Old 01-28-2012, 07:29 AM   #1
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default M Audio KeyRig 49 and Ez Drummer

I cant seem to control the midi control to use ez drummer and other synths.. I still have to use the reaper keyboard. I want to use the external control.
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

In your preferences,MIDI devs, do you have the controller set as a controller as well as a MIDI interface?
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
windowman
Human being with feelings
 
windowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near the city....Canada
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal4life68 View Post
I cant seem to control the midi control to use ez drummer and other synths.. I still have to use the reaper keyboard. I want to use the external control.
I had the same problem when I moved to my new system. It ended up working after uninstalling & reinstalling several times. There are still times when it doesn't work & I have to refresh the MIDI controller list. Frustrating and AVID did not help at all.

Here's the thread...

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=90719
__________________
Wade Mosher Music
windowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 05:05 PM   #4
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default

Thank you for your responses and yes I do have the midi device enabled. It recognizes it on the list. But I am playing through the M Audio fast track and I am able to hear my amplitube metal version and the ezdrummer through the M Audio but nothing out the KeyRig 49. I had to go to the the website to get the driver for the keyboard.
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:01 PM   #5
windowman
Human being with feelings
 
windowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near the city....Canada
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal4life68 View Post
Thank you for your responses and yes I do have the midi device enabled. It recognizes it on the list. But I am playing through the M Audio fast track and I am able to hear my amplitube metal version and the ezdrummer through the M Audio but nothing out the KeyRig 49. I had to go to the the website to get the driver for the keyboard.
Yeah, I was getting that it was recognized too, but it wasn't sending MIDI signals. Is it working for you now?
__________________
Wade Mosher Music
windowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:05 PM   #6
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default

No I havent
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:09 PM   #7
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default

hey found it thanks guys
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:16 PM   #8
windowman
Human being with feelings
 
windowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near the city....Canada
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal4life68 View Post
hey found it thanks guys
I hope it keeps working for you. I went through the install process a few times before it became stable, and it still acts up.
__________________
Wade Mosher Music
windowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 09:37 PM   #9
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default

well playing with it's not near perfect. the only time I had control over it in reaper unless the solo toontrack player was working. I tried playing with the synths and it wont work with the key rig. so I made progress but still not there.
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:48 AM   #10
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Weird. I have the Keyrig 49 too, and I have been using with zero issues for over a year now. I also did not install the M-Audio driver since I didn't want the additional software. I just plugged it into my DAW via USB and Windows found a generic driver for it. Like I said, not a single glitch for over a year now.... (Hey, why are there flames coming out of my Keyrig suddenly...? Knock on wood!).
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:44 AM   #11
windowman
Human being with feelings
 
windowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near the city....Canada
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
Weird. I have the Keyrig 49 too, and I have been using with zero issues for over a year now. I also did not install the M-Audio driver since I didn't want the additional software. I just plugged it into my DAW via USB and Windows found a generic driver for it. Like I said, not a single glitch for over a year now.... (Hey, why are there flames coming out of my Keyrig suddenly...? Knock on wood!).
It worked fine for me on my old system, Vista 32. My new setup is 64 bit Win 7, maybe that's the reason.
__________________
Wade Mosher Music
windowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:52 AM   #12
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by windowman View Post
It worked fine for me on my old system, Vista 32. My new setup is 64 bit Win 7, maybe that's the reason.
Hmmm. I am on Windows 7 Pro 64bit. And I stand corrected, I did install the basic M-Audio driver, but not the extra software. But as I said, no issues at all.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:04 AM   #13
windowman
Human being with feelings
 
windowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Near the city....Canada
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
Hmmm. I am on Windows 7 Pro 64bit. And I stand corrected, I did install the basic M-Audio driver, but not the extra software. But as I said, no issues at all.
BTW, my KR49 is working now, it's the OP who's having issues. I had installed the original driver too before I went to Avid's site to grab the new driver. I think I had forgotten to uninstall the original driver first, but after that it seemed fine. Like I said, still having sporadic issues but when I refresh the list it gets fixed.
__________________
Wade Mosher Music
windowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:49 AM   #14
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default

The issue is now with Reaper alone. It's not like I am blaming it. I have now operated the keyboard with ezdrummer and keyrig stand alones. I cant contol anything with through reaper. I did find this http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=4721

But I dont see a VSTi so maybe thats the problem
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 12:29 PM   #15
metal4life68
Human being with feelings
 
metal4life68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 51
Default

I copied the dll from the M audio key rig and placed it in the VST and VSTi and selected add virtual instrument problem solved.
metal4life68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.