Old 01-29-2012, 02:44 PM   #1
trevlyns
Human being with feelings
 
trevlyns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 1,660
Default 2 in 6 out audio interface.

Hey guys!

Been a while since my last stoopid question, so I thought I’d keep you on your toes.

I’ve been given an Emagic EMI 2|6 USB Audio Interface (see attached pic). Its two input and 6 output.

I currently use a small Behringer UCA202 – 2 in 2 out. As I’m still new to this recording thing, is there any advantage to 6 outs as opposed to 2?

What would you use all those outs for? Could they be used for example in a live setup where 6 pre-recorded tracks could go to individual channels in a mixer and then mixed together with live instruments and vocals?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!
__________________
Freelance Audio Producer

Website

Last edited by trevlyns; 07-25-2012 at 03:25 AM.
trevlyns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

5.1 surround perhaps?
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 05:30 PM   #3
moliere
Human being with feelings
 
moliere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 2,222
Default

I'd actually be pretty keen on a 2/6 interface for my live stuff. I regularly use 2 audio inputs (mic for vocoder, analog synth) 1 midi input/output (controller for vstis, samples and analog synth) and 6 outputs (stereo backing beats, stereo synths, samples, vocoder). If you put it all through stereo, your sound guy has no ability to mix it properly for the room or if you've got something slightly wrong. I much prefer that the sound guy has as much control as he/she needs (hence the multiple outs). I use an RME Fireface800 currently, but would love to keep that at home (quite expensive, screeds of inputs/outputs that I don't need live), and have something a bit cheaper and smaller to use live.

*edit* on the other hand, I just googled that device, and not really my thing. I'd need XLR inputs, balanced (And non rca) outputs and modern drivers
moliere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:50 AM   #4
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,582
Default

I still have the Emagic 6/2 and the 2/6. Both still can be used on the Mac. If you use Windows, you're in for a lot of problems, unless you use an old version of XP.

These interfaces are limited to 16 bit/44.1 KHz. And you need to change some settings:

http://www.fstaudio.co.uk/?p=234
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.