COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 07-18-2009, 03:48 PM   #1
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default wifight on Classic on Palm Pre

Currently wifight does not function very well.

It starts up fine, I can login but as soon as the connection to the server has been made it gets stuck on the "Updating Games" screen. Sometimes all I get nothing more on that screen than the 4 green boxes showing connection status.

It locks up the Classic app, sometimes even crashing it to it's own BSOD.

There is a way to check if you're running under Classic, so maybe there are some solutions to work around certain things Classic doesn't support.

Btw, you can get the Classic Certification kit here:

http://www.motionapps.com/classic/fi...icationKit.zip

The pdf you may want to look at is the Classic Compatability Guide. It should give you the info you need to make a test build that could work under it, even if you don't get wifight certified.

I'll be more than happy to try out any test builds you'd like tested under Classic. Just let me know!

http://www.motionapps.com/classic/de...ation_program/

Last edited by ssrjazz; 07-18-2009 at 07:53 PM.
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:40 PM   #2
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Thanks for the report, and your emailed screenshots.

I read the pdfs in the kit, and added Classic detection code in 1.05t3, which makes wifight not try to access any of the hardware like LEDs and whatnot. So it's not crashing immediately at least, right? Funny that the online status display is the only thing to paint, and that the game screen painted fine.

Just for fun, I'm gonna post the screenshots you sent (hope you don't mind) so people can follow along:


So you do see the Updating games screen? Does it show turns being updated or does it lock up right away or after the update is complete?

Last edited by Brennan; 07-21-2009 at 02:54 AM. Reason: typo, said 1.05t5 instead of 1.05t3
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:58 AM   #3
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Post away on the screenshots. I was going to do that but emailed 'em to you instead. I'll go ahead and post them as make them going forward.

It doesn't appear to be crashing. I am logged in, I just can't see anything or do anything. if I hit the Sym button (palm os thinks 'alt') and then put the card aside and let it idle out for 5 min or so, then come back to it. I see the "The ALT key is..." popup. Can't do anything still - but if I tap where the OK button is on the popup, put it away in the card stack for awhile, then come back, I see the updated game screen.

Yeah, the game turn updates happen just fine: Just did it and say Updating games 1/2, then 2/2...then the 'WSOD' which I assume is the game list screen, if not the reversi rcr game with nythia I have going. So, no...I don't see the turns being updated in the game screen - I don't even know how I GOT there other than that's what was painted after I'd managed to dismiss the alt key popup and letting the emulator go idle in the card stack for awhile. It WSOD's right after the Updating games x/x... update is finished

It's like screen/input interrupts are being held up or something.

Here's what MotionApps had to say about my question about getting you help with your app.

Quote:
Hello Jeff Schoby,

Our customer support team has replied to your support request #389139

Classic does not include debug functionality that could help you in this way.

The best for a developer is to become a part of Classic Certification Program. What he actually needs to pay for is Certification/signing itself, but prior to this, we would advise downloading Classic Certification Kit at http://www.motionapps.com/classic/fi...icationKit.zip

Within this .zip file, there is .pdf file with detailed tech info on Classic that will help debugging (Classic Compatibility Guide), and Classic Test Cases that can be followed to determine compatibility.

After these are review and compared to the way app works (in relation to Classic) a developer would pay for signing thus acquiring Classic Certified status and the logo that accompanies this status, together with some other benefits we provide of Classic Certified Apps.

If there is a specific tech question, or something that is not explained in documentation, you can contact us, although we support this kind of requests only for apps that are part of the program.

We hope this info helps.

Have a great day and let us know if we can help you with this question in any other way.


We hope this response answered your question.
If not, please do not send another email.
So, basically ya gotta spend the $99 to get them to answer questions. No surprise there.

Last edited by ssrjazz; 07-21-2009 at 09:05 AM.
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 10:37 PM   #4
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

OK, well, let's try some builds then

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/190322/wifight.prc

This build avoids calling DmSyncDatabase, which happens at the end of the update, and should be unnecessary under Classic anyway. (I think?)
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 07:51 AM   #5
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Damn.... left my USB cable at home today. Will try it when I'm done with work today.

*puts in a reminder to order more USB cables*
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:15 PM   #6
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Still no joy

But I did take a few more screenshots....I'll try to attach them in order.
Attached Images
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_190843.png (41.5 KB, 276 views)
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_190737.png (35.9 KB, 282 views)
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_190742.png (35.4 KB, 270 views)
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_190745.png (35.4 KB, 245 views)
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_190911.png (36.1 KB, 283 views)
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:21 PM   #7
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

and one more...

This is what I see now when the games are done updating...

I deleted wifight from Classic via the menu-D in palm os.

Installed the new one you linked to. Re-entered my wifight credentials and ...

That...

and...actually, since you aren't issuing that sync db routine anymore, I have to reenter my credentials every time I start wifight now (since I can't close wifight properly and have to just close classic.

Don't think that was it.

Maybe it's those fancy fonts?
Attached Images
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_190959.png (34.1 KB, 261 views)
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 05:27 PM   #8
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

About Wifight:

Did the about screen from the login screen.

The font on that screen seemed to be ok.
Attached Images
File Type: png classic_2009-22-07_192255.png (36.3 KB, 276 views)
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 10:46 PM   #9
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Thanks, that's very helpful to see that sequence of shots.

OK, looks like it's not the DmSyncDatabase call. I'll put that back.

That last shot where it crashes it seems to be on the login screen still. I remember the Treo 600 had a bug when switching forms after login too. Wonder if it's related. Next up I'll post a build with lots of popups like "Not crashed yet #1" and we'll see how many come up before it crashes.

I'll post again when that's ready.

Edit: actually it looks like the Treo600 sim does crash in the same spot, so I'm gonna investigate that for a bit...

Last edited by Brennan; 07-22-2009 at 11:50 PM.
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 08:08 AM   #10
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Well at least you have some idea of what to look for and test with.

I would imagine if it works on the 600 sim, it should work on classic
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 11:20 PM   #11
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Yep, it's suspicious that they both crash in the same spot. In the case of the 600 sim, I narrowed it down to EvtResetAutoOffTimer(). Which is definitely a hardware-related api. Removing it allowed the 600 sim to not crash, so hopefully it will help out on Classic too.

So, let's try: https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/191253/wifight.prc

Also, you should see a popup at the very beginning saying "Classic detected." I just want to solidly confirm that I'm detecting it properly at least.
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 05:06 AM   #12
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Classic is detected. (see screen shot)

Well after starting wifight 3 times (it stuck on the updating screen once, gave me a completely white screen after updating the 2nd time, and then the 3rd time I finally saw the games list.

But I couldn't -do- anything. It is as if it had 'locked up.' but if I hit the sym key on the keyboard, put classic in the card stack in the background and come back to it 5 min later, the 'The Alt key.." pop up is there. Oh...I -did- hit the down button on the virtual 5-way 2 times before hitting the sym (alt to classic) key, so I was able to dismiss the "The Alt key..." pop up and saw that the selection bar had moved from the top game to the bottom game in my list. So, Classic wasn't locked up, per se - but wifight was not being responsive or something.

Very strange...

Still...progress...never could see the games list before
Attached Images
File Type: jpg classic_2009-24-07_065521.jpg (34.5 KB, 270 views)
File Type: jpg classic_2009-24-07_065754.jpg (60.0 KB, 276 views)

Last edited by ssrjazz; 07-24-2009 at 05:10 AM.
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 05:13 AM   #13
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Oh, one other thing. I'd forgotten that I'd left Classic/wifight running and logged in with the windows version of wifight. I got the duplicate login msg on windows, of course. Strange thing was - I went to go to Chat, but my windows client was disconnected. I checked my phone and classic was still running (wifight still was not 'responsive'

Seems to me tho that it logged itself back in and bumped my win client off tho, wouldn't you?
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:15 PM   #14
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Yay, progress. Now I need to find another api to suspect. I'm thinking either the sleep notifications or the battery info... because there's not much else left.

I dunno on the relogging in... one thing at a time

You know, originally I thought the problems would come from the ARM emulation or the networking, but apparently both of those things have been working fine. Go figure. (and knock wood)
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 10:29 PM   #15
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Lol... I guess that's good that there isn't much left.

Funny thing is, Classic is supposed to be like PalmOS on a Centro for the most part.

Last edited by ssrjazz; 07-24-2009 at 10:32 PM.
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:35 PM   #16
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Yeah, I saw that too, they specifically emulate the Centro version of the OS.

Anyway. Here's a build that doesn't touch sleep/wake notifications:
https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/192212/wifight.prc

And here's a build that doesn't touch the battery info api:
https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/192214/wifight.prc

I hope one of the two works. Let me know I hope we can finally find the exact problem and then re-enable some of the other functionality that's been disabled (esp the battery/signal gadgets... or does Pre show its own version of those?)
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:09 PM   #17
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Ok.. build that doesn't touch the battery api gets me to the games list before becoming 'nonresponsive'. See attached screenshot. Build w/o sleep/wake just gives me white screen

How about a build with neither sleep/wake nor battery api? Classic doesn't show any battery icon anyway....or signal strength.

Maybe if both are not in the build, it might work? Still making progress, it seems.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg classic_2009-25-07_220232.jpg (67.9 KB, 265 views)
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:13 PM   #18
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Here you go:
https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/192219/wifight.prc

*cross fingers*
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:28 PM   #19
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Here's another one:
https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/192223/wifight.prc

Just trying a hunch.
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:25 PM   #20
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/192238/wifight.prc

Now with extra nonblockingness.
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:35 PM   #21
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/192241/wifight.prc

This puts back the power saver feature. Should work on Classic.
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:50 PM   #22
ssrjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Success!

Thanks to Basu, wifight is now running under Classic App on the Palm Pre!!
ssrjazz is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:59 PM   #23
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Did I mention woot!? Classic now supported as of 1.05.
Brennan is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 06:37 PM   #24
Brennan
hey man
 
Brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 331
Default

Well, to a degree anyway.

Here's that build you requested w/o power saving. I doubt it's what's causing problems but give it a shot.

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/193781/wifight.prc
Brennan is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.