Old 02-08-2020, 04:50 PM   #1
Jester
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
Question Can't find H.264 codec

I'm super-frustrated at this point, and quite desperate. So sorry if this is old noob-stuff.

I've been editing video in Reaper for a while now, and I want to be able to render video using the H.264 codec. I've been googling forums and tutorials, but I still can't find a way to make my reaper include the H.264 codec into the render menu.

Waht to do? What to download? How to install? Any help is good help at this point.

Btw. I'm running Win 10, Reaper 6
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 11:17 PM   #2
FixItInPost
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 18
Default

Hi Jester,

What follows is a summary of what is mentioned in the following threads :-
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=82459
https://forums.cockos.com/showpost.p...5&postcount=18

For 64bit Windows 10 go to https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/win64/shared/ and scroll down to the bottom of the page and download ffmpeg-4.1.3-win64-shared.zip - NOTE it has to be the "shared" version. You could try a newer shared version e.g. ffmpeg-4.2.2-win64-shared.zip but I know 4.1.3 works for me.

In Windows Exporler Navigate to
%AppData%\REAPER\UserPlugins
or, from within REAPER, click on the Options menu and select Show REAPER resource path in explorer/finder and then navigate to the UserPlugins folder.

From the downloaded ffmpeg-4.1.3-win64-shared.zip file, extract ONLY the .DLL files (from the ffmpeg-4.1.3-win64-shared\bin folder) to the UserPlugins folder.

Restart REAPER.

In the Render window you should now be able to export H.264 by selecting
Output format: Video(ffmpeg/libav encoder)
Format: QT/MOV/MP4
Video coded: H.264

Specifying the file extension ".mp4" to the output filename in the Render window e.g. Filename.mp4 will force an MPEG-4 container file format rather than a QuickTime ".mov" container.
FixItInPost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 02:02 PM   #3
Jester
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
Thumbs up

WOW!
Thanx a bunch! Super helpful. I understand now that I was close to getting it right a few times, yet oh so far. Haha! One of those things that seem trivial once you know them.

Hi five!

Last edited by Jester; 02-10-2020 at 02:18 PM.
Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 06:04 PM   #4
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FixItInPost View Post
Specifying the file extension ".mp4" to the output filename in the Render window e.g. Filename.mp4 will force an MPEG-4 container file format rather than a QuickTime ".mov" container.

I missed that part when I went through this last week.
Thanks!
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.