) all the way up the VU meters, well, now there is an empty space... too redundant, I know: Track FX insert zone and Sends zone
are above VU meters, instead of below... weird...

almost there by Charlie Brown, on Flickr
__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.

Last edited by sightlessness; 12-27-2018 at 12:48 PM.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 03:40 PM   #23
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
You can drag child track to its target parent.

I personally never use folder button on track. I wrote a custom script to folderize selected tracks.
Thank you. Can I download this script?
(I am new and have not got any scripts yet, just browsed like 100 themes until I saw yours and was like "yeah!")
talustalus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 05:45 PM   #24
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talustalus View Post
Thank you. Can I download this script?
(I am new and have not got any scripts yet, just browsed like 100 themes until I saw yours and was like "yeah!")
Download and install the latest SWS Extension. You might find appropriate actions to do such things.
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 09:35 PM   #25
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
Download and install the latest SWS Extension. You might find appropriate actions to do such things.
I do have SWS extension already. But I'm not sure how to find your specific script that you mentioned. No idea in fact. But once I do know, I will be good to go.
talustalus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:50 AM   #26
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 596
Default

This theme is way too glaring for me, but MAN! A LOT of real good ideas here! Such as:
more detail in slider markings (mcp_volbg) on select..... my favorite theme would be one that shows most tcp/mcp controls/knobs only on hover or select, excepting volume, pan, mute and solo. "Show on demand" would include i/o routing, fx stuff, etc.
I PREFER LESS CLUTTER!!! This theme has that feature.
Good thinking on much of this theme.

2 HOURS LATER-
The more I look at this, the more I like it... especially the "lit up" look of the rec, solo, and mute buttons.......

Last edited by woogish; 01-12-2019 at 12:14 PM.
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 09:39 PM   #27
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 911
Default

What line of code do I need to change to nudge the faders on the mcp
a little up. Even at 2 global scale (rememeber we have it at 1.99 on Windows)
at zero (unity gain, whatever you wanna call it) faders don't line up with the
lines drawn there.

Thanks! (reading Walter guide now I guess)
__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:43 PM   #28
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 555
Default

The faders line up at unity for volume fader range +18dB Default shape.
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:27 AM   #29
sightlessness
Human being with feelings
 
sightlessness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 911
Default

The highest my faders go is 12+ db :P

So I can't move faders? For future themes I'd like to know. Thanks.
__________________
I want to live PEACEFULLY PLEASE WORLD "LEADERS" GET THIS DONE/LET IT BE FOR GOOD AND MAKE HISTORYYYYYYY! Thanks.
sightlessness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:00 PM   #30
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sightlessness View Post
The highest my faders go is 12+ db :P

So I can't move faders? For future themes I'd like to know. Thanks.
Do you have the volume fader range set to +18 in the preferences?
This section is at the bottom of the Track Control Panels page.
It's labeled as: /Volume/Pan Faders
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.