Old 09-11-2017, 06:59 PM   #1
PausitiveSounds
Human being with feelings

Default I'm a noob! Midi device problems

Hello all! I'm new to the Reaper life and I've run into a problem that is impeding further progress. I have a Yamaha ypg635 with the correct driver that I can see in my computer and the Reaper midi device menu as a Grand Piano. I'm having problems getting the ASIO4ALL v2 driver to work properly. So then I tried some diy with the Yamaha Steinberg USB ASIO driver to no avail. The "input lines" (correct me if there is better terminology) first/last are faded out with no options for me to select. The bar next to the track that should react to an input isn't doing anything. What are the typical causes for this? I've gone through the manual and I can't seem to find the info I'm looking for, but that may be because I'm new to the platform and a lot of it goes over my head. Could someone please advise how I can resolve this problem or point me in a more specific place in the manual to resolve my issue or give me a checklist of things you go through to make sure your midi device is connected or a better place in the forums to take my problem. Ridicule me if you must. Thanks in advance!!!

Last edited by PausitiveSounds; 09-11-2017 at 07:17 PM. Reason: adding relevant info that I forgot before
PausitiveSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 08:54 PM   #2
trevlyns

Hi and welcome to the forums!

Plenty of knowledgeable folk here, but regrettably, I'm not one of them But I could maybe get the ball rolling with this suggestion.

Right click the track record button and make sure it's set to Input MIDI>all MIDI Inputs>all channels. Next ensure you have a monitoring mode enabled (right click the monitor button) and finally that the track is record armed.

Hope this helps, if not I'm sure others will jump in soon.
Old 09-12-2017, 01:04 AM   #3
viscofisy

Are you trying to run another device, apart from your Yamaha keyboard?