Old 09-15-2013, 01:42 PM   #1
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default Motorized faders that work

... with Reaper


post some of the controllers with encoders and motorized faders that work well with Reaper




ps. preferrablby affordable units, not expensive
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:47 PM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,290
Default

just got rid of my mackie logic mcu and using ipad with ac-7 core. sorry.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:52 PM   #3
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
just got rid of my mackie logic mcu and using ipad with ac-7 core. sorry.
Really?!


I've actually considered that route for awhile. Gotta be honest I am quite interested. How's the workflow compared to Mackie?

Also what do you think of that same setup but with iPad mini? it seems more affordable and not tooo small either
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:01 PM   #4
Andy Hamm
Human being with feelings
 
Andy Hamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,371
Default

Yamaha Pro Mix 01
Behringer BCF2000

Those are the two I use anyway.
Andy Hamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:24 PM   #5
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,290
Default

the only thing i wanted it for is voume automation and it works fine for that.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:38 PM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,755
Default

FaderPort but its Fader instead of Faders.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:43 PM   #7
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,681
Default

Love my Faderport and with Karbomusic's code it was working perfectly out of the box in under 5 min.
__________________
ACER AMD 64x2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.21 GHz 3GRam XP Media SP3, Delta 1010LT
Solo www.soundclick.com/timdwyer or Irish Rock http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chance...46452718715173
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:25 PM   #8
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
FaderPort but its Fader instead of Faders.
Love mine and love it's integration with Reaper.

So much better than Pro Tools and the fader feels awesome.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 08:51 PM   #9
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,020
Default

This thing is pretty awesome... expensive... but awesome... wonder if it works with any DAW...
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:41 AM   #10
Stu
Human being with feelings
 
Stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
This thing is pretty awesome... expensive... but awesome... wonder if it works with any DAW...
The Raven MTX and MTI only work with ProTools at the moment, but they are planning to support all the popular DAWs including Reaper.
Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:29 AM   #11
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

woah guys, so many faderport users here.


I've heard mixed (already) opinions on this unit. A lot of people say the fader stops working quite soon, etc.

is that true? or is it worth investing into?
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:01 AM   #12
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
FaderPort but its Fader instead of Faders.

I've been looking at this Karbo, but I've read that it drags your USB bus down to low speed as it's only a USB 1.1 device. What do you do to circumvent this?


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:37 AM   #13
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu View Post
The Raven MTX and MTI only work with ProTools at the moment, but they are planning to support all the popular DAWs including Reaper.
Wow... wouldn't it be cool if the Reaper devs came up with something like this? Maybe it should be a FR...
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:08 AM   #14
p_wats
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 39
Default

I'm brand new to the world of flying faders, but the BCF2000 I picked up recently works perfectly with Reaper and was pretty cheap used.
p_wats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:03 AM   #15
Stu
Human being with feelings
 
Stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
Wow... wouldn't it be cool if the Reaper devs came up with something like this? Maybe it should be a FR...
From what I understand, cooperation from Justin and the gang would be needed to get this running with Reaper, as the most important part is the software layer that sits between DAW and the touchscreen which is what allows multi-touch and gestures etc. It's also quite a different screen than what you would find on a tablet or iPad and offers improved lifespan, touch response, lag times, reduced heat output amongst other things, that set it apart from consumer units.
Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:48 AM   #16
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
This thing is pretty awesome... expensive... but awesome... wonder if it works with any DAW...
They make a baby version that's only $2500.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:44 PM   #17
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,383
Default

Maybe they'll do an OSC implementation with Reaper. Could that be easier to do ? Open protocol, high speed feedback.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:12 PM   #18
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
They make a baby version that's only $2500.
Only?????

I gotta start making instructional videos... hahahaha
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:54 PM   #19
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
Only?????

I gotta start making instructional videos... hahahaha


OK. It's not exactly "Reaper" cheap but in the world of dedicated controllers, it's pretty modest.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:24 PM   #20
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
Only?????

I gotta start making instructional videos... hahahaha
you hit the nail on the head with that one haha..


to be honest i'm actually planning on review videos and stuff so hopefully I'll get the mxi for only however much it is



srsly though I think I'd much rather an iPad for this. I can't imagine myself without a mouse and keyboard. May be because i dont only mix but also compose and.... surf the Reaper forums :P
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:36 PM   #21
ashasha
Human being with feelings
 
ashasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 121
Default

I bought an older MCU a few months ago and used Klinke's MCU patch and it works extremely well.

Now I just need to find something that creates more hours in the day so that I have time to use it.

Make sure that you get one that is upgradable, not the old Logic only ones. I got mine in fantastic shape for around $400 delivered.
ashasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:36 PM   #22
technogremlin
Human being with feelings
 
technogremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,565
Default

Pretty hard to find one second hand these days (I won't let mine go, and I guess most owners think that way), but I love my Tascam US2400. Check my sig for info
technogremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:00 PM   #23
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by technogremlin View Post
Pretty hard to find one second hand these days (I won't let mine go, and I guess most owners think that way), but I love my Tascam US2400. Check my sig for info
Did you change those god-awful fader caps?
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:39 PM   #24
EJ James
Human being with feelings
 
EJ James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Frisco, Texas
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwoody View Post
Love my Faderport and with Karbomusic's code it was working perfectly out of the box in under 5 min.
+1

I've also been considering trying out one of these.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SLmk2zero
__________________
Schecter Hellraisers [C1FR / C7FR] / Epi LP Custom / '96 Fender Ultra Strat Plus -->
Fractal AxeFX-II / FAMC LF+ Pro+ / Mission SP1-LF (x2) -->
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 --> Reaper

Last edited by EJ James; 09-16-2013 at 05:45 PM.
EJ James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:46 PM   #25
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwoody View Post
Love my Faderport and with Karbomusic's code it was working perfectly out of the box in under 5 min.
This is still PC only I assume?

Would love to just scroll thru tracks with that useless pan knob.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 06:02 PM   #26
XITE-1/4LIVE
Human being with feelings
 
XITE-1/4LIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somewhere Between 120 and 150 BPM
Posts: 7,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Hamm View Post
Yamaha Pro Mix 01
Behringer BCF2000

Those are the two I use anyway.
I am starting to agree with this guy on everything he says.
I'd also add the Yamaha DMP-7 that has 2 x SPX90s built into it in case someone is intersted....

Ankyu
__________________
.
XITE-1/4LIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:29 PM   #27
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
This is still PC only I assume?

Would love to just scroll thru tracks with that useless pan knob.
Unless you can find someone who can compile it for Mac, I simply don't have a Mac or know how to compile for it but yea I added the ability to use the pan knob to scroll through tracks and a bunch of other stuff.

Edit: Not knowing Mac, I could have added incompatible code as well (such as reading INI files from the disk). So someone with a proper Mac development environment might have to address that as I simply don't know.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:41 PM   #28
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Unless you can find someone who can compile it for Mac, I simply don't have a Mac or know how to compile for it but yea I added the ability to use the pan knob to scroll through tracks and a bunch of other stuff.

Edit: Not knowing Mac, I could have added incompatible code as well (such as reading INI files from the disk). So someone with a proper Mac development environment might have to address that as I simply don't know.
Oh well. I can dream.

Thanks.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 07:59 PM   #29
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
Oh well. I can dream.

Thanks.
You were supposed to say.. "I know this killer Mac developer guy, he's got mad Mac skills, I bet he could do it."

__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:09 PM   #30
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,398
Default

I wish I could.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:25 PM   #31
transtrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ James View Post
I've also been considering trying out one of these.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SLmk2zero
I own one and I really love it, I use it all the time to control Reaper and VSTIs. But the faders are not motorized, which I guess would be a big no no if you are used to motorized faders. But maybe if you already use a Faderport, you get the best of both worlds.
transtrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 08:46 PM   #32
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post


OK. It's not exactly "Reaper" cheap but in the world of dedicated controllers, it's pretty modest.
At that price, I'm guessing you have to purchase PT separately or at least you get an extremely stripped down version of it... a single track and the fader is extra...

They get ya comin' and goin'...
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:35 AM   #33
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Unless you can find someone who can compile it for Mac, I simply don't have a Mac or know how to compile for it but yea I added the ability to use the pan knob to scroll through tracks and a bunch of other stuff.

Edit: Not knowing Mac, I could have added incompatible code as well (such as reading INI files from the disk). So someone with a proper Mac development environment might have to address that as I simply don't know.
is yours in a HUI protocol or something?

if it's just a midi device assigned to various control params then.... I have one of my encoders on my Arturia minilab scrolling thru the tracks and one scrolling thru the fx windows on the selected tracks. I can share the macro
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:11 AM   #34
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 850
Default

Mackie MCU and BCR2K for the plugins here.

Quote:
The Raven MTX and MTI only work with ProTools at the moment, but they are planning to support all the popular DAWs including Reaper.
Huh, that's interesting!
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:02 AM   #35
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vendetta V View Post
is yours in a HUI protocol or something?

if it's just a midi device assigned to various control params then.... I have one of my encoders on my Arturia minilab scrolling thru the tracks and one scrolling thru the fx windows on the selected tracks. I can share the macro
Reapers built-in controller support (csurf.dll) source code is available publicly as part of the Reaper SDK. I just took that and kept expanding the functionality. It was actually started by another user that used to post here, he didn't have time to maintain so I took it over from there and have been improving it whenever I'm inspired and/or have time ever since.

Its just C++ extension code with a event handler that fires anytime a key is pressed on the faderport or invoked from Reaper. I just parse the midi message and react accordingly. In other words you set the actions in a text file that matches the button you want and when I parse the midi message I pass the command ID for the action you chose to Reaper. So, you can make most any button on the controller run any action you can create.

Before those additions all the Faderport could do was basic transport functions + volume/pan etc.

I'm getting ready to add an undocumented feature that turns an "on-the-air" light on in the other room when record is engaged. Neat! I use the word undocumented because it is a self-serving addition based on some otherwise unrelated specific hardware I own.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.

Last edited by karbomusic; 09-17-2013 at 09:09 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:00 AM   #36
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Reapers built-in controller support (csurf.dll) source code is available publicly as part of the Reaper SDK. I just took that and kept expanding the functionality. It was actually started by another user that used to post here, he didn't have time to maintain so I took it over from there and have been improving it whenever I'm inspired and/or have time ever since.

Its just C++ extension code with a event handler that fires anytime a key is pressed on the faderport or invoked from Reaper. I just parse the midi message and react accordingly. In other words you set the actions in a text file that matches the button you want and when I parse the midi message I pass the command ID for the action you chose to Reaper. So, you can make most any button on the controller run any action you can create.

Before those additions all the Faderport could do was basic transport functions + volume/pan etc.

I'm getting ready to add an undocumented feature that turns an "on-the-air" light on in the other room when record is engaged. Neat! I use the word undocumented because it is a self-serving addition based on some otherwise unrelated specific hardware I own.
alright makes sense.


as for the on air lights. I even posted on your thread. sounds interesting and handy. Good luck!
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:53 PM   #37
technogremlin
Human being with feelings
 
technogremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
Did you change those god-awful fader caps?
That's actually pretty hard to do, as they are specially conducting caps that sense your finger touching it and then releases the motor control on the fader to prevent fader-fight. If you compare the fader-response of a US-2400 or other surface with comparable system with let's say, a Behringer BCF2000 (that doesn't have this facility), you'll know instantly what the difference is.
technogremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:58 PM   #38
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vendetta V View Post
alright makes sense.


as for the on air lights. I even posted on your thread. sounds interesting and handy. Good luck!
Ooops that's right! I remember now.

EDIT: Got it working by the way.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.

Last edited by karbomusic; 09-18-2013 at 06:32 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:49 PM   #39
joesacco
Human being with feelings
 
joesacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 215
Default

Tascam 1884.

Its a good all around mixer but if you're on Mac they discontinued drivers.. So no 64 bit which bites.
joesacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 06:29 AM   #40
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
This is still PC only I assume?

Would love to just scroll thru tracks with that useless pan knob.

Scroll through track selection or scroll view up/down in the TCP? Ever taken a look at the Contour Shuttle? I have one and use it with modifiers to do all sorts of scrolls, from scrubbing to envelope points to view scrolling to markers, stretch markers, etc.

Thinking of getting a Faderport to release the transport functions off my shuttle aux buttons.


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.