Old 07-29-2019, 08:54 PM   #1
audio2u
Human being with feelings
 
audio2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 137
Default .rpp file oddity

Hi all,
I've been using Reaper for almost 10 years, so I don't THINK I did anything wrong, but I just encountered the weirdest thing.
Running v5.981.
I opened a session I started yesterday, with the intention of continuing that project.
Did some more editing/mixing, and suddenly, it was like Reaper had hung.
It became REALLY slow to save a session.
I was just about to force-crash the app, when it came back to life.
This happened a couple of times, before I said "WTAF?"
I alt-tab over to Windows Explorer (running Win 10/64 Home) and look at the .rpp file.
Yesterday's version was about 400 KB.
Today's version? 2.9 GB!
I don't think I've EVER seen an .rpp file larger than about 14 MB. But 3 gig?
Now, my first reaction was "Is there even an option to embed the assets within the session file? Because that's what this looks like."
But then I checked the assets folder.
Total assets... about 10 files, weighing in at a measly 56 MB.
I wasn't able to work out what was going on, so I ended up opening a new tab, copying all items from the existing session, and pasting them into a new session, and saved it as a new project.
Added all my fx back into the new session, and continued on, periodically checking the size of the session file.
By the time I finished the job, the .rpp file was around 1.5 MB (about what I was expecting).
Deleted the bloated session file.
Has anyone else seen this behaviour?
Any idea on what caused it?
Thanks in advance.
__________________
Cheers,
Bruce.
audio2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 09:22 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audio2u View Post
Deleted the bloated session file.
Really bad idea. now you can't send it to the Cocos techs to have them take a look and find the potential problem .
Maybe you can restore it from the deleted files ?!?!?
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 09:28 PM   #3
audio2u
Human being with feelings
 
audio2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Really bad idea. now you can't send it to the Cocos techs to have them take a look and find the potential problem .
Maybe you can restore it from the deleted files ?!?!?
-Michael
Hmm, should have thought of that.
Sadly, it's gone now. I've already emptied the trash.
__________________
Cheers,
Bruce.
audio2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.