Old 01-21-2012, 04:55 PM   #1
Jedi
Human being with feelings
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,598
Default EZD: Anybody else have it lose the license key?

Just one of those niggling annoyances... from time to time,
I'll launch a project with EZD and get a pop-up saying
"EZ Drummer is not authorized for this computer" - then
I have to go through the whole authorizing / activation
process again. Not a deal killer, but it always takes 10
minutes to go through the steps. I've taken to just keeping
my EZD disc right on the desk so the S/N is always handy in
the event of this weird "crash".

Just curious if others have this problem? I can't imagine
what about my setup would cause it to "deauthorize" a VSTi...

Jedi
__________________
I'm simply no longer here
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:16 PM   #2
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,840
Default

Yes, and it is annoying.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:23 PM   #3
musicroom
Human being with feelings
 
musicroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 618
Default

A couple of times fairly close together, but its not happened for a while. I hear you, annoying.
__________________
http://www.davidmillersongs.com
musicroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:27 PM   #4
Jedi
Human being with feelings
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,598
Default

Any ideas what causes this?
__________________
I'm simply no longer here
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:31 PM   #5
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,840
Default

Gremlins?

[IMG]http://img29.**************/img29/2804/gremr.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:32 PM   #6
Steve36
Human being with feelings
 
Steve36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Geelong,Australia
Posts: 505
Default

This happened to me on both EZ drummer and Superior...it has something to do with your hardware configuration... I registered mine online, (I only use my usb modem for registering software,etc..and then unplug it and plug my midi keyboard back in), and everything was working fine until I removed the modem.
The solution was to run Ez drummer without the modem plugged in,copy the code,THEN plug the modem in and register the code online to authorize the software for my computer...(so it will work without having the modem plugged in).

Steve

Last edited by Steve36; 01-21-2012 at 10:03 PM. Reason: xtra info
Steve36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:02 PM   #7
Sigilus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,763
Default

Yeah, it tags the key to hardware so if you change stuff in your PC like I do, it will pop up the license annoyance. Windows does this too, sometimes.
Sigilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:09 PM   #8
Jedi
Human being with feelings
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve36 View Post
This happened to me on both EZ drummer and Superior...it has something to do with your hardware configuration... I registered mine online, (I only use my usb modem for registering software,etc..and then unplug it and plug my midi keyboard back in), and everything was working fine until I removed the modem.
The solution was to run Ez drummer without the modem plugged in,copy the code,THEN plug the modem in and register the code online to authorize the software for my computer...(so it will work without having the modem plugged in).

Steve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth R. View Post
Yeah, it tags the key to hardware so if you change stuff in your PC like I do, it will pop up the license annoyance. Windows does this too, sometimes.
ALL fine and well... except NOTHING ON MY END HAS CHANGED!! LOL!!

I just log in one day (today, in this case) and I get the "error"

NOT A SINGLE THING IN MY SYSTEM HAS CHANGED.

LOL!!!

No biggie... I'll keep re-registering as needed... I could SEE this if
I were changing hardware from time to time. But alas, I'm NOT LOL!!



Jedi
__________________
I'm simply no longer here
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:39 PM   #9
artifus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 114
Default

device manager - right click computer - scan for hardware changes.

shut down, remove power cable, count to ten, reconnect power and switch on with all devices connected.
artifus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:45 PM   #10
Jedi
Human being with feelings
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artifus View Post
device manager - right click computer - scan for hardware changes.

shut down, remove power cable, count to ten, reconnect power and switch on with all devices connected.
?????

I started REAPER today after ZERO changes WHATSOEVER.
Just launched the program... computer was on and running.

I'm not sure I understand what you're suggesting... what
am I missing?



Jedi
__________________
I'm simply no longer here
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 02:04 AM   #11
artifus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 114
Default

sorry, that was a bit of a hit and run post.

you have made no changes but windows may have or at least think it has detected a change and if you have notifications off it would not alert you to that fact.

the above procedures are to remind the os of what hardware is connected. i have had usb devices drop out, not be recognised and fail driver update until a shut down followed by disconnecting from mains and reboot.

this may affect generated hardware codes required for authorization. run ezd with the same hardware connected as was with authorization.

i don't have ezd, just a suggestion for something to try next time.
artifus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:32 AM   #12
Jedi
Human being with feelings
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artifus View Post
sorry, that was a bit of a hit and run post.

you have made no changes but windows may have or at least think it has detected a change and if you have notifications off it would not alert you to that fact.

the above procedures are to remind the os of what hardware is connected. i have had usb devices drop out, not be recognised and fail driver update until a shut down followed by disconnecting from mains and reboot.

this may affect generated hardware codes required for authorization. run ezd with the same hardware connected as was with authorization.

i don't have ezd, just a suggestion for something to try next time.
Thanks for the explanation Artifus. That's interesting..... I will keep that in mind.
It IS possible then tha something as innocuous as a USB device changing could
somehow alter that computer ID code it seems.....

I'll bet that is my culprit.... Although I don't recall any USB device changes, but
at the same time I may not have noticed.

Thanks!

Jedi
__________________
I'm simply no longer here
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:06 PM   #13
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,840
Default

That makes sense. I'm always connecting/reconnecting usb devices. It's still annoying.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 03:07 AM   #14
artifus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 114
Default

just to add, if connecting/reconnecting usb devices try to stick to the socket the device was originally installed on and be aware of internal usb devices - card readers, trackpads, etc. check for driver updates but if it ain't broke don't try to fix it and be prepared to roll back or restore if you do.
artifus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:53 PM   #15
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artifus View Post
just to add, if connecting/reconnecting usb devices try to stick to the socket the device was originally installed on and be aware of internal usb devices - card readers, trackpads, etc. check for driver updates but if it ain't broke don't try to fix it and be prepared to roll back or restore if you do.
That wouldn't be practical for me. Also, I tend to disable/enable devices from time to time, for various reasons.

Ezdrummer should read from a key like Reaper does.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 10:13 PM   #16
Jedi
Human being with feelings
 
Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,598
Default

I figured out what breaks my EZD key.... disabling the WiFi card
in "system > device manager". EVERY TIME. Most of the time I
have the WiFi turned off, as I get broken audio from time to
time if it's on.

So after playing around tonight with USB devices (no lost
EZD key on ANY USB device) I found that with 3 tries of
disable/enable of the WiFi, EACH TIME the EZD lost its key
requiring me to delete the old one and paste in the new code.

Not saying USB devices don't do the same - probably depends
on what sort of USB device it is and how its driver reports
plug/unplug into the system. It just didn't do it on MY system
with USB devices.

Just thought folks could use the info...

Jedi
__________________
I'm simply no longer here
Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.