Old 03-01-2007, 10:40 AM   #1
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default RME HDSP(e) WDM Streaming Driver

HDSP Series (AES-32, MADI, 9652, 9632, Multiface, Digiface, RPM)
HDSPe Series (PCI, MADI, MADIface, ExpressCard, RayDAT, AES, AIO)

Driver for Windows XP/Vista/7/8, 32 and 64 Bit

Driver version 3.42


This is the HDSP(e) series WDM streaming driver, offering additional features like WDM streaming, kernel streaming, 64 bit support and full Vista/7 compatibility. It supports all HDSP and HDSPe series cards and systems simultaneously. The TCO can be operated with the HDSP AES-32, the HDSPe PCI/MADI/AES/RayDAT/AIO, but not with the HDSP 9632.


Notes:

- The driver requires a new Firmware (flash) in case you are updating from driver 2.94 or older.

- The driver does not support MME.

- This driver requires a newer version of DIGICheck, version 5 or higher. Please download it from the RME website, section Downloads/DIGICheck.



Homepage

Driver (download)

HDSP Flash Update Tool (download)
HDSPe Flash Update Tool (download)

Last edited by Dstruct; 06-10-2014 at 03:05 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 05:06 PM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

These drivers work great here. Just make sure to enable "Pre-zero output buffers" in the device configuration ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 11:20 AM   #3
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
These drivers work great here. Just make sure to enable "Pre-zero output buffers" in the device configuration ...
Dandruff, do you use Reaper with the 3.01 ASIO?
WDM (kernel streaming) driver doesn't show that checkbox here, ASIO does.

thanks
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 02:08 PM   #4
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

yeah of course. i'm using asio.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 09:24 AM   #5
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

Dandruff,

and other RME HDSP users,


please help me how to install a clean, working Windows XP with RME. ( i had a system disaster..)

as far as i remember RME was asking to install XP in Standard PC mode. Or APIC? i think it's becouse the IRQs, but i'm an absolute antitalentum to system/hardware/drivers.. (shame on me)

i know the RME PCI card has to be in the BusMaster PCI slot.

i have a P4 3Ghz HT.

so what's the deal nowadays?
SP1 or SP2?

thank you.
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 09:31 AM   #6
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

Win XP SP2 with APIC

for the best pci-slot (to avoid irq-sharing) you need to read the manual of your motherboard ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

that was a fast answer, Dandruff!


many thanks!

(beer)
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 07:18 AM   #8
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.05, 06/28/2007

- HDSPe MADI: 192 kHz added
- HDSPe MADI: New Settings dialog with new option 'Word Clock Out Single Speed'
- ASIO: Behaviour on ASIOStop fixed
- Signatures of the exe-files removed

Last edited by Dstruct; 08-28-2007 at 09:39 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2007, 09:34 AM   #9
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.052, 08/27/2007

- Inf-file updated for newest firmware 17/55. This one fixes a 1 sample click problem at start/stop with Multiface, Digiface and RPM. No changes in the driver.

Last edited by Dstruct; 08-28-2007 at 09:39 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 03:06 PM   #10
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.053, 09/21/2007

- TCO initialization on first usage fixed (frame rate)
- Vista: All WDM record devices are now operational (before only the first channels worked)
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 12:47 PM   #11
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.056, 11/30/2007

- HDSPe MADI with TCO: displayed frequency had been wrong since quickfix 3.054
- OEM only: ADM control for third row implemented. Frequency can be set in steps of 1/1000 Hz now
- HDSP(e) MADI and AES-32 had problems with 64 bit Windows and more than 3 GB memory
- The internal clock of the HDSPe MADI had been too low (about 280 ppm, in Master clock mode only)
- ASIO Vista: driver sets the 'ThreadCharacteristics' to 'Pro Audio'
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 07:43 PM   #12
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.057, 02/19/2008

- TotalMix: Support for custom bitmaps. More information can be found in the RME forum.
- TotalMix: 1 pixel offset removed on bus menu background
- TotalMix: New option 'Level Meter Text Color'
- TotalMix: New option 'Ignore I/O Labels'
- HDSPe MADI: Support of the internal Sync connector added (requires firmware version 18)


http://www.rme-audio.de/download/tm_bmps.zip includes all the original bitmaps and a text file explaining the details ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:12 AM   #13
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.058, 03/07/2008

- Supports HDSPe RayDAT, MADIface und AES
- WDM: 8-channel playback did not work correctly
- Note: from this driver version on the firmware version will be displayed as before version 3.057. With active Safety BIOS an older firmware version is displayed.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 09:27 AM   #14
stuffedspacedog
Human being with feelings
 
stuffedspacedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 45
Default

I tried installing this in the normal way, and the difference in CPU usage was only marginal...

Then I completely removed the RME drivers using windows control panel>system>device manager, and re-installed, and also did a factory reset of Reaper.

I'm using AMD dual opteron 250 CPUs, and enabled the options for XP in Reaper (under preferences>general>advance UI/system settings) for not allowing the OS to allocate worker threads to CPUs, and also enabled pre-zero output buffers under preferences>audio>device.

For the Nervous demo project CPU usage dropped from an average of 25% to an average of 5% (which is kind of what I would have hoped for).

Difficult to say which of these things had the biggest impact, so I apologise for not testing them independently, but what I can say is that it works.

Reaper now appears to be bomb proof, and is running rock solid.

Set-up:
XP SP3 RC2
2Gb RAM
2xAMD Opteron 250 CPU
RME Hammerfall DSP PCI
__________________
http://www.at-sea.com
stuffedspacedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 10:14 AM   #15
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuffedspacedog
and enabled the options for XP in Reaper (under preferences>general>advance UI/system settings) for not allowing the OS to allocate worker threads to CPUs
be careful with this option. i got problems with it enabled (glitches when zooming and scrolling with the mouse) ...


http://www.cockos.com/forum/showpost...5&postcount=10
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 04:06 AM   #16
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.059, 04/14/2008

- TCO and Limit WDM Device support for HDSPe RayDAT
- WDM: Pitch shift problem fixed with external clocking
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 11:00 AM   #17
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.061, 05/23/2008

- WDM: Pitch shift problem fixed with external clocking and AES-32
- 'Surprise Removal' of the CardBus or ExpressCard does not cause BSOD anymore
- Supports HDSPe AIO
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:29 AM   #18
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.063, 06/15/2008

- WDM: Pitch shift problem fixed with external clocking and AES-32
- 'Surprise Removal' of the CardBus or ExpressCard does not cause BSOD anymore
- Supports HDSPe AIO
- TCO Out functions added


Bugs fixed that were introduced in version 3.061:

- TM crashes with more than one card
- ADM not working
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 01:44 AM   #19
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Dandruff, I'm getting an RME MF2 pretty soon but i have xp sp3 installed, is it going to be problem, what do you think?

thanks
boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 01:54 AM   #20
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

why should sp3 be a problem? works fine.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:24 AM   #21
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
why should sp3 be a problem? works fine.
okay, thanks!!!
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:28 AM   #22
stuffedspacedog
Human being with feelings
 
stuffedspacedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 45
Default

Yup, running XP SP3 here and all is smooth and dandy.
__________________
http://www.at-sea.com
stuffedspacedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 12:01 PM   #23
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.064, 06/22/2008

- The latest firmware update caused the PCI Express interface to no longer detect the RPM reliably. However, the fix comes as driver update.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 11:47 PM   #24
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.065, 07/01/2008

- Bugfix RayDAT / AIO: ASIO sample rate could not be changed in Master mode.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 08:02 AM   #25
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.066, 08/06/2008

- WDM: Speaker setup defines 6 or 8 channel playback
- Support for DirectMusic MIDI added
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:05 PM   #26
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.067, 08/07/2008

- Completely new memory routines to prevent BSODs
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 11:07 PM   #27
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.068, 08/22/2008

- HDSPe PCI (Multiface/Digiface) now supports the TCO. This requires firmware 14.*
- TotalMix: OVER LED moved by one pixel.
- TotalMix: The folder for custom bitmaps must now have the name bmp_hdsp (before bmp). This change allows to have different custom bitmaps for the Fireface mixer (bmp) and the HDSP mixer (bmp_hdsp).
- WDM: The Settings dialog of HDSP 9652 and Digiface allows to limit the number of WDM devices. The entered number is checked for validity.
- Factory presets of HDSPe MADI / MADIface fixed.


*Note: This version supports ASIO timecode (APP) only, converting LTC to MTC is not supported. Please note that the hardware design requires to use an additional word clock cable in the folling case:
Generating an audio clock out of the incoming timecode requires a BNC cable from the TCO's word clock output to the word clock input of the Multiface/Digiface. In the Settings dialog Pref. Sync Ref has to be set to TCO and Clock Mode must be set to AutoSync. If the incoming timecocde is not used to clock the HDSP system the BNC cable is not needed.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 05:30 PM   #28
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.069, 08/26/2008

- Settings dialog: Several small text changes
- Settings dialog DDS: When DDS had been switched on but was not active (AutoSync Mode) some cards did not allow to use double or quad of the currently incoming sample frequency (necessary for example in SMUX operation)
- TotalMix: Added support for Faderfox TM1 remote control
- TotalMix: Mackie Control F16 now activates Post mode
- Fixed factory presets HDSPe MADI and MADIface to have -12 dB for submix on channels 63/64
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:59 AM   #29
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.07, 09/05/2008

- Settings dialog: The button 'Sync In' did not work for the RayDAT and AIO
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 12:37 PM   #30
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.071, 09/08/2008

- TotalMix: Name-popups above the Preset buttons were deactivated
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 11:07 AM   #31
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.072, 08/10/2008

- BSOD when shutting down the computer fixed
- BSOD on ASIOStop fixed
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:06 AM   #32
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.073, 10/28/2008

- APP: Loss of LTC caused the cursor to jump to the beginning
- New firmware ID 154 of the HDSP 9632 added to the inf-file
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:37 AM   #33
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.074, 01/05/2009

- TotalMix: Several changes for the HDSPe AIO (channel order, presets and naming)
- New firmware V 9 for the HDSPe AIO
- TotalMix: MS Processing added to menu/Options for the whole HDSPe series
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 09:11 AM   #34
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.075, 02/25/2009

- RayDAT only: Changing the number of WDM devices disabled ASIO channels as well
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 10:50 AM   #35
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.076, 03/16/2009

- TM: AIO only: Small display error in mixer view with AI added
- TM: Grid in Matrix fixed for several cards
- TM: Over LED position fixed
- WDM: Change for Adobe Audition's DirectSound ASIO wrapper (8 channel input device removed)
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:02 AM   #36
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.077, 03/27/2009

- TM: Scrolling limited to fader section, Quickpanels are fixed to the right
- TM: Missing refresh when I/O labels change added
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 02:09 AM   #37
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.079, 05/14/2009

- Settings dialog: Added password protected storage of the current settings for the next reboot
- Settings and TM: Experimental extension for operation of up to 6 cards. Selection in TM by left mouse click with held shift key
- Incompatibility of the driver to cards with PLX (PCIe to PCI) bridge fixed
- Reliable stop of an ASIO thread even in difficult situations
- Process management of multiclient ASIO did not work as expected on some computers
- TotalMix: New skin and new icons
- Settings dialog: new icons
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:02 AM   #38
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.080, 05/28/2009

- Since 3.079 multi-client ASIO did not work correctly when using multiple cards
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 01:54 AM   #39
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.081, 08/12/2009

- Since 3.079 the buffer size was not stored on some systems

Last edited by Dstruct; 08-15-2009 at 04:19 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:10 AM   #40
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default Update 3.082, 10/20/2009

- Support for Flash Tool 2.19
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.