Old 01-29-2012, 04:58 PM   #1
mtthw
Human being with feelings
 
mtthw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,162
Default Kontakt with Reaper and MIDI channels

Hi,

I wanted to have multiple tracks sending MIDI to Kontakt, each to different MIDI channels, to trigger/control different Kontakt instruments.

But when I arm the tracks, my MIDI keyboard does not trigger my Konakt instruments.

So, I wonder if I am doing this right. I know I definitely send MIDI ALL to MIDI channel 2, for example, and then I have a Kontakt Instrument recieving messages from MIDI 2, but it is not working.

Anybody know what I mean, to do? thanks for any info
__________________
https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/607/Not...0Key%20Map.zip

Note frequency key map
mtthw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:52 PM   #2
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

Weird, I was sure that this worked at some point but it doesn't seem to. Recorded MIDI does play as expected, but live input isn't transmitted to the receiving channel. A bug?
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:01 PM   #3
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

I have it working here.

Make sure you have "Allow feedback in routing" checked in your project properties.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

Doesn't work here even with feedback routing engaged. Weird, that seems so basic a function, it should just work without any faffing about.

Even when Reaper build a 16 channels routing to the VSTI track it still doesn't work. It does work when MIDI data is already on the track, but if you can't monitor and therefore can't record, what's the point?

Last edited by bullshark; 01-29-2012 at 07:24 PM.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:23 PM   #5
mtthw
Human being with feelings
 
mtthw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,162
Default

When I use a track which I created by selecting "insert virtual instrument"
then the MIDI goes through to the Kontakt track and to the Kontakt instrument.

But when I just insert a track, doesn't work so far.

Thanks
__________________
https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/607/Not...0Key%20Map.zip

Note frequency key map
mtthw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:01 PM   #6
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtthw View Post
When I use a track which I created by selecting "insert virtual instrument"
then the MIDI goes through to the Kontakt track and to the Kontakt instrument.

But when I just insert a track, doesn't work so far.

Thanks
Your just not getting the track setup right, have you setup the I/O? Click on the I/O button to open the sends box and create a New Send directing it to Kontakt. Then set the routing:

Audio=>Non, MIDI=>X (X being the midi channel)

Arm the track and make sure "Record Monitoring" ins ON. If you've got an instrument in Kontakt with that channel you should hear it.

Also make sure the outputs are setup properly.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:58 PM   #7
mtthw
Human being with feelings
 
mtthw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,162
Default

thanks much, I didn't have record monitoring turned on, I guess.

working great now
__________________
https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/607/Not...0Key%20Map.zip

Note frequency key map
mtthw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 07:11 AM   #8
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

Awesome. Have fun with it. Sorry I could not articulate my assistance better.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.