Old 11-23-2011, 02:53 PM   #1
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default Render to MP3 on Reaper faulty

I rendered a couple of songs to mp3 on Reaper and couldn't understand why they wouldn't play when uploaded to the 'net
When I examined the source, I found that they were being recognised as 'videos' for some obscure reason
I tested by rendering to mp3 on Audacity, uploaded, and they play perfectly
REAPER boffins .. please note ... there is something wrong somewhere
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:03 PM   #2
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,427
Default

Hi Billy...although this doesn't help your situation, I assure you that mp3's are rendered properly in Reaper.
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:05 PM   #3
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

User error.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 03:12 PM   #4
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,681
Default

Hey Billy, give a bit more information about specifically what you choose when you rendered. As others have said, MP3 rendering in Reaper works just fine as long as you have downloaded and installed the correct LAME encoder for your operating system. It is most likely a setting of some sort.
__________________
ACER AMD 64x2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.21 GHz 3GRam XP Media SP3, Delta 1010LT
Solo www.soundclick.com/timdwyer or Irish Rock http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chance...46452718715173
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:40 AM   #5
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Not sure I can give any more info
Rendered to .wav ....... worked perfectly
Rendered to mp3 ......seemed to have worked perfectly also .. played fine on my 'puter
BUT ... when uploaded to the net it wouldn't play. So I clicked on and tested the source code and found that it was being recognised as a video?????
I had first of all downloaded the 62 bit version of lame (which didn't work) so I downloaded the 32 bit version which gave me these current results
What other settings could be faulty??
And why would an mp3 decoded in Audacity work perfectly??
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:04 AM   #6
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

You still sound like you need to be convinced that Reaper isn't broken but we're all teling you it works fine for everyone else. It's kind of annoying to be honest.

Maybe the problem is your computer or the site you are uploading to?

When you render to mp3, does the song play in WMP on your computer normally? What site are you uploading to?
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:18 AM   #7
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
It's kind of annoying to be honest.
Are you being serious? Am I annoying you?
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:24 AM   #8
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

I wouldn't say it if I didn't mean it.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:30 AM   #9
EricM
Human being with feelings
 
EricM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guncho View Post
Maybe the problem is your computer or the site you are uploading to?
This.

@whis4ey, could you possibly provide us with a short mp3
export and the site you are uploading to (or the player info
that plays back the data on the server). Possibly a screen-
shot of the render dialog in Reaper.

It could simply be a bitrate/samplerate/mode/etc. mismatch
or non-support by the site player (or your browser's plugin
that should play it).

e
__________________
Shoelace 4 Theme | SoundCloud/erXon
EricM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:32 AM   #10
philait
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newcastle - UK
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
Are you being serious? Am I annoying you?
To be fair here, it's just the fact that you won't supply any more information and you say Reaper is at fault. I render a great many MP3's and have never had an issue with full albums of Reaper rendered MP3's kicking around many websites.

So people are saying user (or config) error as it does work for the vast majority of Reaper users.

How are you checking the source code of your MP3's are you looking at the headers with a hex editor?

Post some screen shots of your export settings (Or use liceap (http://www.cockos.com/licecap/ ) to record a vid of you exporting) and link to the MP3 if you want so others can take a look and give some decent help here
Use Reaper stash to upload if you don't have any hosting.
philait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:34 AM   #11
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
it's just the fact that you won't supply any more information
I have given you any information I have
I am saying that an mp3 encoded from Audacity works perfectly and that one encoded from Reaper doesn't
And I am asking for suggestions as to why this should be
I am afraid that I don't have the experience that you guys have. To suggest that my problem is 'annoying' I find to be extremely rude and insensitive. But then, I suppose we must expect to meet such people on the internet at times
The problem can not be my computer nor the site I am uploading to or the version encoded by Audacity would be similarly affected
Maybe I will just 'go away' and stop annoying you peeps ........
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:55 AM   #12
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

If an mp3 encoded from some other program works and Reaper works for the rest of us then logically the problem is how you have Reaper set up no?

If my car won't start one morning I don't go around proclaiming that all Honda Civic's are defective.

Why don't you tell us where you got your lame encoder for Reaper and post a screen shot of your render settings?
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:57 AM   #13
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,739
Default

Sorry for the trouble. A screenshot of the render dialog could really help here. Maybe you selected some odd/unsupported bit rate or encoding mode? Is it possible that some accident happened while naming the file (that your site recognizes it as video suggests that)? What site are you uploading to?
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:54 AM   #14
philait
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newcastle - UK
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
I have given you any information I have
I'm sorry but we have asked for more and suggested what that is and how to make it available. We can't help you without the information we have asked you to supply. As I'm sure you're aware software is complicated and 'Audacity works and Reaper doesn't give us anything to work with as for use Reaper does work.

No-one wants you to go away WE want you to supply info, that's all

Apologies If I assumed you had more knowledge than you have, mentioning checking the Source code of the mp3's hints at fairly deep technical knowledge.

By the Way I didn't say you were annoying, at all I suggested how you could help us help you.
philait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:09 AM   #15
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

I took the trouble to go check out whis4ey's post record and he is evidently a very very new newbie, so take it easy guys.
But W - you really do have to offer a little more information as to what you are doing in Reaper.

All my instincts are leading me to suspect that you are NOT using the 'lame' ( NO, it isn't lame, that is the name of it) encoder most of the rest of us use.

If it isn't that, I would also suspect you have accidentally ticked a box or clicked an option in Reaper that has produced a non standard mp3 file.

This is also known as a Meatware error in the trade...,.

Last edited by ivansc; 11-24-2011 at 08:18 AM.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:12 AM   #16
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

I'm sorry I just got annoyed.

PS What's a boffin?
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:17 AM   #17
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guncho View Post
I'm sorry I just got annoyed.

PS What's a boffin?
Bloody Canadians.... we should never have given you your independance...


'boffin' is an English english word for an egg-headed techie/scientist type....


Sometimes this place just cracks me up
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:19 AM   #18
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:48 AM   #19
bigwoody
Human being with feelings
 
bigwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,681
Default

Hang in there we will figure it out. I have rendered thousands of mp3's in Reaper so it has to be a setting or something. Here is what I think may be happening. I am not familiar with Audicity, but I would expect that just like Reaper there are different output choices when rendering to mp3. Open the dialog in Audicity and see what the defaults are for Sample rate, Resample mode, and Mode. Now open the render dialog in Reper and set them to the same. Next, in Reaper the output format should say "MP3 (encoder by LAME project). I just want to be sure that any other encoders that you may have on your comp are not being used. Finally if that does not work, it is possible that the encoder itself is somehow screwed up. I know that elsewhere in the forum folks have had trouble with older versions of LAME so make sure that you have the latest one. I am kind of repeating what EricM said, but we want to help you get this fixed.
Just so we know, are you on a Mac or windows? If Windows, what version? Are you running 64bit Reaper or 32?
__________________
ACER AMD 64x2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.21 GHz 3GRam XP Media SP3, Delta 1010LT
Solo www.soundclick.com/timdwyer or Irish Rock http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chance...46452718715173
bigwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 01:15 PM   #20
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Sorry guys, I am still upset and trying to come to terms with this
I only introduced myself to Reaper about 2 weeks ago (my first ever DAW) and have been feeling my way.
I am 69 years of age and using this as a retirement amusement fingy
I honestly wasn't expecting to come on here with a problem, asking for help, to be told that I was being annoying
Isn't easy to cope with .....
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 01:18 PM   #21
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

I'm sorry I upset you and I want to help but please don't blame Reaper for something that is wrong on your computer.

People react well to humbleness, "I don't know what's wrong please help."

People don't react well to, "I can't figure it out so Reaper must be defective".
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 01:38 PM   #22
philait
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newcastle - UK
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
Sorry guys, I am still upset and trying to come to terms with this
I only introduced myself to Reaper about 2 weeks ago (my first ever DAW) and have been feeling my way.
I am 69 years of age and using this as a retirement amusement fingy
I honestly wasn't expecting to come on here with a problem, asking for help, to be told that I was being annoying
Isn't easy to cope with .....
Hey Chin up! Don't be upset, the internet is full of crossed purposes and misunderstood over reactions The Reaper forum is absolutely the most tolerent and friendly you will find, there's just the occasional odd cross word.

People here are passionate about Reaper, and understandably so, sometime that comes across badly, and isn't helped by the quick type, hit submit nature of internet forums.

Please follow our suggestions of supply further details relating to your questions and you will have an answer as to what has gone wrong in no time.
philait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 01:52 PM   #23
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
Sorry guys, I am still upset and trying to come to terms with this
I only introduced myself to Reaper about 2 weeks ago (my first ever DAW) and have been feeling my way.
I am 69 years of age and using this as a retirement amusement fingy
I honestly wasn't expecting to come on here with a problem, asking for help, to be told that I was being annoying
Isn't easy to cope with .....
You're OLD. OF COURSE you're annoying!

Ivan, at a youthful 67.....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:12 PM   #24
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
please don't blame Reaper for something that is wrong on your computer
come on man!!!!
I have a situation where an mp3 render from Audacity works perfectly whilst an mp3 render from Reaper doesn't
The immediate reaction (rightly or wrongly) is that some thing is wrong with my Reaper render
I ask for help from those 'in the know'
To be told I am annoying ......
I can do without that .....
I appreciate your comments since. I think we have been a little at cross purposes .... you have taken my comments as a serious complaint against Reaper????. Blaming Reaper for my problems???? Nothing could be further from the truth. My feelings are that Reaper is brill. I just ask for answers to the faults I find, wherever they arise
I never, for a moment, would have believed that my use of the English language would have engendered such a response. If I can't speak the language properly then you most certainly have my own apology.
I will investigate further .....
Yes Ivan ... even my better half agrees with you LOL
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:15 PM   #25
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

The title of your thread is "Render to MP3 on Reaper faulty".

I interpret that as "The Render to MP3 function on Reaper is defective".

Was that not your intention?

Also, "REAPER boffins .. please note ... there is something wrong somewhere ".
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:23 PM   #26
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Bloody hell, man! TELL US A BIT MORE ABOUT YOUR SYSTEM.
You seem to be avoiding doing this in both threads you have going asking for advice....
This is just in case you are on a 386 lappy with 64mb of ram....
Audacity is going to use a LOT less resources than Reaper regardless of the task, which could have a bearing on your problem.

And you might want to try grabbing a screen print of your Reaper settings.

And of course once again, ARE YOU USING LAME?

(the capitals are just in case you are a deaf old git like me, too....)


P.S. My drummer's 69 too and he is definitely going senile.... gets to 'three' and has to start again cause he lost his place.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:24 PM   #27
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

OK guys .... I have decided that I will sort this out on my own
I don't want to be what is simply 'an annoyance' to anybody
And anyway, I see Mr Gouncho can't let things be, in his quest to justify his bad manners
It is indeed a great pity that a forum set up to help a newcomer with teething problems can become simply 'an annoyance' to some
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:26 PM   #28
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

Oh brother. Cry me a river.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:51 PM   #29
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,739
Default

There were people asking you quite specific questions and who offered you help, and you wouldn't have to do this on your own if you'd answer some of them. Many have fallen for the (more often than not wrong) "works on A so B must defective" conclusion, if there would be an inherent problem with REAPER +MP3 that is not related to wrong settings/misunderstandings we would probably have many threads about that, but until that didn't happen it's quite natural that people ask you questions to rule out that you did anything wrong and to aquire the needed data to figure out what may have gone wrong with REAPER.

I'm sorry that you got the impression that the forum is not newcomer-friendly but a clash with a member does not represent the forum and you really need to read the friendly/neutral posts and questions you were asked as well, and answer them so the people here even get a chance to be helpful.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:58 PM   #30
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
OK guys .... I have decided that I will sort this out on my own
I don't want to be what is simply 'an annoyance' to anybody

The only annoyance I have seen really is that you seem to refuse to post what is asked for...

! Are you using the LAME mp3 encoder, and if so which version?

2. Where did you place it?

3. What are the settings that are showing right before you render the mp3?

When you open the Render Window, and select MP3, does it say MP3(encoder by LAME project)? If not you are NOT using the LAME MP3 encoder.

Also, double check to make sure that you are not selecting the Video(FFmpeg encoder), this has got me a few times when I was rushing thru, and at a glance all I seen was the "mpeg" part and hit render.]

Anyway, I hope ya stick around & try to work it out. As mentioned before Reaper does render mp3 files with no problem....at least 90% of the time....
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:44 PM   #31
fixerdave
Human being with feelings
 
fixerdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Essex, England.
Posts: 495
Default

hey whis4ey, can you link the mp3 file wot fails to your post in reaper, or upload to soundcloud or any other host so we can look at it and decider why it don't work. some of us actually like to reverse engineer problems and then solve them then hand em back to owner...no charge, no fee, no danger. it's probably a bit rate, sample rate or re-sample rate, hell ....any thing not spot on will make mp3's play or not play... please send us a faulty mp3 file to work with. I bet 2 gold stars you will have you problem answered in between 10 Minuits and a few days..LOL regards fixerdave

PS...don't let the humor of these guys put you off, we all have different levels of humor, fuse length, time to enter sarcastic mode, "don't diss my DAW mode" ect, and all their knowledge will tell them that this is a config/incorrect setup type of problem. When you got it fixed come back and play with the hardest hitters first.....don't loose site that this is very defiantly the best forum ever...since Iv'e been using Reaper I consider my self to have inherited about 100-200 friends. It will be worth the investment in time and the give and take bit.....here endeth the lesson.... fixerdave
__________________
'Retired technician - not a musician' and registered Reaper user since July 2008
'Excellence is not a skill, It is an attitude' Ralph Marston quotes.
Music at http://soundcloud.com/fixerdave

Last edited by fixerdave; 11-25-2011 at 03:56 PM.
fixerdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:00 PM   #32
fixerdave
Human being with feelings
 
fixerdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Essex, England.
Posts: 495
Default to ivansc

ever though of just doing waltzs 123, 123, 123, 123 ?? fixerdave
__________________
'Retired technician - not a musician' and registered Reaper user since July 2008
'Excellence is not a skill, It is an attitude' Ralph Marston quotes.
Music at http://soundcloud.com/fixerdave
fixerdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:22 PM   #33
goatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

I'm not really sure why all of you are giving him such a hard time, there is definitely something off about files exported from Reaper.

I've been producing music on a computer since 2002, and I've been using Reaper since 2008, and more than any other DAW or audio editor, certain devices and/or software(like the stock Kenwood CD player in my Scion) will refuse to play back files created in Reaper.

However, I don't believe LAME is at fault either, because if I remember correctly, this also applies to formats other than MP3. IIRC, I've been able to bounce a .wav out of Reaper, and export a working .mp3 out of Wavosaur or Audacity using the same lame_enc.dll file. This indicates that Reaper is probably "doing it's own thang" with some kind of header or meta-data that most of us never see or know about. I know that turning off the "bext chunk" option fixes some devices, but not others.

FWIW IMHO FALAFEL
goatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:46 PM   #34
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,159
Default

One person out of ten or so saying something unpleasant is hardly "all of you are giving him such a hard time". The annoyed guy still has offered his help, as have all the others who replied. We really shouldn't blow it out of proportion.

Of course it can be that Reaper is at fault here (and I can't find anything wrong with saying so explicitly if you've got that hunch) In that case it would be good for everybody if we could sort it out together and find a reproducible way to trigger the fault. Or it's something else - then it would still be good to spot it for the next guy who may have the same issue.

So, in any case it would be very kind of whis4ey to provide some info to work with.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:01 PM   #35
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatse View Post
...certain devices and/or software(like the stock Kenwood CD player in my Scion) will refuse to play back files created in Reaper.
can you post one of these mp3's (or just a portion of one). I would be curious to see if it will not play on anything else.
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:12 PM   #36
goatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry P View Post
can you post one of these mp3's (or just a portion of one). I would be curious to see if it will not play on anything else.
I can, but I don't think my Reaper is rendering anything that your Reaper isn't. I always go with the most vanilla 320K CBR settings on there, but typically a plain .wav file wouldn't play either.

If anything, I think the OP may have stumbled on a clue:

Quote:
I found that they were being recognised as 'videos' for some obscure reason
Which is easily reconciled with my long-held observation that something is seriously screwed up in the file's header/meta-data, not the encoding or anything happening in LAME.

If my CD player (or numerous other devices that I've observed the same on) so happen to be under the impression that what they're reading is not an mp3, then of course I wouldn't expect it to even attempt to play it.
goatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:19 PM   #37
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatse View Post
I can, but I don't think my Reaper is rendering anything that your Reaper isn't.
that's why I asked - because I have yet to find anything that won't play mine - even my Blackberry has no trouble with mine.
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:24 PM   #38
steveo42
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 385
Default

WW3, Reaper Style aside, 'boffin means something totally different in USA. Well at least 'Boff" does

A little closer to what "bum" means in British slang if you get my drift!

hahahahaha!

Lighten up guys!!

I had a similar problem with Sonar and they all told me I was crazy, I even sent files to people and they STILL told me I was crazy.

I wasn't.

They were fanbois who couldn't admit Sonar's faults so they lied instead.

Turned out to be using advanced tagging etc in the latest version of Foobar 2000 would cause the the problem. Switching Foobar2000 to the legacy setting fixed it.

However Sonar was and still is the only DAW application I have come across that has this problem.
It gives and "Out Of Memory Error" BTW.

So I know how frustrating it can be.
steveo42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:34 PM   #39
goatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry P View Post
that's why I asked - because I have yet to find anything that won't play mine - even my Blackberry has no trouble with mine.
That's the thing, some devices can play it and others can't. A better test would be for you to send me (or better yet, the OP)something you bounced out of Reaper and see if it will play on a device or website that we already know has trouble with Reaper.

My guess is that it probably won't work either, but if it does, then we could use your setup to reverse engineer what settings made a working file. However, I'm still betting on this being an actual problem with Reaper.
goatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:48 PM   #40
steveo42
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 385
Default

I have Sonar X1, Studio One V2, Reaper and Sound Forge so I would be willing to check for you.

I also use Foobar200, VLC and Linux Fedora and it's programs as well.

steveo42@gmail.com if you want to send me something that fails.

I'll report back.
steveo42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.