Old 01-30-2012, 09:04 AM   #1
samfrancis83
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default Tascam US-800, setting up input channels

This should be a simple question, but I'm a novice with Reaper and the Tascam US-800. Under preferences there's an option to use direct sound with the tascam, however I'm not sure where to assign tracks. Also should I include the MIDI tracks as 2, so 8 total rather than 6?

And if you are familiar with this tascam model, I was wondering how you actually update drivers? I've downloaded them from tascams' site, however have no clue what to do now? I know I'm green with a lot of this, so any help would be great.
samfrancis83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 09:58 AM   #2
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samfrancis83 View Post
This should be a simple question, but I'm a novice with Reaper and the Tascam US-800. Under preferences there's an option to use direct sound with the tascam, however I'm not sure where to assign tracks. Also should I include the MIDI tracks as 2, so 8 total rather than 6?
Don't use Directsound. Use the ASIO driver. Set the input and output ranges in Reaper. Preferences > Audio > Device > Audio system: ASIO. ASIO driver: Tascam US-800 (I think?) Then enable the inputs and use the drop-down list to pick the first and last.

The first SIX inputs are the mic/line connectors. Two on front and four on back. The other two are the S/PDIF digital stereo pair for a total of EIGHT possible audio inputs.

MIDI: There is one MIDI IN and one MIDI out. You'll set those up under Preferences > Audio > MIDI Devices.

Quote:
And if you are familiar with this tascam model, I was wondering how you actually update drivers? I've downloaded them from tascams' site, however have no clue what to do now? I know I'm green with a lot of this, so any help would be great.
I think you just go download the latest driver from Tascam's website, unzip the file after download and run the installer. If you are running Windows, just double-clicking the zip file should uzip it someplace and let you run the installer.

I don't have my US-800 in front of me so I am rattling off a lot from memory here... You should be able to get it going though.

D

PS I think the Directsound driver will only give you a stereo pair of Ins and Outs. Besides that, the ASIO driver is much better for low-latency recording.
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:11 AM   #3
Third Son
Human being with feelings
 
Third Son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kazoo
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
Don't use Directsound. Use the ASIO driver. Set the input and output ranges in Reaper. Preferences > Audio > Device > Audio system: ASIO. ASIO driver: Tascam US-800 (I think?) Then enable the inputs and use the drop-down list to pick the first and last.

The first SIX inputs are the mic/line connectors. Two on front and four on back. The other two are the S/PDIF digital stereo pair for a total of EIGHT possible audio inputs.

MIDI: There is one MIDI IN and one MIDI out. You'll set those up under Preferences > Audio > MIDI Devices.



I think you just go download the latest driver from Tascam's website, unzip the file after download and run the installer. If you are running Windows, just double-clicking the zip file should uzip it someplace and let you run the installer.

I don't have my US-800 in front of me so I am rattling off a lot from memory here... You should be able to get it going though.

D

PS I think the Directsound driver will only give you a stereo pair of Ins and Outs. Besides that, the ASIO driver is much better for low-latency recording.
As a bit of a hijack...have you been able to use the mixing panel for the US800? Also with the input level on channel 1 all the way down, I still get signal when it is dry or using a guitar plug...why is that? Am I missing something obvious?
__________________
Third Son Backing Tracks: http://www.soundclick.com/thirdsonbackings
Third Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:32 AM   #4
Jeffw
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samfrancis83 View Post
This should be a simple question, but I'm a novice with Reaper and the Tascam US-800. Under preferences there's an option to use direct sound with the tascam, however I'm not sure where to assign tracks. Also should I include the MIDI tracks as 2, so 8 total rather than 6?

And if you are familiar with this tascam model, I was wondering how you actually update drivers? I've downloaded them from tascams' site, however have no clue what to do now? I know I'm green with a lot of this, so any help would be great.

Just a heads up: I have had the Tascam US-800 for 1 month now and it works great! However I highly recommend NOT USING any other USB devices along with it even a USB keyboard or USB mouse.

This US-800 does not share USB very well. I use Reaper with the US-800 and these 2 really work well together IF I do not use any other USB devices even sticking a FLASH drive in will cause lock ups on the audio then you have to reset the Tascam by unplugging the power and waiting for things to clear...OR reboot windows.

I am trying to install Reaper on Linux and run the US-800 with that but so far no luck, might be a better way to go IMHO.
Jeffw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:42 AM   #5
Third Son
Human being with feelings
 
Third Son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kazoo
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffw View Post
Just a heads up: I have had the Tascam US-800 for 1 month now and it works great! However I highly recommend NOT USING any other USB devices along with it even a USB keyboard or USB mouse.

This US-800 does not share USB very well. I use Reaper with the US-800 and these 2 really work well together IF I do not use any other USB devices even sticking a FLASH drive in will cause lock ups on the audio then you have to reset the Tascam by unplugging the power and waiting for things to clear...OR reboot windows.

I am trying to install Reaper on Linux and run the US-800 with that but so far no luck, might be a better way to go IMHO.
Just returned mine to Musicians friend.....
__________________
Third Son Backing Tracks: http://www.soundclick.com/thirdsonbackings
Third Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.