Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2020, 04:27 AM   #1
Adamastor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Default How to configure Sitala Drum Sampler as Reaper VST

I'm running Reaper 5.9 and I'm trying to install Sitala Drum Sampler https://decomposer.de/sitala/ as a VST. However, running the installation .deb from the site I get a standalone Sitala installation which I then have to route to Reaper and route it back for playback.

How do I install or configure Sitala as a VST as is used in this video? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdqTwMx0a5c
Adamastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 04:32 AM   #2
jelloman
Human being with feelings
 
jelloman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Hudson Valley of NY
Posts: 105
Default

The VST .dll file is in c:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins

Make sure REAPER has that file location in it's plugin manager and rescan...
__________________
Better technician than musician
jelloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 04:33 AM   #3
Adamastor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks, but this is Reaper for Linux, and this VST is installed via dpkg, not Wine, so there are no dll's.
Adamastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 05:03 AM   #4
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Karlsruhe
Posts: 282
Default

Just copy the file libsitala.so into your /home/yourname/.vst folder and rescan plugins in Reaper. You also might want to copy the drum kits there.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93

Debian - Buster / XFCE
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 05:33 AM   #5
Adamastor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
Just copy the file libsitala.so into your /home/yourname/.vst folder and rescan plugins in Reaper. You also might want to copy the drum kits there.
You beauty! Thanks a ton.
Adamastor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 12:12 PM   #6
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,299
Default

Is there shortcircuit 1.1.2 for linux as well?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 02:09 PM   #7
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,059
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Is there shortcircuit 1.1.2 for linux as well?
Nope, it was never ported to Mac or Linux by the developer.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 07:46 AM   #8
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Is there shortcircuit 1.1.2 for linux as well?
shortcircuit likely would run with a modern wine installed,
and the plugin .dll wrapped by LinVst plugin wrapper, so it looks like
a native linux vst.so

Google linvst, the install/use guide is in the
page texts, and it's not rocket science.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 05:21 AM   #9
scotchi
Human being with feelings
 
scotchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
Just copy the file libsitala.so into your /home/yourname/.vst folder and rescan plugins in Reaper.
That is *not* the correct way of doing things. The correct way is to add `/usr/lib/lxvst` (which some Linux hosts include by default) to your VST search path in Reaper.
scotchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 10:48 AM   #10
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 436
Default

A big part of linux is shedding elderly 'correct ways',
and using new or better ways. Using .vst instead of
some root permissioned folder from 2006, is more convenient
to musicians, while sysadmins may love or need /usr/xyz.

U-he chose .vst, so it's good enough for me too.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 05:53 AM   #11
scotchi
Human being with feelings
 
scotchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
A big part of linux is shedding elderly 'correct ways'...
First, I created the package in question. It expects the drum kits to be under /usr. If you move them, it won't work anymore.

Second, there's nothing new about putting things in your home directory, though (a) that only makes them available for that user (usually not a problem) and (b) means you can't upgrade them using the package manager (which is a problem).

Ardour and other hosts that are packaged by the distribution tend to expect plugins in `/usr/lib/lxvst`, so configuring Reaper to look there too is reasonable.
scotchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:24 PM   #12
bulevardi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Brussels
Posts: 61
Default

Works like a charm!

Although I also have put my other plugins already in my home/username/vst folder.

So putting that extra vst into that folder is handy... to have them together.
Of course you can let Reaper search that usr/lib/lxvst folder, handy, although for me there's only one vst inside that folder, and that's the Sitala drum sampler.
__________________
BandCamp^^ - SoundCloud^^ - Instagram^^ - Website^^ << get in touch!
bulevardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.