Old 11-28-2011, 08:55 PM   #1
metallicaguy1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 338
Default editing EZ drummer in Reaper

Hello all. I just got a good deal on Ez drummer for 30 dollars and have been playing around with it a little. I was just wondering if anyone here has or knows any links to tutorials on editing EZDrummer in Reaper. Thanks.
metallicaguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:03 PM   #2
chrisharbin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,031
Default

Don't know of any videos but in fact it's just a matter of using the piano roll. I don't know how familiar you are with that so not sure what else to say.

How I work with drums is pretty basic. I usually find a suitable groove, drag drop and edit from there. Common things I edit are usually the hats are too low in velocity and there seem to be too many ghost-notes on the snare so they get edited a bit.
chrisharbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:23 AM   #3
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

SD2 user here, does EZD allow mics out on separate REAPER channels?

Might be better to increase the gain on the HH rather than the velocity (pet hate of mine is dynamics-challenged drummers who hit brass too hard).



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:38 AM   #4
chrisharbin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
SD2 user here, does EZD allow mics out on separate REAPER channels?

Might be better to increase the gain on the HH rather than the velocity (pet hate of mine is dynamics-challenged drummers who hit brass too hard).



>
Pet hate of mine, hi hats that are all below 64 as the velocity!

Just saying what I do with it. I'm one of those that likes the hats up a bit. But this is subjective so it's up to the artist.
chrisharbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:53 AM   #5
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

...but as 127 is knocking 7 shades out of the things, I'd prefer to save that for the louder end of the dynamic. Contrary to "indie" dogma, they do make a nice sound when you hit them softer. Just saying try to turn the gain up rather than the hit velocity (power)...

They're less than 64 because they were played by a real drummer; real drummers don't hit flat-out all of the time. Turn the gain up instead, it'll sound like someone good was playing it

Even if I'm programming hits on the piano roll, I'll keep it low and vary the HH velocity (but I am a fan of more organic playing).


>

Last edited by planetnine; 11-29-2011 at 01:02 AM.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:01 PM   #6
metallicaguy1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 338
Default

sorry to sound too novice, but what's a piano roll?
metallicaguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:10 PM   #7
chrisharbin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metallicaguy1 View Post
sorry to sound too novice, but what's a piano roll?
It's where you do editing for midi.
chrisharbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:01 PM   #8
Mod Bod
Human being with feelings
 
Mod Bod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 257
Default

www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RahF9H-tNw

www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvEk7-tSlhQ

www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuZ9x_Yoz1Q

You might find some help here.
__________________
Dave Modisette

http://www.gatortraks.com
Mod Bod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:59 PM   #9
metallicaguy1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 338
Default

Okay, everyone, thanks for the help! Now tell me if I'm onto the right way of doing this...

I pasted a groove from EZDRUMMER onto the timeline. I double left clicked onto it and this page came up with a long vertical piano and a timeline with these weird little colored scratches on it (they represent cymbols/drums). Now, I can just go through the piano, find the sounds I want via the piano keys(cymbols/drums), put them where I want on the MIDI timeline, and go from there? That's what I've gathered by your help and playing around in Reaper. Let me know if I'm doing it right or wrong. Thanks again
metallicaguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:01 PM   #10
samicide
Human being with feelings
 
samicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 15
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/v/5476/ReaperNoteMaps.zip
__________________
youtube
music
samicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:31 AM   #11
silddx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default

In the piano roll editing window, I can't seem to add a midi note (a cymbal) in an EZDrummer loop without it adding the same midi note to each repeat of the loop.

I dragged a loop to the track, then dragged it to repeat 4 times, and I want to add a cymbal at the beginning of the set of loops only.

I can't figure out how though. In every YT vid I see, they are able to do this. But none of those vids use Reaper (usually Logic or Cubase). Can Reaper do this? Is there an option or toggle I'm missing?


Help!

Cheers,
Nigel
silddx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.