Old 11-01-2017, 04:08 AM   #1
Indis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Krakˇw, PL
Posts: 1
Default Controlling Reaper via Matlab

Hello there,
I'm not really sure if it's the right place to ask this question, but I didn't find anything more suitable. I use Reaper to psychoacoustic tests, and I need to 'play track, to stop it, play from the marker number...' to be possible to perform in Reaper but through commands in Matlab. From the research I've made I know it's possible, but I need a hand with picking the best way to do so, and help in general because my programming knowledge is very basic.

- I know there is a dedicated plugin to handle DAW outside of Matlab, but it's more for analysis

- There were some suggestions for using activeX - but here I couldn't find any specifications on Reaper. SDK is also not my level, I'm no programmer.

- The most suitable seem for now OSC - and if anyone can agree with it, maybe someone had similar problem, and can share experience?
And maybe there is an easier way to solve this problem?

I would much appericiate any help,
Greetings
Indis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 04:33 AM   #2
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: QuÚbec, Canada
Posts: 1,489
Default

REAPER contains a web server to control it via HTTP. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkMAj8CpvIU
The documentation for the possible requests and their responses is in /main.js.

I think OSC can do what you want too. There seem to be some decent documentation in <resource dir>/OSC/Default.ReaperOSC.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:05 AM   #3
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
olilarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

I've controlled reaper via osc from max msp starting/stopping playback etc.
__________________
VirtualCZ | pMix | Endless Series | WDL-OL | Linkedin | Facebook
Available for Audio Dev tuition via Skype (IPlug/JUCE/C++)
olilarkin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 01:36 PM   #4
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,145
Default

Which os, win,mac,linux?

For windows directly via commands via AutoHotkey, linux indirectly same via wine, not sure about mac, probably same as in linux.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.