Old 07-31-2019, 06:56 AM   #1
MatthewB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 17
Default Inserting Youtube Video in Reaper

I am trying to insert a youtube video into a reaper track. The video is a mp4 and can play solely on my laptop,but when I open Reaper, select new track, open media Explorer, select the video to be inserted I get Reaper Error message saying " Could not Import 1 of 1 Items!". I have been searching the form, but have not come across the right answers. I am sure I am doing something incorrectly...just not sure what.
Thank you for any help
Best,
MatthewB
MatthewB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 07:03 AM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,472
Default

have you got either ffmpeg or vlc codecs installed?
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 09:47 AM   #3
MatthewB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 17
Default Inserting Youtube Video in Reaper

Domzy
I am not sure what that is or even how to find it. Is it possible you could explain to me what to do. Thanks
MatthewB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 10:03 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

I think I'd start with installing VLC and use the bitness that matches your reaper install. Meaning if you are running Reaper 64 bit, install VLC 64 bit. That may be all you need.

https://www.videolan.org/vlc/
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 10:33 AM   #5
MatthewB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 17
Default

So once I install VLC 64 bit would I need to do anything else
MatthewB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2019, 10:38 AM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewB View Post
So once I install VLC 64 bit would I need to do anything else
Hopefully not but can't be 1000% sure. I would install it, launch reaper, go to Options > Preferences > video/Rex/Misc > click "Sow available decoder information". It should show what Reaper is aware of and if it sees VLC.

I can't remember if you need to manually copy ffmpeg over but I'm certain installing VLC is a worthwhile step.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.