Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2019, 04:40 PM   #41
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 544
Default

Anything above 40,000 in reaper setting slows it down..from what I tried today...Let me do more checking tomorrow...


Meanwhile...

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=222807


Can you pls do what's asked on that forum post ? Cos that will help me immensely..Coz then I can make all inactive takes offline...that will reduce the number of files a lot..Coz I have 3 or 4 takes in a lot of items... If I can make all the inactive takes offline...that will bring down the number of files used down considerably..
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 05:23 PM   #42
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

5.980rc4 will be along shortly and it won't automatically bring everything online after rendering new takes/etc.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 06:15 PM   #43
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Is all of your media .wav files or is there a mix? maybe I can make you some experimental plugins to reduce the open file count.

Also in the next dev cycle I’ll add an option to fully load peaks files into RAM, reducing the open file count by some decent amount (at the expense of a lot more RAM use and slower media onlining)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 10:51 PM   #44
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Is all of your media .wav files or is there a mix? maybe I can make you some experimental plugins to reduce the open file count.

Also in the next dev cycle I’ll add an option to fully load peaks files into RAM, reducing the open file count by some decent amount (at the expense of a lot more RAM use and slower media onlining)
Thank You so much.. My files are a mix of Wav and FLAC
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 07:36 AM   #45
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 544
Default

Hello Justin,

After making the inactive takes offline with x-ray M script..when i switch between project tabs..The offline files come back online. Can you pls look into this ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 03:13 PM   #46
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 544
Default

Can this be fixed pls ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 03:14 PM   #47
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Is all of your media .wav files or is there a mix? maybe I can make you some experimental plugins to reduce the open file count.

Also in the next dev cycle I’ll add an option to fully load peaks files into RAM, reducing the open file count by some decent amount (at the expense of a lot more RAM use and slower media onlining)
Is this coming in the next pre release ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 08:35 AM   #48
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Two things coming in the next dev build:

1) An option to fully-load peak files under a certain size into RAM. You should set this to something big (like 100000KB) if you want to make sure all peak files are loaded. You should leave the memory-mapped option at 0 to prevent it from being used.

2) A ReaScript API which can be used to tell REAPER to trim its open files. Keeping extra handles open is necessary for performance, but you can use a script similar to this one in order to have it prevent these open files from accumulating:

Code:
do_log = true -- annoying but maybe interesting
aggressive_if_stopped = false -- not recommended but maybe useful for some things?

function run()
  local f = 1
  msg=""
  if aggressive_if_stopped then
    if 0==(reaper.GetAllProjectPlayStates()&1) then
      f = f + 2
      msg=" (aggressively)"
    end
  end
  local cnt = reaper.reduce_open_files(f)
  if cnt > 0 and do_log then
    reaper.ShowConsoleMsg(string.format("closed %d files%s\n",cnt,msg))
  end
  reaper.defer(run)
end

run()
(you can set aggressive_if_stopped to true if you want it to basically try to close all file handles that are not in use, but this will probably make peaks building incredibly slow and also could cause playback interruptions... so be extra-careful with that! having said that, be extra careful with this script in general...)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 04:03 PM   #49
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Two things coming in the next dev build:

1) An option to fully-load peak files under a certain size into RAM. You should set this to something big (like 100000KB) if you want to make sure all peak files are loaded. You should leave the memory-mapped option at 0 to prevent it from being used.

2) A ReaScript API which can be used to tell REAPER to trim its open files. Keeping extra handles open is necessary for performance, but you can use a script similar to this one in order to have it prevent these open files from accumulating:

Code:
do_log = true -- annoying but maybe interesting
aggressive_if_stopped = false -- not recommended but maybe useful for some things?

function run()
  local f = 1
  msg=""
  if aggressive_if_stopped then
    if 0==(reaper.GetAllProjectPlayStates()&1) then
      f = f + 2
      msg=" (aggressively)"
    end
  end
  local cnt = reaper.reduce_open_files(f)
  if cnt > 0 and do_log then
    reaper.ShowConsoleMsg(string.format("closed %d files%s\n",cnt,msg))
  end
  reaper.defer(run)
end

run()
(you can set aggressive_if_stopped to true if you want it to basically try to close all file handles that are not in use, but this will probably make peaks building incredibly slow and also could cause playback interruptions... so be extra-careful with that! having said that, be extra careful with this script in general...)
Thank you very much Justin. But where do I run this script ? Is it in the actions list ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 11:17 PM   #50
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,351
Default

You first need to store it in a .lua file, then load it into the action list...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.