Old 03-04-2019, 04:49 PM   #1
Rm1089
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Question Jam Origin's Midi Guitar and Reaper

I am currently using Jam Origins’ Midi Guitar through Reaper as a controller for orchestral VST’s (Kontact, East West, ect…). This VST converts the audio signal of an electric guitar into midi data. The paring works phenomenally well so far but I am trying to set up my project so that reaper recognizes Midi Guitar’s midi output as a “midi device”. It seems like the only way I can do it is to set up an audio track with Midi Guitar as the FX, and to send out the subsequent midi information via routing to all tracks on my project. The downside of this is that every instrument that Midi Guitar is routed to plays at once. I am trying to set it up as a “midi device” because this would allows me to control specific tracks by switching on record arm; similar to how a normal midi controller would work.

https://www.jamorigin.com/
Rm1089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 11:15 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,625
Default

You might want to look at SWS "LiveConfigs" to allow for easy switching between multiple tracks and/or VSTi and effect plugin settings.

Do you want to use this for Live playing ? In that case you might want to check the "Reaper Live" subforum here.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 08:29 AM   #3
Rm1089
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Default

I'm not trying to use this live. I want to place the midi output from my guitar track into the main midi path that my midi keyboard would take to get to all the tracks. This way I can control tracks with both my guitar and keyboard by arming them; freely compose on both instruments. Kind of hard to explain since I'm new to midi workflows in general.
I took a look at SWS "LiveConfigs" but I was unable to find a way for it to work for me. I was recommended a VST called "MIDItoReaControlPath" (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=43741) from the Jam Origins forum. I can't seem to get this to work either. Any advice?

Last edited by Rm1089; 03-05-2019 at 08:38 AM.
Rm1089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 08:58 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,625
Default

LiveConfigs can be used for Live playing, but it also can help with complex configuration needs in offline work.

Take a look at the introductional thread in the Live forum to find more information about LiveConfigs, MIDItoReaControlPath and friends.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 03-05-2019 at 03:54 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 09:38 AM   #5
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,981
Default

does midi guitar install a midi driver?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 10:13 AM   #6
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 961
Default

I would think that you could set a midi output to a virtual MIDI device like LoopMIDI (or something similar) and then use LoopMIDI as a MIDI input device where needed.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 09:22 AM   #7
Rm1089
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Midi Guitar does not come with a driver.
For the time being, I am using loopMidi to send midi output from MG into Reaper. This seems to do the trick but It’s a shame I can’t get the MG instance inside of Reaper.
Rm1089 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 09:23 AM   #8
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,981
Default

midi guitar would need its own midi driver to send to reaper. in that case - I just use the vst
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 10:43 AM   #9
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
midi guitar would need its own midi driver to send to reaper. in that case - I just use the vst
Or use a separate virtual MIDI driver to connect jamorigin to Reaper.

Edit: OP seems to be doing just that. An alternative is to copy an instance of jamorigin to every track. Enable the effect when you want to record. Disable the effect when you’re done.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 03:55 AM   #10
Regisfofo
Human being with feelings
 
Regisfofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 324
Default

Hi, Rm1089

I think live config once you succeed at setting it up will be a good solution for your workflow.
Even if you're not aiming at live performance, switching sends from a source track to receivers tracks is exactly what it is meant to.
Regisfofo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 08:04 AM   #11
graoully
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Default

I can't find midi guitar in the FX list. Do I need to get the plugin from a different source ?
graoully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2020, 09:41 AM   #12
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graoully View Post
I can't find midi guitar in the FX list. Do I need to get the plugin from a different source ?
MIDI Guitar 2 and MIDI Bass are Jam Origin products, available at:

https://www.jamorigin.com/
__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; SpectraLayers Pro 6; Guitar Pro 7
PreSonus FaderPort Classic; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2020, 12:53 AM   #13
graoully
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaartian View Post
MIDI Guitar 2 and MIDI Bass are Jam Origin products, available at:

https://www.jamorigin.com/
I got the trial standalone version, I guess the plugin is only available with the standard version ?
graoully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 02:16 AM   #14
RobjonWood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Prague Czech Republic/USA
Posts: 15
Default Midi Guitar & Bass 2 VST path

I recently lost some VSTs after resetting Reaper to factory default.
I was able to put most of them back except for the Midi Guitar 2.I have tried setting the path and clean cache/Rescan and nothing. Maybe I have the wrong files? Should they be .dll files or some other?
Thanks for any help,
Rob
RobjonWood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.