Old 10-02-2006, 05:37 AM   #41
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

justin, any news on this?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:02 PM   #42
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

i haven't have timeto try the new version yet :
does v1,2345 fixes the midi problems ?
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:13 PM   #43
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

ooops.
I tried to record s simpe loop (midi overdub), and the bugs are still here
I am curious to know if some other bugs are gone... any happy user experience ?
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 05:38 AM   #44
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

Hi
Bumping, 10 days later after the last post, in order to get back the topic to the front of the forum...
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 12:46 PM   #45
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

this all-notes-off thing drives me crazy. justin can you give this a bit more priority?

FIXED

Last edited by Dstruct; 11-16-2006 at 05:26 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 01:01 PM   #46
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff
this all-notes-off thing drives me crazy. justin can you give this a bit more priority?
Same here, along with the non-existing overdub rec & missing first note. The topic were started on Justin's request more than one month and a half ago, but alas the midi didn't see a brighter light since...

(But on the other side, being so bored with reaper's midi made me not opening any VSTI nor the midi editor, and enjoy more the audio side).
Great audio program.
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 04:48 PM   #47
malcolmj
Human being with feelings
 
malcolmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,669
Default MIDI Buffer bug

Just like to bump the MIDI Buffer bug I reported back in June

http://www.cockos.com/forum/showpost...9&postcount=72

back to the top of the list. This one is really, really frustrating.

The same buffer bug appears when I mute the audio send from a VSTi to a reverb, playback some of the Track, stop playback, then un-mute the send to the Reverb. Notes from nowhere.

Cheers,

Malcolm.
malcolmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 12:37 PM   #48
malcolmj
Human being with feelings
 
malcolmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolmj
Just like to bump the MIDI Buffer bug I reported back in June ...
This problem now shows up in Rendered mixes.
...
malcolmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 02:24 AM   #49
malcolmj
Human being with feelings
 
malcolmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,669
Default New MIDI bug in v1.32

Found a new MIDI bug in v1.32 that I thought I should just add to this list.

Repro:

1. Create new Project.
2. Insert new MIDI file.
3. Open MIDI file with built-in Editor and create simple 4 bar loop.
4. Save changes and close editor.
5. Copy the new file four times (see screen shot).
6. Select one of the copies and then select "Open item copies with built-in MIDI editor".
7. Opened copy is not the same length as the original file (see screenshot below).



Cheers,

Malcolm.

Last edited by malcolmj; 10-24-2006 at 12:13 PM.
malcolmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 11:06 AM   #50
c1isc1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I can't find anything about this bug... Is it just me?

Saving a MIDI file in the MIDI editor makes all events offset by -00.00.01. In other words, if I place a note at 01.02.00, save the file, close the editor, set media offline then back online, and reopen the file in the editor, I now have a note at 01.01.99.

This seems to happen less often at certain tempos (120 BPM, for one), but I can't get it to behave completely consistently, so I'm not sure.

Thanks.
c1isc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 01:36 AM   #51
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,022
Default

no ,your're not alone.

others have reported the ".99" problem too.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 05:09 AM   #52
c1isc1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Ah, ok. I definitely think it qualifies as a "top 5" bug, then.
c1isc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 07:49 AM   #53
lemmy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex zonder
Loading multi-channel MIDI files on multiple tracks: one track per channel!

Agreed,
Until we have this, I can't seriously start moving my working tracks out of Cubase into Reaper.
lemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 05:34 AM   #54
malcolmj
Human being with feelings
 
malcolmj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolmj
Repro:

1. Create new Project.
2. Insert new MIDI file.
3. Open MIDI file with built-in Editor and create simple 4 bar loop.
4. Save changes and close editor.
5. Copy the new file four times (see screen shot).
6. Select one of the copies and then select "Open item copies with built-in MIDI editor".
7. Opened copy is not the same length as the original file (see screenshot below).
Still in v1.33. A 4 bar loop at 120 BPM is shortened by 2 beats when using "Open item copies with built-in MIDI editor".
.
malcolmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 06:06 PM   #55
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

Ok, i'm definitively so f_cking bored with that crap midi.

I was quite confident and optimistic when i rade "Revised and vastly improved MIDI workflow".
I didn't used Reaper for any midi use for weeks (since it upsetted me so strongly not being able to do anything with it, i always ended up achieving in a minute in Ableton or Ext what i couldn't do in hours with Reaper), but told myself : "let's go take a tour and see what has been improved".
So i opened 3 instruments in 3 midi tracks, and wanted to record a simple 4 bar beats to begin.
But i don't need to have a look further more : it is still not working at all, it is a real mess, and none of the "5 midi bugs" have been fixed.


Overdub is just a big pain in the ass : look at what the window displayed after 2 passes : same file name for 2 clips : it is totally absurd !!





And my 4 bar clips ended up being a non understandable thing multisliced clip.




I haven't checked about the missing first notes and the note off when playing pads at then end of clips, but i'm pretty sure that it hasn't been fixed. So : what is working better in this new version ??????????
This overdub shit really turns me mad : who can dare calling a host "supporting midi" if you can't record a loop ??? godddaaaaaammm !!!
I was reading Jason's thread about Reaper having won the worst midi handling award or something like that, and told myself that i wouldn't get into this "anti-award" thing, but i must admitt i really have never seen such a bad handling of midi, never ever, and using it, and seeing it not working the way it should is really stronger than any concept/idea : you just can't do anything, it is just not working : arggggh !! I'm becoming Hulk !!



Ok, it is over now : since i can't end up with a clip of the correct lenght, i won't use midi in reaper anymore.*
Who can tell midi got improved since everything is so fucked up ?? It is absurd.
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 06:13 PM   #56
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default -1 -1 -1 -1 -1 -1

Ok : i tested the "note off" at the end of the clip to check if it got fixed (we never know, if the overdub is still buggy, maybe at last we can play a pad) : of course, like always, you can't keep a chord hung in loop mode, because all notes stop.
It is so crazy....

I don't get it : midi at the moment is just anti-musical, counter-intuitive, counter-productive : Did anyone in the Cockos team used midi once in his life ?

I know Justin is the main dev and is on holidays at the moment, but why releasing an update claiming to be "vastly improved on the midi side", if none of the 5 top bugs have been fixed ???
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 07:29 PM   #57
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,850
Default

you are really starting to get irritating. I want midi improved just as much as you, but do you really need to get all pissy at Justin and crew by throwing insults around???
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 02:47 AM   #58
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill
you are really starting to get irritating. I want midi improved just as much as you, but do you really need to get all pissy at Justin and crew by throwing insults around???
On one hand you are true : i was really irritated while i tried to make an overdub for the 4568978 time. So i guess when 'im irritated i can also get irritating.
But on the other hand, i don't think i wrote any insults at all, and there had nothing personal to anyone in what i wrote. That's right, i'm fed up with the non working stuff, and i told it loud to express the way i felt when i tried to use midi in Reaper.
But i really didn't want to insult anyone (and most of all people i respect !). When i write that i'm "so f_cking bored with crap midi", i know i don't use smart words, but i do not insult anyone. If anyone from the dev team think he got insulted in my previous mails, he can PM me, and i will talk smartly with him and try to explain i still respect and support their work for the audio side and the quick development, and never intended to insult anyone.
And when i say that midi is still crappy in Reaper, i don't intend to get "pissy", because i think that -beyond all the excitement we can have with nearly daily relesases- that's true : midi is still so buggy and counter-intuitive that it deserves to be called the way i did.
I'm sure it will get better (very) soon, and when this time will be come, i will praise the improvements, but at the moment i'm still stuck with non working stuff...
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 01:11 PM   #59
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

v1,35 fixes one bug and adds midi features :
- there is a visible 'midi overdub mode' (n,ot in the menu, but accessible from the tracks) ;
- when you set a loop duration for overdub, the resulting clip will have the loop's duration, and no more weird lenght.


... If the looping was glitchless, with no more note off, it would be fine fine fine !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 02:52 AM   #60
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default

v1,37 :
some more midi bugfixes !

It is nearly the end of the boring "note off" at the end of loop

Midi is becoming very usable :
- loops plays mostly glitchlessly (it depends on the plugin used)
- no more missing first note
- correct clip lenght in overdub
- first implementation of "note off at the end of loop" : it works, but isn't yet perfect : this feature should know when the playback is stopped or not, as the notes mustn't be off when playing, but everysound (and also arps) should get muteed if we hit "pause" or "stop" in the transport bar... It might come later.


Of course, there are still some issues (when opened in the midi editor, the clips aren't of the correct size, i always have a long note that shouldn't be here at the end, and note off is not 100% perfect), but it is already way better !
ut it is already better now !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 02:57 AM   #61
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

another thing which seems to be a bit quirky:

editing or drawing midi-cc while playback/looping doesn't work good. in stop-mode it's pretty easy to draw, but not while playback!?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 08:14 AM   #62
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

sorry. not an issue. just noticed, that i was clicking an existing value. but when drawing a line you have to click above the value ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 06:02 PM   #63
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,358
Default one more fixed !

v1,39
Now you can hang a chord from a controller playing a vsti, the notes won't stop at the end of the loop

(i guess this is what means : midi: "noteon tracking for loop only looks at track items (not input monitoring etc)").


bugs that are still here :
- no note off when hitting pause/stop (my vsti keeps making sound)
- still incorrect midi clip lenght in overdub rec (a long note in the end of the clip makes the clip too long) ;
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 10:32 PM   #64
Roner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 141
Default cursor when looping midievent

I found this small bug in the midieditor:
-make a small midi loop and make it loop a couple of times on a track
-set the track to repeat. make sure the selection is set to at least to whole loops of the midifile
-open the midieditor and play of from the main transport panel (not the one in the midieditor)
-observe how the cursor in the midieditor runs fine till it comes to the last loop in the track, but then jumps twice the length outside of the midiloop before it returns back to normal.

Anyone can confirm this?

This is no big problem for me, but I was thinking it might be related to the last bug reported here :


Quote:
Originally Posted by sinkmusic View Post
v1,39
bugs that are still here :
- no note off when hitting pause/stop (my vsti keeps making sound)
- still incorrect midi clip lenght in overdub rec (a long note in the end of the clip makes the clip too long) ;
I was thinking, if you were recording in overdub mode and the cursor suddenly jumps to another point for a moment, it might get recorded, and hence make the clip to long (I dont have a midi keyboard atm, so I cant check this myself)

Last edited by Roner; 11-25-2006 at 12:16 PM.
Roner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2006, 12:21 PM   #65
Roner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 141
Default

I have tried this on a different pc, and the same bug there.
Strange behaviour.... is it only on my systems? Can anybody please try to confirm this?

Last edited by Roner; 11-25-2006 at 12:27 PM.
Roner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.